We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to return!!”

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely to return!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a gorgeous 3 night break over the Easter weekend, staying again in the twin bedded room Bluebell. It felt like "coming home" and we were so happy to be back. Everything was just perfect once again, in fact I sleep better than in my own bed at home! We could sit for ever in the delightful breakfast room, overlooking the pretty garden, watching the antics of birds and squirrel. Kate's breakfast is just the best! Delicious fresh fruit and home-made preserves and Kentish honey. The bluebell wood at the bottom of their garden was looking just beautiful....Kate and Tim are such delightful hosts, aways ready to help and advise. We will be back soonest for sure!! Thank you both so much. The Garden Of England was looking so beautiful and there are so many wonderful places to visit, such as Pashley Manor and Hole Park and the wonderful King John's Nursery and garden in Etchingham. Enjoyed perfect meals each night in The Bull. Bliss! :-)

Room Tip: We love the pretty twin bedded room with its lovely double views onto the garden and paddocks. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

On arrival we were greeted in a very warm and friendly manner. We were offered tea and a yummy homemade cake, which went down a treat after the drive! The room was charming and comfy! Lovely view of the garden from our window. Breakfast was delicious, just what I needed after my friends 40th bday the night before. Kate and Tim who own the B&B, were helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble! And I would stay there again without hesitation!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondgirl046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We needed a one night stay on Benenden and were lucky to find lovely Kate at The Holt. In November there was all that we needed, a warm welcome, a tasteful room with a comfortable bed. The neat shower room worked efficiently. A welcome cup of tea and a yummy piece of cake greeted is when we arrived and there was a delicious breakfast before we left the next morning, not before purchasing some of Kate's home made jam! This would be a good place to spend longer to visit the local area, we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatnPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The Holt, with hosts Kate and Tim set the standard for excellence in homestay accommodation. Kate's creativity shines through in the warm, friendly welcome, with brownies and tea through to homemade yoghurt, bread and preserves at breakfast. This is served in a delightful room, decorated with Kate's paintings, china and with a myriad of teapots. Benenden is a charming, small village that is well situated for visits to the many lovely gardens in the area, including Sissinghurst. Rye on the coast is another option for a short drive. The village has one excellent pub and one that needs some work. Highly recommend The Holt, with comfortable beds, fruit, fudge, and furnishings that are a delight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a marvellous long weekend break in Kent, staying at the Holt. We had a beautiful twin-bedded room, with small but perfectly equipped bathroom, beautifully furnished and with divinely comfortable beds. The spot is lovely, very quiet and a garden to sit in and enjoy the welcoming tea and home-made delicious cake on arrival. Kate and Tim are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are truly excellent, including delicious home-made bread, toasted, and Kate's marmalade (thankfully available to buy and bring home!) We were blessed with gorgeous weather and all the doors and windows were thrown open onto the tranquil garden, just perfect. We ate each night in the Bull which has a good menu , including traditional pub dishes well cooked and nicely served, and a very good Merlot! This really is a wonderful part of kent and the villages are gems.....we visited the magnificent garden of Great Dixter, and also the lavender fields in Shoreham. On the way home we stopped over at Dungeness, cameras at the ready!
We cant wait to return and look forward very much to staying in this truly delightful B&B again. We felt totally relaxed and at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic break. Beautiful home, and you really feel welcomed into Tim and Kate's home.
From the homemade cake and tea in the garden when we arrived to the chit chat and helpful advice, we had a lovely meal in the Bull.
We visited with friends who were visiting from Australia they loved it too.
The breakfast was so tasty local sausages and bacon. Kate's art work is fantastic, I just loved the Morris dancers at the top of the stairs.
We just felt so relaxed and at home.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBS_Ferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Set back from the road and surrounded by trees and open farmland this is a real gem. Well decorated and maintained, with some of the Host's paintings decorating the Breakfast Room this is a well thought out B&B. The adjacent village is a "picture postcard" with two greens, two pubs, a large church and a village shop and butchers.

Room Tip: The Bluebell Room is a twin with a double aspect over the garden. But the shower room might not suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benenden
4.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
313 reviews
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 4 in Benenden
38 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
354 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing