We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Well Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hawkhurst B&B and Inns
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely B&B, we stayed in the Garden Pavilion with our two young children and were very comfortable. Richard and Liz were fabulous hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The children were thrilled with the lovely garden and woodlands and the borrowed bikes! Great, home cooked breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Richard and Liz are welcoming and gracious hosts. Their lovely home is situated on a quiet country lane close to the village of Hawkhurst.

Richard and Liz were very helpful in making suggestions of places to visit and tips once we got got to our destination. They had booklets and guides for us to borrow. The dinner venue suggestions at the local pubs were appreciated.

The room we were given was well set out and comfortable. The breakfast provided was delicious.

We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming couple and excellent facilities. Would definitely visit here again. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we had to miss out (by prior agreement). The only disappointment was that my daughter was sad she couldn't take Roxy, the dog, home with her :-).

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Strictlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cysoing, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My friends and I went to the Well cottage on August 28th, we had a lovely stay. We only stayed for one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. Richard and Liz are very kind and welcoming people. Their house is just beautiful and full of charm, so don't expect any designer, modern type of decor as you're in the countryside and they have respected the place where they live.
The rooms are nice and clean. I can't tell you anything about the swimming-pool because we didn't use it but it's a normal, decent sized swimming-pool. The garden is beautiful and quiet.
I was just a touch worried as I'm not keen on dogs but Roxy is so friendly (and doesn't bark) that I didn't have any problem.
The bathroom were not ensuite for us (I only mention that because it seems to matter a lot for some), but it didn't matter as nobody else was staying in the house rooms.
Richard gave us great addresses to go and have dinner. We definitely had a lovely stay in a charming place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A beautiful cottage in the Garden of England with a beautiful garden and wonderful hosts. The only reason this is not a 5 star rating is that we had to share a bathroom and I don't really appreciate padding down the corridor to a shared toilet and bathroom. There are en suite rooms and if we had one of those it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: get the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Five minutes after having met Richard and Liz we felt we had known them all our lives. They were so welcoming and helpful with local information of places to see and made us most comfortable .We stayed 3 nights in the Pavilion ,a self contained cottage which had everything we could possibly need. Breakfasts were made with locally sourced products and were delicious. Roxy 's (thedog) choice of games was retrieving sticks of varying sizes and it was delightful to see her running around so happily in such a beautiful and very English garden. It is obviously well tended and loved by its owners. We highly recommend this B&B ,great value and a restful haven in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhout
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Everything was super, except some showers. But these did not matter because nature and gardens look even nicer. The receipt by Richard and Liz could'n't be better. They prevent your whishes. This is an ideal B&B from where you can visit the castles and gardens in Kent and Sussex

Room Tip: The Pavillion in the Garden is very fit fot privacy loving people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkhurst
2.5 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
2.8 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
22 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orchard Way Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Well Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Well Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Well Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Well Cottage Delmonden Lane, Hawkhurst TN18 4XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkhurst
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely period house in rural setting with 2 ensuite bedrooms in our popular garden pavilion, perfect for families . A further Ensuite room in the house and a twin and double sharing a private bathroom. Richard and Liz and Roxy our dog will give you a warm welcome and delicious breakfast sourced from local ingredients .We are centred in The garden of England countryside and are surrounded by lots of walking and cycling routes and Go Ape in Bedgebury forest ,fishing at Bewl water and National trust properties, both castles and beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Well Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawkhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing