We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada los Cantaros
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibralgalia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed some days in this hotel and it is really recommnendable. Very nice interior, clean and cosy. In the evening you can enjoy very nice homemade dinners by Patrick and his daughter . An ideal place to discover the surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny6708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just returned from a most beautiful setting for a relaxing weekend away. It was a gift from our daughter and it was amazing. Although in a remote village it was easy to reach and there is plenty to see in the surrounding beautiful countryside. About 15 minutes inland from Malaga. Patrick, the owner, his son and Laura were the most attentive and hospitable hosts anyone could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble. The gastronomic cuisine was second to none. Despite it being a set menu, after the first nights meal we were excited with the prospect of what would be presented for our second evening meal. The rooms were beautifully decorate and comfortable. The communal areas cosy, with an open fire, and welcoming. A very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. We would not hesitate to recommend this romantic location to anyone. We will definitely return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Tucked in the mountains outside of Malaga, Spain, we found the delightful Posada los Cantaros. It was a welcome break in a week of sightseeing some of the most famous historic sites in southern Spain, with its isolated and romantic perch outside of the little town of Gibralgalia. Not only were we greeted with a warm welcome but the place was beautifully decorated in traditional Spanish style and the food exceeded all expectations. This could be explained by the fact that the owner/chef was originally from Belgium and had owned a restaurant there, bringing his professional touch to an intimate dinner for just a few lucky visitors. I am only sorry that our stay was so short because it would have been delightful to stay longer a couple of days longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaOCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

If your looking for an ideal getaway to relax and have total peace and quiet, then this is the place. What a fabulous hotel. It is like a very rustic french chatteau with stunning views across the valley. We were looked after very well from Patrick and his daughter. Such a cosy place to get away from it all. If i was going to build a house, this is what i would build, it was perfect. Loved every minute of the time i spent there. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Even the journey to find the hotel is a fun experience and once there didn't want to leave and we didn't for most of the weekend!! Nothing was too much trouble, the food fantastic, the lamb last night was amazing, considering we were the only ones eating dinner the effort to make us feel special was second to none. We had one of the two suites overlooking the pool and fantastic views from our very private terrace. I can only say thank you for making what was for us an important weekend into a very special time with many happy memories. Next time and there will be a next time will book early to get the spa suite!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda100Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hard to say how to make this place any better. Small hotel but nice and warm atmosphere. Food absolutely fantastic, food intolerances were taken in consideration and service was also great. Pool area nice, clean and not crowded. Higgly recommended if peace is ehat you're looking for. Stayd for 3 nights in the small apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoniPoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay in August 2012. What a fabulous time we had. The view from the house is spectacular. The house is wonderful with 6 bedrooms. Due to the fantastic weather other than our rooms which were very comfortable we spent most of our time outside looking out at the view or sunbathing by the pool, but I can imagine in the winter months the dining table and comfortable sofas and log fire would be most welcoming.

The free WIFI was a real bonus and also the availability of pool towels was a bonus. Also air conditioning in the bedrooms was necessary as it was hot weather.

Patrick and son were the perfect hosts who speak very good English. I was particulary impressed with their attention to detail in everything that they do and their choice of decor was lovely.

The breakfast choice was good with the option of eggs and was taken outside on the patio infront of the outside kitchen. The honesty bar is a great idea with lots of choice of cold drinks and wine and beer and also you can have a choice of teas and there is fresh coffee machine. The children were very happy with the ice-creams!

The evening meal we had with other guests and Patrick on the 1st night which they cooked for us was very good and sitting there in the evening outside sipping our cold wine, eating the deliciously prepared food with good company, looking out at the view with the twinkling lights is something my family and I will remember for many years to come.

As they do not cook on a Sunday evening (as they have a well-earned night off!) on the 2nd night we ate in the town approximately 20 minutes away, there are roughly 30 restaurants to choose from and Patrick were on hand to advise us and we opted for a very good Indian Restaurant. We then went across the street to a wonderful homemade ice cream shop.

We had spent 2 weeks on the coast which we enjoyed very much with family but when we arrived at the house by taxi it was really peaceful which was what we were looking for to finish off the end of our holiday. I guess most people would arrive by hire car so that they can make the most of travelling around and exploring the area.The property is close to the airport which was ideal.

We would highly recommend this guesthouse/B&B to everyone, I can imagine if you were travelling on your own it would be ideal also. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say this was a wonderful place to stay.

We will definitely be back!! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibralgalia
9.0 mi away
Hotel Castillo de Monda
9.9 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
130 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
Show Prices

Been to Posada los Cantaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada los Cantaros

Address: Don Ramon, 29569 Gibralgalia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Gibralgalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibralgalia
Price Range: £86 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada los Cantaros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to la Posada Los Cántaros, an original Bed & Breakfast with catering which dates back to the end of the 19th century, which has been restored by its present owners.The Bed and Breakfast retains many of the original features, beamed wooden ceilings, exposed stone walls and clay tiled floors. These features have been complimented by the renewal of other parts in keeping with the original. A peaceful and charming getaway from the stress of everyday life in a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada los Cantaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Cantaros Gibralgalia, Spain - Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing