We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada los Cantaros
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibralgalia B&B and Inns
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Trip”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My wife and me spent a sensational romantic weekeend at Los Cataros Inn at Gibralgia (Malaga), Spain. This charming hotel is located ina very small town and it`s sorrounded by the most beautiful landscape, It is an ideal place to forget about day-to-day preocupations.

Communication with the owners (Patrick, a very kind Belgian and Emma) was extraordinary right from the beginning (via internet). Once we arrived, they made perfectly clear that we could count on them whenever needed whatever the matter, and so it was. English spoken at this hotel ( could turn into an issue at small mountain hotels in Spain), which obviously made things much easier for us.

Very nice 19th century andalucian building. It has 5 different bedrooms, a cozy fireplace, restaurant (amazing cooking, mediterranean dishes, not expensive at all), nice garden and a swimming pool (with jacuzzi and facing the mountains, an unforgetable swim).

It is a perfect place if you just want to chill-out and rest, but if you feel more active, you can always have either a nice walk through the area or a hike in the mountains that sorround the Inn. If you drive about 15-20 miles, there´s a beautiful area called "El Chorrro", it is a mountain range that has 4 different reservoirs with amazing colour contrast in their waters. You can drive throughout the whole area, or if you prefer, you can also walk it.

Amazing stay, amazing Inn, amazing area. Hope to see both of you soon Emma and Patrick, for we´ll be back as soon as we are able!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ges1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    19
    8
    10
    19
See reviews for
12
176
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
marbella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is the first time I was sad to leave a place. This charming Inn is not comparable to any luxury hotel or cottage, or anything, because the reality is, it's a unique place, for the quality of its cuisine, its spectacular facilities, but especially and most importantly beacuse the very sweet Emma and the best host there is,Patrick ! They have made our stay there for a few days awesome. It´s the first time I have not missed my bed ! For the first time ever we did not want to leave, because we felt even better than in our home ... 
I just want to come again because it is truly one of those places in which for a few days you forget the world we live in to give way to an enchanted world ...!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We stayed one night in this wonderfully restaured old grain mill in a room with our own private jacuzzi. Everywhere you can see and feel the love and thousands of working hours which have been put into the restauration of this house. Every piece of furniture, the little decorations and even the toiletries seem to have been selected personally by the friendly owners, who even have good time to talk to their guests before preparing the lovely dinner.
Only bad thing was the neverstopping rain which I am sure Emma and Patrick would have stopped if they could!
I hope my husband will invite me back in summer so that we can enjoy the pool overlooking the green valley.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngerB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noord Brabant
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We have stay 5 days in Posada Los Cantaros and it was a VERY VERY good place to be ! Patrick and Emma are the most friendly hosts we've ever meet in a B&B. The rooms are clean en very cozy ! The food was sublime, varied and just for € 29,00 per person ! It is wonderful views out. Price and Quality is very good ! The WIFI was working perfect ! We've had an fantastic unforgettable, beautiful time at Posada Los Cantaros. Not for norhing recommended by Michelin !
Oswald en Marlènne

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smusensmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We have spent 2 nights in this b&b at the beginning of April. It is in a marvelous place: the views are amazing.
Unfortunately our host did not speak a word of English: I don't pretend everybody to speak English, but the webpage of the b&b and the reservation were done in this language! Since we did not request dinner at our arrival the first evening, we asked our host if he could suggest us somewhere where to eat in the surrounding, and he offered us to eat at his place and that he could have arrange a nice steak for us. We saw the price on the menu (20€ for an entrecote) but at that point we were sitting there so we decided to order, preparing ourselves to have a great meat dinner (for 20 bucks each piece!). After a while our host told us that the meat was ruined and that he would had to start it over, we agreed and understood and prepared to wait more. Than he came back telling that the problem where the nerves in the meat, but that at the end it did not look too bad and made me try a piece. My piece was ok and we were starving, so we told him to serve it. Well, we regret it: the steak of my partner was completely full of nerves, absolutely not possible to enjoy it, as well as mine was on the side he did not served close to me!
We decided to never eat there anymore (there are plenty of places around) but not get our holiday ruined. To make things shorts, these are the things we didn't like at this posada:
- the rooms are way much smaller than what it showed in the web page!
- we had a king size bed, and this was not mentioned anywhere
- there are so many decorations on every surface that we had no space for our staff
- the walls are so thin that we could perfectly hear somebody coughing in the room next to ours
- wifi internet did not work, and he told us that he could not do anything about it because he had no idea
- the breakfast is absolutely poor: a very tiny glass of not fresh orange juice, coffee or tea, 2 small pieces of cake (didn't seem home made or nothing special), 5 slides of bread, jam,butter, 2 pieces of cheese and 2 of York ham. For anything else WE had to walk to the kitchen and ask it, we did it once for some extra orange juice and we got it charged on our bill!!! 3€, but breakfast is complementary!
to finish with style, they presented us a bill that had extra even the first coffee we got and the bit of potato served with our steak the first night! we have been in several b&b and NEVER we had such a bad and overrated service, so our suggestion is to stay away from it, we will certainly never go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amoretje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patvan, Propietario at Posada los Cantaros, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Why when someone comment s about an establishment these are not true to reality?

Firstly, it’s not true the host doesn’t speak a word of English; he has a sufficient level of English to hold a conversation perfectly in this language. Anyway the nationality of theses guests is Dutch and all the conversations where in Dutch, language that the host has a good command of.

Referring to the dinner, these guests arrived to the hotel around 11p.m. and, as they say, they hadn’t booked the dinner and the kitchen was closed, nevertheless after they asked if they could have a meal we offered the possibility of opening the kitchen for them so that they didn’t have to go out of the hotel at that time of the night to find somewhere to eat. We offered them some entrecotes and they didn’t make any complaint about the quality of the meat. Our specialty is the Meat cooked on stone and the meat as all our products are top quality. Patrick’s cooking has been praised by the majority of the guests; good examples of this are the comments about Patrick’s cuisine on our webpage.

Having said that we are not exempt of having a fibrous piece of meat, it happens in the best restaurants, but it is much easier to tell the kitchen where you can solve this kind of problem, than eat it without enjoyment and comment afterwards.

Regarding to the bedrooms, they follow the current soundproofing rules.

We don’t remember what happened with the Wifi, but at present the Wifi works perfectly and there is a laptop if any client requests it.

Referring to the breakfast, we would like to say to improve our service for the last few months we have been offering a complete buffet. We would like to mention that coffee or any other product offered in this buffet can be topped up without any extra charges. The coffee the clients refer to was served on the night of arrival and therefore we charged for it, logical, isn’t it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibralgalia
22.5 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
373 reviews
15.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
10.9 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Cerro de Hijar
19.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Posada del Patio
10.3 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada los Cantaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada los Cantaros

Property: Posada los Cantaros
Address: Don Ramon, 29569 Gibralgalia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Gibralgalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibralgalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada los Cantaros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to la Posada Los Cántaros, an original Bed & Breakfast with catering which dates back to the end of the 19th century, which has been restored by its present owners.The Bed and Breakfast retains many of the original features, beamed wooden ceilings, exposed stone walls and clay tiled floors. These features have been complimented by the renewal of other parts in keeping with the original. A peaceful and charming getaway from the stress of everyday life in a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada los Cantaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Cantaros Gibralgalia, Spain - Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing