We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ave.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Pig - CLOSED

The Black Pig
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ave.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As a group of 3 we'd booked for a mid-week dinner, and although the pub. was not very busy with diners, we're directed to a fairly small table; the staff were good,'though 2 of the 3 of us found our meals somewhat lacking in taste, presentation etc.
No major complaints, but I did suffer stomach situ. for 2 days thence, which may be attributed to either the starter: blue cheese & mackerel pâté or to the main course: beef stroganoff, which also tasted rather more creamy than it should.
Not a bad atmosphere, but not good either...

Helpful?
Thank debal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    56
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Puth, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Pub food as you would hope for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very nice food from a menu with enough originality was served to us also improvising for our dietary wishes. Nice friendy atmosphere. Parking our car took some time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RinkeAltink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
“Awful - won't ever be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staff brusque and unfriendly. Food only equal to what can be purchased at any supermarket. One desert was burnt and inedible for which we received a refund.

We have eaten at the Black Pig many times since it first opened but never again. We waited 50 minutes for a cold starter to share between four. Another 35 minutes passed before main courses arrived. An unconsumed latte was added to our bill. This was because from the bar the waitress glimpsed a latte glass on out table, not realising ice cream had been served in it. Beer was drawn from end of barrel and had to be replaced.
Over the years we have enjoyed many evenings at the Black Pig, hence our return. But things have obviously changed at this establishment. After this last experience we couldn't wait to get out of the place, never to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenchlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Held a table for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Kindly took a phone order from our B&B host to make sure we didn't miss lunch. Excellent service , great food. Thank you

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maresfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was expecting better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Meal with friends - the pub had been recommended to us. Overall, the place is nice, with a great atmosphere and friendly staff, but the experience left us all somewhat disappointed.

The meals themselves were ok, but it did feel like the Three Bears - one was hot, one was cold and one was about right. This applied to the mains and starters. Again, the quality of the food was ok - not outstanding by any means.

Service was friendly but slow and inefficient - ended up going to the bar for the drinks I had order 20 minutes previously. Twice. Order a white coffee and ended up with Latté.

Overall, nothing to really complain about, but experience was mediocre at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJC996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Pig also viewed

 
Hawkhurst, Kent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing