We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak
Nearby Hotels
T & J Motel(Flimwell)
US$111
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star & Eagle Hotel(Goudhurst)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brickwall Hotel(Sedlescombe)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Battle)
US$98
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
22
19
20
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
19
20
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriday nightsunday roasthot waterfirst floorbar and restaurantnight staylovely placewarm welcomenikkikeycerealpartnermushroomshastingsrye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

good food / frendly people / clean .nothing too much trouble breakfast was exelent and the same for the evening meal.only one drawback no shower in the bathroom only a bath but pleanty of hot water

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r-williams600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Fab hotel very clean staff really lovely and very helpful food was the best will be booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a great place!. Booked through 'LateRooms' @£39.95 including breakfast this represented excellent value for money. Knowing I was scheduled to arrive earlier than a normal check-in time, I rang beforehand to ask if I may book in to my room for 1pm in readiness for an afternoon meeting nearby. No problem, nothing too much trouble. The new owners were in the process of installing new audio equipment in the bar area, and although it was somewhat chaotic, a girl called Hannah (who was so helpful) had made sure my room was ready and also explained how the new owners are trying to improve the hotel. To begin with, easy parking, and the hotel looks inviting from the outside. Beautiful decor inside, and quite a nice garden at the rear. My room had obviously been refurbished (No.6) and was of a good size, especially the bathroom. Light oak beams, nice toiletries, lovely towels, and a great flat screen TV. Minor issues, main light did not work, kettle lead too short to the plug, shower a bit hit and miss (showerhead, not power-shower), no towel rail which was daft considering the amount of space in there, and the only mirror was a tiny one above the sink which again I thought was odd. HOWEVER, these are minor points, and did not detract from the overall experience. Although I didn't eat there in the evening, the menu looked fantastic, and the breakfast (full English) was brilliant. I certainly wish the owners well, and would definitely go back. You shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight after visiting friends in Hastings as part of a Groupn deal. The room was basic but fine with a large flat-screen tv, tea and coffee facilities and a good sized bathroom with shower. However, where the hotel excelled was its restaurant and service. Both of us had trouble making a choice from the menu as everything sounded good. However eventually we plumped for whitebait and pate to start and duck and rib-eye steak for mains. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Full English breakfast the next morning was just as good. The service was lovely and the staff welcoming. Would definitely recommend and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisong963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My room was very clean and spacious. The shower was nice and hot and clean. My room had a double and a single bed which was comfortable. Nice clean white sheets. Tea and coffee making
Facilities and a good sizes free view tv in the room. In the bar and restaurant i felt relaxed as there was a good atmospher to the place. I was really impressed with the food I ate in the evening and at breakfast time. Quite large portions but still packed with lots of flavour. I would definitely stay here if I was in this area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews