We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summerhill is the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerhill Bed and Breakfast

Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Hawkhurst B&B and Inns
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summerhill is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

A wonderful place to stay for visits to the many places of interest in the Weald of Kent. My wife and I stayed for 5 days and had a wonderful time. Jaqueline and Chris did all in their power to make our stay enjoyable. We had a lovely room overlooking their beautiful garden and the food at breakfast time was plentiful. There are a number of places very close for evening meals. Should we visit that area again we will certainly make sure we stay at Summerhill.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

This traditional Engish B&B is excellently located halfway between the classic gardens of Sissinghurst and Great Dixter (and other gardens too). Their 2 rooms are upstairs in their 1930's house. Hawkhurst itself is not such a pretty town, with other nearby villages providing more historic architecture and atmosphere. Rooms are clean and comfortable - great mattresses. The bathroom for the twin room is a few steps away from the bedroom - above the stairs and entranceway, so not *really* private (if this matters to you!).
Chris and Jacqueline are enthusiastic hosts, always ready to give advice on the area.
And Bo, their spaniel is always ready to wag her tail!
Note:mobile/network reception in the area is almost non-existent - but obviously nothing to do with the establishment! :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

At Summerhill we were brilliantly looked after by our hosts, Jacqueline and Chris. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and delicious. Our room was spick and span and very comfortable. Hawkhurst makes an very good centre for visting Kent. Close by there is a huge variety of castles, houses and gardens and the coast is nearby. Canterbury and lots of picturesque towns and villages offer endless oportunities for shopping and other activities. Our hosts were a mine of information, helping us to make the most of out visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozwald013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We enjoyed our brief stay with this highly welcoming couple. We asked to arrive around midday in order to change for a wedding, whereupon the couple agreed this was fine and provided a much welcome tea break when we arrived! The surrounding garden is beautifully kept and the atmosphere charming and relaxed. We found the room very comfortable and would recommend their breakfast to anyone. We enjoyed our stay, probably most due to the couple themselves who were warm, friendly and yet never intrusive. A great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

During our visit we found Summerhill to be a delightful B and B establishment, right in the centre of Hawkhurst. Tastefully furnished with comfortable accommodation, the breakfast menu was varied with Gluten Free options available for my wife. We found Jacqueline and Chris charming hosts who made us most welcome. We were only there for one night but hope to return in the summer. We found Hawkhurst to be an ideal centre from which to tour the heart of Kent, the Garden of England. We plan to use this next year to base ourselves for visiting gardens and national trust properties.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choralcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had a wonderfull stay at Summerhill B&B. The proprietors Chris and Jacqueline are perfect hosts and give you the feeling that you are very welcome. On arrival we were welcomed with tea and delicious homemade cake. In the evening when we returned from our dinner we could sit in the cosy conservatory where we were provided with tea and a friendly conversation. Breakfast was more then great with a wide choice of food ranging from fresh food salad, egg, smoked salmon, cheese etc. to bread and crackers.
We received many suggestions for nearby pubs and tourists information.
We certainly will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_Tineke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This B+B was just right for us as it is in the centre of the village of Hawkhurst. A warm reception by the husband and wife team, we were welcomed with home made cake and tea. We had a pleasant well furnished bedroom with excellent facilities - even home made biscuits on the tray! The house set in a large attractive garden was quiet although in the centre of the village of Hawkhurst. A lovely full english breakfast and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her smoked salmon and scrambled eggs....fresh fruit salad too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannabaker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkhurst hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#7 of 7 in Hawkhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Summerhill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Summerhill Cranbrook Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Kent village of Hawkhurst, relax in this attractive 1930's house, set in a pleasant garden. 4 stars with silver accolade, tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy traditional hospitality, home made biscuits in your room, tea and cakes on arrival and a warm welcome. Locally sourced produce for tasty breakfasts, Close to Sissinghurst and Great Dixter Gardens and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill Bed And Breakfast Hawkhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing