We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute nice, just a few details missing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Decameron Mompiche
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mompiche
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I am usually not a big fan of all inclusive holidays but for once i really enjoyed it! I went with my girlfriend, sister and my mother. The transportation by plain and bus is well organised. Once upon check-in our front office staff would not speak english... As I have been living here for some time my spanish was absolutely sufficient. We were led to our rooms and this was my favourite part. the rooms are abolutely nice. clean, huuge beds and a stunning few (depending what room you book). The next missing derail was how the safe was handled. We had to return to the reception and rent a key for 3$ a day. So no electronic safes and the worst part was, they would write the room number on the safe key?!?! (so better do not loose it!!) The food is usually what is most spoken about when talking to ecuadorians about the hotel. It is..... very good. Not THE most amazing offer ever seen, but it tasted always good. In the evening would follow the shows. And as I said, i am not the experienced all inclusive traveler, but i enjoyed them. Later on the discos were opened. The beach on the island is very nice, and the mini restaurant serves good burgers, hotdogs and fruits. Of course, also the Piña Colada was always great! In another review was mentioned that there would be no bathrooms on the island, well at least today they do have.

A point to mention: In case you are not good with stairs, mention it when booking your room!!! There are rooms located up the hill and there are only stairs... Unfortunately also the Entertainment location is on top of this hill...

After all I enjoyed it a lot, the are very few white people ( I am swiss by the way), the food was good, the staff may learn to be a little more attentative and smile a little more, but they have always treated us well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

School reunion group of 19 women. All accomodation are similar to a cruise ship. You get a bracelete or you are unkown subject. This hotel doesn't have extensive beach as presented to us. The island of Portete is right at front of the hotel and here you find the extensive beach, we had to be transported by small bessel to this beach, where you find the bar, whoever there are not bathroom facilities and is you need you have to rush and come back to the hotel, or as I look at some people they go into the water as a solution These is not a good accommodation as they said. Bathroom facilities at the hotel have a lot to desire, a bathroom near the buffet are had a terrible smell all the time.
This hotel is not for people with any pshysical disability of for handicapped, each room entrance has at least 16 steps that are pretty narrow and slippery on the rainy days.
Buffet service is fine for all the hungry people! The restaurants Miso has good service and very friendly, The Acantilado is almost a buffet style and service is poor, we didn't tried the Mediterranean. The shows are horrible, one of the guys who did the aerobics did the show that was not funny or good!
Good luck, I will not recomend to any body with good common sense. For the money go to Miami!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crosspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Fifty-four of us from the Alliance Academy International in Quito--the senior class and ten sponsors (I am one)--spent June 3-8 2010 there for our Senior Trip, and had a wonderful time. The food is generally excellent, with several hours for each meal, plus great variety--and the all-you-can-eat buffet was great for our hungry teenagers! The rooms were kept spotless, as were the grounds in general. It is a beautiful location. The very loud nightly live programs (mixed in quality) were in an open-air theater far away from the rooms, so early sleepers were not disturbed. The variety of on-site and nearby daytime activities is helpful, and most are included in the one-price-covers-almost-everything deal. Disappointments: 1. The "hot"-tubs weren't hot...ranging from cool to lukewarm. 2. The "hot"-tubs were closed at 6:00pm (!), along with most swimming pools...so no enjoying a jacuzzi under the stars. 3. There's not much to do at the resort after dark. 4. TV programming is very limited. 5. No thermostat control on the air conditioners in the room--either full blast ON (very cold) or OFF...means either freezing overnight or sticky humidity in the room. 6. Not enough chocolate desserts! Lots of flan and mousse... 7. A big problem for us was that none of the bartenders would prepare "virgin" drinks; our under-age kids would have enjoyed a non-alcoholic pina colada or margarita, but the bartenders just laughed at us. Very inhospitable attitude, and a major criticism, since they had the ingredients but refused to serve us. Intriguingly, the bartenders offered to gladly serve our underage kids alcoholic drinks even though they were wearing the "No Alcohol" armbands. Unethical. 8. Wireless internet access is VERY expensive per hour or per day! Even with these drawbacks, we are recommending that next year's senior class take a close look at the Royal Decameron for the 2011 Senior Trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gcniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed for a week on this brand new resort. We traveled with my two young daughters and my parents. Everything was beyond my expectations. Rooms were huge with beatifull terraces overlooking the estuary. Recommend it for sure and look forward to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonySdO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The Decameron Mompiche opened in mid-December 2009 and had been opened for less than two months at the time of our stay. It is located just south of Mompiche, on the Pacific coast of Ecuador in an area where resorts of this class didn't exist previously. It is a little over 2 hours from Esmeraldas, reputedly a tough coastal city of roughly 125,000 and home to the nearest "international" airport. The resort, about 30 km north of the equator, is located where the Pacific Ocean is about 28 C ( 82 F) year-round and the coast is a surfer's paradise. While this was our first trip to South America, it was not our first time staying at a Decameron resort.

So, it was with some anticipation tinged with a bit of anxiety, that we flew out of Cali, Colombia with destination Decameron Mopiche.

We were met at the airport in Esmeraldas by a Decameron Explorer representative and tranfered by air-conditioned coach to the resort, a trip of about 2 hours and 20 minutes. The last few kilometres to the resort were on a somewhat rough, winding, unpaved road giving one the feeling of heading off the beaten track.

When we arrived at the resort we were quickly registered and headed directly to our room. [The Decameron group has fast registration down to an art and this resort is no exception. Twice previously, we arrived at Decameron Las Salinitas in El Salvador as part of a planeload of roughly 200 people and, both times, virtually everyone was checked in within 10 minutes.]

Our room was exactly as we had hoped. The far end had glass panels and a sliding glass door that opened onto a balcony with two chairs overlooking the Pacific. Facing west, we could watch the sunset from our room. The unit in which our room was located was build atop a bluff by the edge of the ocean and the sound of the surf was always present. If the sound of surf bothers you, then the room we had is not for you. On the other hand, if you find the sound of surf soothing --- as we do --- there seemed to be no better place in the world.

The room was quite large and quite well furnished with sufficient drawer and closet space for our needs. The bathroom was a pleasure with a large walk-in shower and plentiful hot water. The air conditioning worked perfectly and kept these two Canadians very comfortable even in the heat of the day.

The resort has been well planned and laid out and takes best advantage of the natural landscape. There are still final touches to be done with the landscaping, but you can see where they are going and it is very satisfying.

The resort consists of a number of levels so that one is usually going up or down ramps or stairs to get somewhere. The main buffet restaurant, La Portete, is located just above the small beach where you can catch the boat or zodiac (free of charge) that takes you across to Portete Island where the resort has a beach and is building additional facilities. In front of the restaurant and just above the beach, there are two small pools and the activities area where you can get/exchange your beach towels. Directly below the restaurant is a small food services area that has fast food (burgers, fries, etc.) during the day and that turns into Al Forno, an Italian/Mediterranean restaurant at night. [They make a shrimp and mushroom risotto that is excellent].

The resort is built around what appears once to have been a cove at sometime in the past. Down below, in the centre are the resort's two main pools. Above, on the northwest side, are pleasant, 3-story buildings with guest rooms, as well as a bar and restaurant with a small pool. Situated on a promontory overlooking Portete Island and the Pacific, the view from the restaurant/bar is lovely and, from the pool, is even better as the as the pool appears to end right at the edge of the bluff.

During the evening, the restaurant, Acantilado, which is the the resort's à la carte fish and seafood restaurant, seemed to be the most popular of the three à la carte restaurants. From noon through to dinnertime, burgers, fries and chicken nuggets are available along with a small bar of toppings and salad fixings.

Above the two main pools and towards the southeast, a number of 3-story buildings with guest rooms are laid out in levels on the side of hill. At the top is a large complex that houses the a bar, restaurant, small pool, fitness centre, entertainment centre with videogame consoles, a small pool table, 55-seat cinema, lounge area and discothèque. On the far side of the hill, facing away from the main resort, is an open-air amphitheatre where there is live entertainment each night at 10:00 PM.

The à la carte restaurant at the top of this side of the resort is a Japanese/Thai restaurant called Miso. With very good salmon teriyaki, seared tuna and pad Thai and excellent sushi for openers, we visited Miso a number of times. Somewhat to our surprise, it was never full and appeared to be the third choice of most guests.

The food at the main buffet came as a very pleasant surprise. We have found resort food, by and large, less than inspiring and, in some cases, barely survivable. The variety and selection on the buffet here was quite wide and catered to most tastes. The quality of the food was amongst the best we've found at resorts we've visited over the years. It certainly met my wife's "two item test" --- do they offer smoked salmon and a good brie (or equivalent) cheese? This resort passed with flying colours. As for me, I love fresh fruits and, by this measure, the resort topped all others that we've previously visited. They also have their own bakery onsite and it is --- unfortunately --- extremely good. Getting up at 7:00 AM to reserve a table at one of the à la carte restaurants is much less painful than one might expect when there is fresh pot of coffee and warm sweet buns available while you make your booking.

While the food shines, the wine is a total and utter disappointment. South America --- notably Chile and Argentina --- produces some excellent wines. They have definitely not appeared on the tables of Decameron resorts that we have visited to date. Red or white, the wines, in our opinion, are uniformly unpalatable.

There are still some rough edges that are not surprising given the newness of this resort.

Staffing is still an issue as they try to train and retain staff. This was particularly evident in housekeeping where our room was sometimes very thoroughly cleaned and, at other times, less so. Some days, it was cleaned while we were out for breakfast and, on other days, it wasn't cleaned until early evening, almost as if it had gotten missed earlier.

The wait staff in food services was also somewhat uneven in providing table service. It appeared that the best of the wait staff have been assigned to the 3 à la carte restaurants which tended to make the service in the buffet restaurant a bit more spotty.

The other group with which we had direct contact was front desk (reception). Of the three groups mentioned, this group was the best trained and the most responsive. They seemed to best understand the requirements of their job which made dealing with them, generally, a positive experience.

One morning, during our stay, we had a chance to gain an insight into the performance of the management during a mini crisis. During the previous night, there had been heavy rains not only at the resort but elsewhere in the country and people who had checked out and who were expected to leave before breakfast could not do so due to the fact that their buses couldn't get to the resort in time. In the meantime, there had already been some new arrivals who had checked-in. Given that it was still raining, some of the guests appeared to have decided to delay going to breakfast on the chance that the rain might stop. Finally, some of the tables at the main buffet restaurant that are on a deck that is exposed to the weather were not usable. Talk about "a perfect storm"!

With virtually all of the previous day's guests still there, some of the new guests already checked in and most people going for breakfast late, the buffet restaurant would be pushed well beyond its normal limits. How would they handle this problem?

Management were aware of the problem fairly quickly and threw virtually all the resources they could muster into heading off the problem. There were delays in getting a table, not because there weren't enough tables but because, when guests left them, they remained uncleared suggesting that they were still occupied. Staff from barkeeps to management, from activity leaders to security guards were pulled in to clear and reset tables and, what could have been a major problem became a minor inconvenience. As a result, that day, for the morning and much of the afternoon, the only pool bar that was open was the one by the main pools. By the late afternoon, everything was back to normal.

This is a resort where Spanish is spoken and little else. The only exception is at Reception. Given that we don't speak Spanish, we were helped out immensely by Karen Camacho, one of the Reception supervisors. It seemed like she was alway looking out for us, intent on making sure that the language barrier would not in any way spoil our vacation. She took a personal interest not only in us, but in others who seemed to need that extra bit of assistance to make sure that nothing would make their time at Decameron Mompiche less than the best it could possibly be.

Our two weeks passed by quickly. Our stay was most enjoyable and we even found the brief times when the sky was cloudy or overcast a welcome break from the intense equatorial sun. We relaxed. That was the purpose of our stay and we left looking forward to possibly of coming back, again, in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miko_leVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andrés F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si van a ir, cosa que no recomiendo, busquen una habitación con vista al mar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Viajareslindo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mompiche
8.5 mi away
Hotel Crucero
Hotel Crucero
#1 of 2 in Cojimies
44 reviews
0 mi away
Los Balcones de Mompiche
Los Balcones de Mompiche
#5 of 20 in Mompiche
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mudhouse Hostel
The Mudhouse Hostel
#1 of 20 in Mompiche
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Facha Hostal Restaurant
La Facha Hostal Restaurant
#14 of 20 in Mompiche
28 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas del Mar
Cabanas del Mar
#2 of 7 in Mompiche
52 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel San Antonio Suite
Hotel San Antonio Suite
#1 of 7 in Mompiche
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Mompiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Mompiche

Address: Mompiche Via Portete, Mompiche, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Mompiche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mompiche
Price Range: £149 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Mompiche 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located 140 km away by road from Coronel Carlos Concha Torres Airport, Ecuador - south side of a large bay. With unparalleled natural beauty, surrounded by tropical rainforests and hundreds of kilometers of beaches, and a privileged climate with a year-round temperature of 28°C, this destination is an excellent option for practicing different water sports. El This Hotel has a modern tropical design that blends in with the area’s natural surroundings, 282 rooms, 3 specialized restaurants and 1 buffet, 6 bars, a disco, 5 pools and a convention center for 600 people, with cutting edge technology and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Mompiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Mompiche, Ecuador Hotel Mompiche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing