We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was expecting better”
Review of The Black Pig - CLOSED

The Black Pig
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maresfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was expecting better”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Meal with friends - the pub had been recommended to us. Overall, the place is nice, with a great atmosphere and friendly staff, but the experience left us all somewhat disappointed.

The meals themselves were ok, but it did feel like the Three Bears - one was hot, one was cold and one was about right. This applied to the mains and starters. Again, the quality of the food was ok - not outstanding by any means.

Service was friendly but slow and inefficient - ended up going to the bar for the drinks I had order 20 minutes previously. Twice. Order a white coffee and ended up with Latté.

Overall, nothing to really complain about, but experience was mediocre at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJC996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    56
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tough old roast beef”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have eaten at the Black Pig on several occasions and have been delighted with the environs, the staff and the food.

Today though, was a very disappointing visit, especially so considering we hadn't booked and there were tables available. We decided to dine in the secret garden and soak up the beautiful Sunday sun.

Tempted by the menu's sell of a fine English roast, we both opted for the topside of beef, with a specific request that could it be served medium to rare? No problem said the waitress who went into the kitchen and spoke with the chef. As we were the first dining customers of the day, we thought this was a reasonable request. Or so we thought.

Starters of a bucket of whitebait and salad were great. Crispy, fresh and very enjoyable.

Then the roast arrived 15 minutes later. My heart sank. Coiled around the Yorkshire pud, was a slab of very well cooked beef. Tough as, well tough as well done chewy beef. We sent it back. Then the vegetables arrived five minutes later.

Please can we have medium to rare beef this time... Not a problem was the reply. Then the veg went back "to keep warm".

Ten minutes later beef MkII came out. Mine was slightly pink in the middle. My partner's was well-done. Again we complained. The excuse was that the beef was pre-cooked and therefore could "only come one way"!! If we had known it could only come well-done we would have opted for the pork. Which we did.

The manageress came out and argued with us about the beef and "wasting four dinners". My point is that there wouldn't have been any wastage if they had actually listened to us in the first place, cooked it how we wanted it and got it right the first time. Then the old chestnut came out about "well, nobody's ever complained about our roasts before". Well, someone now has. Maybe too many people just accept what they're given. I for one, don't go out to eat chewy old leathery beef that probably came vaccum-packed.

We then requested the pork instead. This was fine. But it came with the same gravy as the beef! Dark and beef flavoured! It also came with the "kept warm" vegetables that were now a bit dry. I gave up. But really, why not serve with fresh seasonal spring veg rather than tired old winter ones that were as mushy as hell?

We paid for our meal and left, deciding that we would not be visiting the Black Pig again. Such a shame as it's a great little place that has breathed new life into Hawkhurst as a dining destination.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShivSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab lunch”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Discovered The Black Pig by chance on the way back from Rye.
Popped in to see if they were still doing food at 1.45 on a Sunday and were told yes and to find a table and menus would be brought over .
The barman asked us for drinks and if we wanted to set up a tab which we said yes to.
The menu is good with specials and a regular menu and all seemed reasonably priced .
My other half ordered the roast pork and I ordered the pie of the day which was chicken and asparagus ..we were not disappointed , served piping hot on well warmed plates and generous portions .
The pie was outstanding served with homemade mash and a separate jug of gravy.
Loads of chicken breast and asparagus in delicious pastry .
The roast pork was also very good with proper roast potatoes and sublime crackling !
Served with our mains were two large dishes ,one with yummy cauliflower cheese with leeks and the other dish filled with carrots,cabbage,broccoli which were fresh as a daisy !
All in all a fab lunch experience enhanced by friendly and smart staff .
Bill with drinks came to £31

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chairmantoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place lovely food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being our local great place to visit. Run by excellent couple very friendly staff. Steaks are amazing and the chips are delicious. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stixy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing, new, bland "pub grub" menu”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I used to love this place for their restaurant style menu and nice atmosphere. The last I visited was 2/3 months ago and upon arrival we were told they have a new dinner menu, and what a disappointment it is. It's just standard pub grub befitting of a whetherspoons. Burger, pie, fish and chips, bangers and mash...

Maybe it's changed hands recently, which is a great shame. I looked forward to the hearty meals they used to serve and unfortunately now it just seems to be serving a bland replica of every other gastro pub.

Having said all that, it's still got the same atmosphere, nice decor and all of that. Nice enough staff. But won't be going back when there are similar places serving much more interesting food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Pig also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing