We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service and attention to detail, second to none!”

The Holt Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Benenden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at The Holt partly on business and partly for leisure (2 nights in total). Kate and Tim were the perfect hosts and fitted us in at short notice even though they had friends for dinner one evening. The room was clean, comfortable, attractively furnished and a pleasant place to relax. Bathroom had a good shower and was very clean - lovely large fluffy towels too!

The availability of fresh milk for tea/coffee whenever we wanted was a detail I've not encountered in many places and was a very nice touch (as were the KitKats on arrival!). Breakfasts were delicious - locally produced meat and home made baked beans with fresh free range eggs from Kate & Tim's own chickens - simply delicious.

The area was ideal for visiting Sissinghurst Castle, Great Dixter gardens and Hever Castle. The village has 2 pubs which serve food and are walkable (although we decided to drive because of the weather), we tried both - very good local food again. The Bull was our preference.

In all, a very pleasant stay and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Holt.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenlowProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

A wonderful, peaceful location set in the rolling Kentish countryside near a quaint village. Hosts Kate and Time made my stay a memorable experience and I recommend it without hesitation. Also very conveniently located near some of England's iconic gardens. Dinners at either of the local pubs were delightful and the locals extremely friendly. An ideal place to experience the best that rural England can offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Almost faultless. Beautiful big room, lovely beds, spotlessly clean, lovely garden, great hosts and the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. 15 min walk to village with two good pubs (with good food & beer).
Any complaints would be nitpicking, especially at this price (£75). With the exception of the 4am pheasant – I shot the one in our garden. I wouldn’t think twice about going back here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Greeted with tea and cake in the garden. Room was first class, lovely bedlinen, good toiletries, fresh flowers and a good selection of teas, coffee and chocolate, even chocolate biscuits.
Breakfast was equally as good, free range eggs from their hens and homemade bread, marmalade and jam. Good pot of coffee or selection of teas.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Lovely location.
Perfect friendly hostess.
Room had everything one could think of. Except a supply of shoes to throw at the local pheasant cok at 5am. But that's country living for you :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myshkinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We've stayed at the Holt for six years in a row and will come back for many more years. It's our home away form home and the perfect place to start or end our holiday in the UK. Kate and Tim are warm and generous. They welcome you with a cup of tea and home made cake. The rooms are fresh and bright and look wonderful. Everytime there is some new lovely detail that makes it even better. Their breakfast is great, lovely local produce and very well prepared.
See you next year!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This was our fourth trip to the UK and everytime we had to look for places to stay and hope they would be ok. Next time will be easier. If we visit this part of the UK again ... "The Holt" ... will be on our list again. Just perfect ... both Bed and Breakfast ... a grand bravo for the owners of this location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JefOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Holt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holt Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Holt New Pond Road, Benenden TN17 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Benenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Benenden
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holt bed and breakfast provides comfortable quality b&b accommodation in a rural setting with non-smoking ensuite accommodation. The local picturesque village of Benenden, Kent is a short walk and Sissinghurst Gardens, Great Dixter at Bodiam, Smallhythe, Tenterden, Pashley Manor in East Sussex and Rye a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holt Bed And Breakfast Benenden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing