We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Lovely warm welcome with tea and home made cake. Very clean and good sized rooms. Excellent breakfast with wide variety. Kate and Tim were ideal hosts - being there when you needed them. Location is so quiet and beautiful grounds if you want to wonder around. Would happily return. Only gripe (and minor at that) but it would be nice if there was a bath rather than just a shower.

Ate at the King William IV in the village (it's a risky walk from the B&B, so driving is best). Had a wonderful meal, good value for money and very friendly and efficient staff.

The next night we ate at the Bull, also in the village - worst service we have ever experienced and food not very good either. Cannot recommend it in any way.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ngkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at The Holt for two nights in February while visiting Kent for the weekend. The B&B is an old building and the room was very nice and clean. We were given fresh milk every day and there were sweets and fresh fruit in the room which were lovely touches.
Kate was a very kind and helpful host and lent us maps and advised us on local attractions. The breakfast was also wonderful - one of the best we've had at a B&B. Fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereal, homemade bread and homemade jams were followed by a cooked breakfast with top quality and locally sourced ingredients.
The Holt is situated about ten minutes walk from Benenden and while we did walk in the evenings, it is a very dark road so caution is advised, though Kate did lend us torches! We visited both The Bull and the King William pubs and felt the quality of food was better at the King William.
All in all, a place definitely to be recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Greeted with tea and cake - in dining room as too inclement for sitting in the garden. Such a warm welcome; it was like being a guest in someone's home and a really lovely home it was, too. The bright and comfortable bedrooms were beautifully furnished with exquisite attention to detail, including fresh flowers and fruit. I meant to write this review immediately, so some of the other details have slipped out of my mind but I came away thinking I must really go back there again.
Scrumptious breakfast, included great veggie options, homemade jams.
Two excellent pubs in village for dinner.
Sissinghurst, Bodiam Castle, Scotney Castle, Bateman's just a few of local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie_M_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at The Holt partly on business and partly for leisure (2 nights in total). Kate and Tim were the perfect hosts and fitted us in at short notice even though they had friends for dinner one evening. The room was clean, comfortable, attractively furnished and a pleasant place to relax. Bathroom had a good shower and was very clean - lovely large fluffy towels too!

The availability of fresh milk for tea/coffee whenever we wanted was a detail I've not encountered in many places and was a very nice touch (as were the KitKats on arrival!). Breakfasts were delicious - locally produced meat and home made baked beans with fresh free range eggs from Kate & Tim's own chickens - simply delicious.

The area was ideal for visiting Sissinghurst Castle, Great Dixter gardens and Hever Castle. The village has 2 pubs which serve food and are walkable (although we decided to drive because of the weather), we tried both - very good local food again. The Bull was our preference.

In all, a very pleasant stay and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Holt.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenlowProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

A wonderful, peaceful location set in the rolling Kentish countryside near a quaint village. Hosts Kate and Time made my stay a memorable experience and I recommend it without hesitation. Also very conveniently located near some of England's iconic gardens. Dinners at either of the local pubs were delightful and the locals extremely friendly. An ideal place to experience the best that rural England can offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Almost faultless. Beautiful big room, lovely beds, spotlessly clean, lovely garden, great hosts and the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. 15 min walk to village with two good pubs (with good food & beer).
Any complaints would be nitpicking, especially at this price (£75). With the exception of the 4am pheasant – I shot the one in our garden. I wouldn’t think twice about going back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Greeted with tea and cake in the garden. Room was first class, lovely bedlinen, good toiletries, fresh flowers and a good selection of teas, coffee and chocolate, even chocolate biscuits.
Breakfast was equally as good, free range eggs from their hens and homemade bread, marmalade and jam. Good pot of coffee or selection of teas.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benenden
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.2 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 4 in Benenden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing