We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #7 of 7 Hawkhurst B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing room”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Friendly staff and a nice welcome, but very disappointed with the room. There was only one mirror in the bathroom that you had to bend down to use. No shower, would have been nice to have been advised of this on booking. The room could do with a lick of paint to cover the greasy head marks on the wall - or a headboard may look nicer! We felt for £79.95 this room was over priced considering the standard of decoration.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
9
33
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights midweek, and the junction at the front is noisy, so if you like the window open, ask for a room at the back. Management was happy to move us when we asked. We didn't have a chance to eat in the evening, but the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: No 10 is at the back with wonderful views, but only bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for. We were welcomed walmly when we arrived. Room seemed fine until we realised there was no shower - only a bath. There was no mirror in the bedroom which would have been nice only a small one in the bathroom. Didn't eat dinner there but did eat breakfast. Asked what I would like for breakfast. I asked what the options were and she said only cooked breakfast. So I had one of those which was quite poor. There was cereal and orange juice already out to help yourself. We were told to check out by 10 and went down at 9:45 and there wasn't anyone there to check us out. The girl doing breakfast told us we would have to wait until 10 which I thought was strange seen as we told to check out by 10. So we gave her our key and paid over the phone later in the day. Overall it served it's purpose with location and the beds were comfy but what let it down for me was that there wasn't a shower and the cooked breakfast.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here on Friday & Saturday whilst attending the Hop Farm Festival. The rooms? 10/10. The staff? 10/10. The manager & partner? 11/10.
Oh, & the rib eye steak on Friday was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morphit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Oak, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast in the morning was nice. However staff upon our arrival were unwelcoming, abrupt and rude.
We were going for a concert at the Bedgebury Pinetum. Make sure you book a return taxi before your reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Do not go to this hotel! I sent an e mail and requested a bath and a shower and a room at the back, we were telephoned and told that they had booked those options for us, we were given the opposite, a bath and a room at the front, however, we decided that it would be fine. We sat in the restaurant for dinner, we were served our meals mine being duck and my partner asked for his steak to be medium rare, it was well done, so we sent it back, the chef came out extremely ANGRY and started to have an ARGUMENT with my boyfriend, we are in our late 40’s and this was our 4th year anniversary, we kept cool, then the MANAGERESS came out and abruptly stated that we did not know what a medium rare steak was and that we either had blue or rare steak or ordered something else from the menu!!! So we ordered a PLAIN burger. I had eaten my meal, the burger eventually arrived, and when my partner took a bite out of it, it was covered in relish and black pepper. He could not eat it, so we had no choice but to send it back, and this time the CHEF and the MANAGERESS came to our table and both were SHOUTING ABUSE at us, telling us that we should eat at McDonald’s and that she was charging us for two meals and throwing us out of the hotel!!! After a 5 minute heated discussion, totally SHOCKED, we left and luckily found a “last room” at the Queens Inn hotel across the road, it was slightly more expensive but we had a superb stay, in a four poster bedroom, exceptional breakfast and enjoyed the Plan B concert that we had booked at Christmas time.

Room Tip: Was not given the room that we asked for, however, young girls were very sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hawkhurst hotels

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

good food / frendly people / clean .nothing too much trouble breakfast was exelent and the same for the evening meal.only one drawback no shower in the bathroom only a bath but pleanty of hot water

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r-williams600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkhurst
5.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
143 reviews
7.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: Rye Road, Hawkhurst TN18 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hawkhurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hawkhurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing