We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home...back for a third time”

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Benenden B&B and Inns
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home...back for a third time”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just spent another couple of nights at this, our favourite, b & b in the lovely village of Benenden in Kent, and it feels like coming home now. Such a lovely friendly welcome from Kate and Tim and a special two nights in the twin room which we love, overlooking the garden. Everything absolutely perfect once again, including the weather ! Delicious cooked breakfast....thank you Kate for such a super fresh fruit salad each morning!.....and beds more comfortable than at home! We would like to stay for longer next time, in order to just relax in the beautiful peaceful garden and surroundings for a day or two....we do tend to go out and about a lot as we are keen photographers. A visit to Scotney Castle was special this time, as was Marle Place Garden and the amazing small village" All Saints" church at Tudeley near Hadlow, with all its 12 windows by Marc Chagall. As usual we ate each night in the Bull pub in the village, which we just love, both for its great, no-nonsense pub food and excellent friendly service in unspoiled pub surroundings. Can't wait to return to the Holt later this year.......Thank you for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of the few places we have stayed more than one time.

We first stayed at the Holt in 2007 (pre-Trip Advisor in our case) and at that time we had a wonderful few days.

So having the urge to return to the area to visit places anew as well as some favourites, the Holt was the obvious choice, and this time we stayed a whole week.

The location is spot on for all of Kent and a good portion of East Sussex. The proximity to the village is good (served by local services & two good pubs) but importantly the Holt is just out of the residential area, and therefore very peaceful.

The garden is magical, with lots of birdlife including woodpeckers and as to be expected some squirrels.

The welcome we had from Kate was very good indeed as well as her breakfast which is cooked to your liking, and offers an excellent choice.

There are lots of nice little touches, and nothing is too much trouble.

Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is an absolute gem, from it's peaceful rural location, to the spotless and beautiful rooms to the delicious breakfast with home-made jam for your toast. Kate makes you feel so welcome. My best friend and I had booked 2 nights for a weekend of garden visits. We were late arriving, having missed our junction on the M25, but Kate wasn't fazed. The room was tastefully decorated with lots of lovely extras - fresh flowers, bowls of fruit and sweets, a bottle of mineral water, several types of tea and coffee and fresh milk brought to our room. Topped off with spotless bedlinen, a perfect little shower room and a selection of DVDs should we get bored in the evening. She even checked with the local pub to make sure they would find us a table before they stopped serving food. Breakfast was delicious, especially as she had made me fresh gluten free bread in her breadmaker. A peek at the guest book showed that everyone who stays here loves it. I have stayed in 4* hotels at twice the price but of much poorer quality.
English B&B at it's best.

Room Tip: Only 2 to choose from - we took a peek at the double and it was just as charming as our twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a gorgeous 3 night break over the Easter weekend, staying again in the twin bedded room Bluebell. It felt like "coming home" and we were so happy to be back. Everything was just perfect once again, in fact I sleep better than in my own bed at home! We could sit for ever in the delightful breakfast room, overlooking the pretty garden, watching the antics of birds and squirrel. Kate's breakfast is just the best! Delicious fresh fruit and home-made preserves and Kentish honey. The bluebell wood at the bottom of their garden was looking just beautiful....Kate and Tim are such delightful hosts, aways ready to help and advise. We will be back soonest for sure!! Thank you both so much. The Garden Of England was looking so beautiful and there are so many wonderful places to visit, such as Pashley Manor and Hole Park and the wonderful King John's Nursery and garden in Etchingham. Enjoyed perfect meals each night in The Bull. Bliss! :-)

Room Tip: We love the pretty twin bedded room with its lovely double views onto the garden and paddocks. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

On arrival we were greeted in a very warm and friendly manner. We were offered tea and a yummy homemade cake, which went down a treat after the drive! The room was charming and comfy! Lovely view of the garden from our window. Breakfast was delicious, just what I needed after my friends 40th bday the night before. Kate and Tim who own the B&B, were helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble! And I would stay there again without hesitation!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondgirl046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We needed a one night stay on Benenden and were lucky to find lovely Kate at The Holt. In November there was all that we needed, a warm welcome, a tasteful room with a comfortable bed. The neat shower room worked efficiently. A welcome cup of tea and a yummy piece of cake greeted is when we arrived and there was a delicious breakfast before we left the next morning, not before purchasing some of Kate's home made jam! This would be a good place to spend longer to visit the local area, we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatnPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The Holt, with hosts Kate and Tim set the standard for excellence in homestay accommodation. Kate's creativity shines through in the warm, friendly welcome, with brownies and tea through to homemade yoghurt, bread and preserves at breakfast. This is served in a delightful room, decorated with Kate's paintings, china and with a myriad of teapots. Benenden is a charming, small village that is well situated for visits to the many lovely gardens in the area, including Sissinghurst. Rye on the coast is another option for a short drive. The village has one excellent pub and one that needs some work. Highly recommend The Holt, with comfortable beds, fruit, fudge, and furnishings that are a delight.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benenden
4.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
303 reviews
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 4 in Benenden
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
181 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing