We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful BnB in Benenden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holt Bed and Breakfast

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blissful BnB in Benenden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The Holt, with hosts Kate and Tim set the standard for excellence in homestay accommodation. Kate's creativity shines through in the warm, friendly welcome, with brownies and tea through to homemade yoghurt, bread and preserves at breakfast. This is served in a delightful room, decorated with Kate's paintings, china and with a myriad of teapots. Benenden is a charming, small village that is well situated for visits to the many lovely gardens in the area, including Sissinghurst. Rye on the coast is another option for a short drive. The village has one excellent pub and one that needs some work. Highly recommend The Holt, with comfortable beds, fruit, fudge, and furnishings that are a delight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a marvellous long weekend break in Kent, staying at the Holt. We had a beautiful twin-bedded room, with small but perfectly equipped bathroom, beautifully furnished and with divinely comfortable beds. The spot is lovely, very quiet and a garden to sit in and enjoy the welcoming tea and home-made delicious cake on arrival. Kate and Tim are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are truly excellent, including delicious home-made bread, toasted, and Kate's marmalade (thankfully available to buy and bring home!) We were blessed with gorgeous weather and all the doors and windows were thrown open onto the tranquil garden, just perfect. We ate each night in the Bull which has a good menu , including traditional pub dishes well cooked and nicely served, and a very good Merlot! This really is a wonderful part of kent and the villages are gems.....we visited the magnificent garden of Great Dixter, and also the lavender fields in Shoreham. On the way home we stopped over at Dungeness, cameras at the ready!
We cant wait to return and look forward very much to staying in this truly delightful B&B again. We felt totally relaxed and at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic break. Beautiful home, and you really feel welcomed into Tim and Kate's home.
From the homemade cake and tea in the garden when we arrived to the chit chat and helpful advice, we had a lovely meal in the Bull.
We visited with friends who were visiting from Australia they loved it too.
The breakfast was so tasty local sausages and bacon. Kate's art work is fantastic, I just loved the Morris dancers at the top of the stairs.
We just felt so relaxed and at home.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBS_Ferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Set back from the road and surrounded by trees and open farmland this is a real gem. Well decorated and maintained, with some of the Host's paintings decorating the Breakfast Room this is a well thought out B&B. The adjacent village is a "picture postcard" with two greens, two pubs, a large church and a village shop and butchers.

Room Tip: The Bluebell Room is a twin with a double aspect over the garden. But the shower room might not suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Excellent attention to detail. It was a wonderful experience, located in an interesting village in a beautiful area of Kent, and with very gracious hosts. The full English breakfast was great. The house has a lovely garden, and our bedroom plus ensuite was very comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croweater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff on Sea, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is probably the most quintessentially English area of the UK. The Holt is the perfect place to stay for a visit to the Garden of England. A traditional looking Kentish style cottage hidden away behind a little wooden chapel.

In snowy mid winter the room was comfortable and the hosts welcoming. This is a cottage and so the rooms are not massive by American standards but the property has been sympathetically modernised with superb attention to detail. The experience is of perfect comfort but in an authentic country cottage. As mentioned in other reviews there are nice touches, like the torches for exploring after dark and the excellent information about the surrounding area.

We normally stay with family down the road but that will change from now.

This is a great area, with vineyards to visit, pretty villages, castles, heritage railways, golden sandy beaches and dunes and good walking all around and any type of shopping experience within 30 minutes driving.

We will return

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_Rides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I am a B&B newbie. But I have to admit, The Holt in Benenden is better than any hotel I have ever stayed in. My room was immaculate, the bed was very nice - every comfort was provided. Kate and Time were incredibly hospitable. My breakfast was delicious! I cannot recommend The Holt enough. Book it now, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezzer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benenden
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.9 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 4 in Benenden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing