We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay next door...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Reine Creole B & B
Ranked #2 of 6 La Gaulette B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at this is small B&B a bit out of La Gaulette for 3 weeks (4 people). It's a very convenient location for the beaches of Le Morne. The owners are a German-Mauritian couple, and the B&B is based in a nice tropical garden setting. Unfortunately, that's all for the plus side.

Service orientation is very low. We always felt a bit like getting in the way of the owner's daily affairs by being around their place. Getting up late does not fit in their agenda, so we were once asked if we could get up earlier to have breakfast, or another day, the breakfast was just placed in front of our doors without any notice (and coffee & tea were cold until we found it). Also, not much time is dedicated to cleaning the rooms and porch. Unlike most B&Bs around, they don't do daily room service which would be perfectly ok for us - but cleaning the floors and bathrooms not even once in 3 weeks is definitely too little effort (shown by all black feet when walking around barefoot in your room). And not regularly emptying the waste bins is a no-go, especially in a studio where you cook for yourself and food leftovers stay behind. But maybe they don't expect you to cook anyway because of the poorly equipped kitchen (one cooking plate, no big pot, no ladle, etc).

Breakfast is basic but ok, but make sure you eat up everything you want to have again on the next day. This has two advantages, 1.) you will make sure to get it again next morning, and 2.) the rest of the food won't stay on the breakfast table for the rest of the day until the owner finds some time to clear the table - just image an open jar of jam or fruits being exposed to the Mauritian sun and hungry birds for hours.

Last but not least, don't arrange airport transfer with them. We were charged EUR 100 one-way incl. the surf stuff... asking around drivers and co-travellers, we found that EUR 60 would have been the normal rate.

Clearly, there are better B&Bs just next door for the same or less money.

Room Tip: room 3 is nicer than room 1 (which is downstairs squeezed below the staircase), studio 4 is by far...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mimobloggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius_Heritage, Owner at La Reine Creole B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guests,

first of all, thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. The service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted.

We do serve Continental Breakfasts between 8 to 10 am which is flexible.
We are pleased to serve directly to the rooms as required by our guests.

The airport transfer we charge only 50 Euros per Taxi, but you were 4 persons with windsurf equipment each of you plus luggage. This means 2 cabs by each 50 Euros.

As an additional information: In our neighborhood are no other B&Bs. There are Self Catering Apartements, 1 Restaurant and a Garment Shop.

Again: We are sorry, but always strive to provide the best service.

Regards and Greetings from La Reine Creole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for La Reine Creole B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

The house is like a little place in paradies with palm trees and beautiful flowers surrounding it. The safety and well-being of the guests from around the globe is the host's highest priority. The area is in short distance to the beach (great kyte spots) and the National Park. The very clean rooms are equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay (internet, luxurious bathroom, cosy bed). The homemade breakfast in the morning gets you ready for a great day in Mauritius. In total the price is very suitable for this magical place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

When I arrived I told the owner that I had cash problem (weekly amount limitation).
The issue become a nightmare and even I show evidence of bank transfer these people were really unfriendly and trying to keep my passport...I was sometimes thinking they will close my room from outside (each room have inside & outside large bolts, like jails).
Breakfast is OK but you may ask for accurate timing, otherwise you will have to wait.
TV and air conditioning are for the owner, the tourist has ventilator and dog concert until late in the night. Do not forget a lamp, because at night all lights are off and you may have some problem to get in your room.
Also I don't remember why I stopped at this place because it is middle of no where. Next time I will continue a few miles.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RogerMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This place is overall not recommendable. The rooms are okay, not luxurious or spacious. The location is a bit in the middle of nowhere, you need a car to go to the nearest beach or city. The owner, a German, is extremely unfriendly and mean. Breakfast is very basic, any supplements are charged extra. Service quality overall is very poor.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank franco2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2011

We are very sorry that in any reason you felt uncomfortable at our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank atroesken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Côté jardin
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Line U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mariagelaurajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Gaulette
2.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,800 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
423 reviews
3.1 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reine Creole B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reine Creole B & B

Address: 103 Rue des Manguiers, 91101 la Gaulette / Coteau Raffin, La Gaulette, Mauritius 91101
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > La Gaulette
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Gaulette
Price Range: £40 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer private Single and Double Rooms with en-suite Bathrooms and Studios with a fully equipped Kitchen in a tranquil and cosy Family Atmosphere in a beautiful House surrounded by a lush Tropical Garden and with Access to Panoramic Patios and Terraces with Views on the Indian Ocean and the nearby Mountains as well the famous Le Morne Brabant, an UNESCO World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Reine Creole B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reine Creole B & B La Gaulette, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing