We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barbier des Bois(Bruailles)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Jura(Louhans)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Poularde(Louhans)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LA PAIX Restaurant Hotel(Tournus)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Rempart(Tournus)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
86
12
8
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
12
8
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandan aperitifbefore dinnerbeautiful propertymarie eugeniela fermebresseguestsaccommodationgardenwinehostsdog
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

La Ferme is a fantastic place to stay for some time or as a stop-off just a few km off the motorway. With simple rural charm, but also that very French chic rustic style, the rooms are delightful and full of character. Dinner was truly excellent and so was breakfast. I really can't understand why anyone would not book dinner here, as it is so delicious - a must. I have noted the rather unfair comments about the personalities at the farm and I want to scotch them immediately. Marie-Eugenie is a driving force, no doubt, constantly ebullient and jolly and great company. Dominique is more reserved, but charming. We enjoyed chatting about his lovely garden, as we shared an aperitif with him. His English is not as good as his wife's, which makes him a little shy at times, but then our French isn't good either! We LOVED this place and will certainly return - can't wait in fact.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireAnnieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This place is a good quality chambres d'hote, a couple of miles from the A39 between Dijon and Bourg-en-Bresse, but very peaceful indeed. It is an attractively restored farmhouse with a few rooms, a lounge and a kitchen dining room.

Our room was attractively and well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. The lounge is well provided with books, and beers, wine and what not are available.

Meals are taken around a large communal table; communal eating is not our idea of a good time, but we were fortunate in our dinner companions and enjoyed the company. The food was good, wholesome stuff, if not haut cuisine. An excellent asparagus soup was followed by guinea fowl with rice, and loads of it. The sauce was a little too sweet, but overall it was good. Really excellent local cheeses were followed by a chocolate based pud; not my cup of tea, but nothing wrong with it. There's a good wine list. Our bottle of red burgundy was corked (which seems to be an increasingly common problem); it was replaced without demur.

Breakfast was very good. Everything you could reasonably expect, top quality.

This a very pleasant place to stay or stop en route. There's a decent sized garden, with a troop, of ducks in residence, very tasty they looked too. I imagine that in the summer, it must be idyllic.

Room Tip: All much the same, I think.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marieeugeniedupuy, Propriétaire at La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you very much for this positive review ! And again sorry for the wine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Room was lovely - good bed / bathroom facilities and tastefully decorated, as was the communal kitchen / dining / lounge area. WiFi signal gets weaker the further along the row of rooms you go and the connection speed is slow at best but that's just how it is in some parts of rural France.

Dinner was good but as described by others, the wine list is overpriced for a chambre d'hote (starts about 30 rising to over 100) but don't let that put you off as we found the vineyard up the road in Givry and bought a few bottles for almost a quarter of the table price. Go for the 1er cru - 50 euros a bottle at the table but 14.50 at the vineyard.

As stated on some of the average / poor reviews, Marie-Eugénie is full of life and her husband, well... not so much. In all honesty, if you're going to have someone welcome and serve guests they need to have a bit of something about them. With their marketing backgrounds you'd think this was a given but no. It does sour the mood when there's no engagement and choice of tea was pointing at the 4 tins followed by 'lequel?'. Marie-Eugénie, I imagine you'll respond to this review defending your man but if he was in the hotel industry he would have been fired a long time ago. And this was the reason we didn't book another night's meal - it wasn't the food nor Marie-Eugénie, it was the wine price and having to deal with a man with all the charm and charisma of Blakey from On The Buses.

Despite this I have still rated this as 'very good' based on the accommodation, location and the food - all lovely (there were croissants in case you happen to read otherwise in some reviews). However, Marie-Eugénie excepted (and the room maid - equally chatty and lovely), the service was poor from your husband and you need to know this.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

A "Comfy" and relaxing place to stay. The owners are very nice and friendly people.
The diner was always excellent! Thank you Marie Eugenie for the passion you give to it and Dominique for your kitchen garden and tasty tomatoes ( among other vegetables ) ;-) Christophe & Annabelle

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marieeugeniedupuy, Propriétaire at La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

This is really nice for taking the time to write this review so positive! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed for one night on our way back to the UK and couldn't have been happier. Madame and Monsieur are wonderful hosts and a perfect team. The accommodation is in a beautiful barn, and the rooms are high quality, with lovely showers, comfortable beds and lots of nice touches. We were offered aperitifs in the sunshine on the patio, a lovely welcoming gesture. Dinner was 4 delicious courses, with local wine, one of the best meals we had on our holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JK_BarRoomQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marieeugeniedupuy, Propriétaire at La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you very much for this lovely comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews