We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A marvellous house for a family stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden View southwards, from the deck and house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden
View southwards, from the deck and house
Large drawing room with comfortable seating and wood-burning stove
Dining hall with table that extends to seat 10 comfortably.
Well-equipped kitchen
Breakfast area in the kitchen
Looking into the study
Master bedroom with super-king bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite bathroom
Guest bedroom with king bed
Guest bedroom with twins
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
One of three family bathrooms
another of 3 family bathrooms
Corridor linking the bedrooms
3rd floor landing library
Lots of private parking space for all guests
Al fresco dining pergola
Wisteria-covered pergola with teakwood dining table for alfresco eating
A stunning Spring garden
Fab views in autumn!
Fab views in winter!
Stunning five-bedroom country home set in 2-acre gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawkhurst, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Heinz S
1 review
“A marvellous house for a family stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

House and garden more than met our expectations. The house is beautifully furnished and equipped. The beautiful garden with its lovely view is a magnet for adults to relax and children to run and play. Hawkhurst is ideally situated for various day trips to the seaside, castles, lakes and charming villages or towns.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Heinz and family were perfect guests and we would be very pleased to welcome them back to Barnfield House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing,superbly equipped home!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had the most wonderful trip to this beautiful home in Hawkhurst and from beginning to end it was an absolute pleasure to organise everything due to the owners fast responses and efficiency.
This home is in a beautiful part of England with lots to do near by for all age groups.Our party of 6(from ages 7 yo to 70) visited castles(Sissinghurst,Leeds,Bodiam),beautiful towns and cities(Rye,Hastings,London,Tunbridge Wells) and amazing National Trust properties.However the most fun had on our trip to England during the mid term break was in this very comfortable house and 2 acre garden-every day the children climbed trees,played hide and seek and chasing and rolled down the hill for hours on end,and thanks to the owners helpful advice on local markets and the superbly equipped kitchen,the adults enjoyed preparing some great meals.After lots of action packed days we all enjoyed relaxing in the large,cosy sitting rooms.The house was huge,obviously well loved by its owners and extremely comfortable with large bedrooms and lots of bathrooms,in addition it had the most beautiful views.The owner is very obviously an expert homemaker!
We all had the most relaxing,enjoyable week there and would definitely go back to this house and this part of the UK.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
We're delighted you loved your stay at Barnfield House – thank you for your generous comments; 'expert homemaker' is a huge compliment! You certainly made the most of your stay here, with action-packed days visiting amazing places in the area! But as you say, with those large gardens and fab view, it's tempting to stay put!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandybrig...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year Stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Barnfield House and a lovely welcome from Jenny and Phillip. The house had everything you needed and was very clean. It was also close to some great pubs and a 30minute drive from Rye where we spent the afternoon. We all loved the house so much that we're planning to return in April! I can't recommend enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you so much Mandy. You and your friends were wonderful guests and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely country side property with fantastic views and secluded feel”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at this country property in June with family of five and had a great time exploring the large gardens and loved the large country kitchen where we spent much time together as a family and looking out for the rabbits hopping around outside, Great outside space for entertaining friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large secluded garden and country side views
Liked least: town cross roads can get busy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you for this lovely review, and we're so happy you enjoyed your time at Barnfield House. Joining the rabbits now are wild ducks and moorhens on the pond and the occasional deer after the windfall of apples outside the kitchen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex20139...
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable country house”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A marvellous spacious country house,well equipped and tastefully decorated.We felt at home from the moment we arrived.Close to village and within short driving distance to many attractions such as Sissinghurst,Bodiam Castle and Rye.Large gardens.Quite property with views over the countryside.Friendly and caring owners.Recommendation without any reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
We are delighted you felt at home at Barnfield House, and do appreciate your thoughtful and generous review. You were wonderful guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again; there's still lots to do in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Easter”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for Easter with my family, which included my parents, my sister, my nephew, his girlfriend as well as myself and my husband and daughter. The house was big enough for all of us to have our own space. The two separate living areas was fantastic for us to be able to spread out. The garden was beautiful, and there were great walks in the area. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The large kitchen
Liked least: You need to turn the water on for bigger groups or you run out of water. However, we spaced out our showers and it was not a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Jade. It was a pleasure to welcome your extended family to Barnfield House, and I hope we can look forward to a return trip in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea_m...
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at this unforgettable property during the early May bank holiday, a large group of 11, friends and family. The property is Huge, has an uniquer character and everything you need during your stay. Local shops 10-15 min walk. We were blessed with a lovely weather and were able to enjoyed the garden. We had a bbq, played games, had breakfast on the decking, stayed until late watching the stars (when is the last time you've done this?) A short drive will take you the Bodiam Castle, it's worth a visit but not the 8.20£ entry ticket. 30 min drive will get you to Cambers Sands, a beautiful white sandy beach. We also drove to Bewl Water specially for the Blue bells woods.
We enjoyed our stay here but I would not recommend for families with young children as there are a lot o fragile decorative objects and furniture all over the house.
Jenny the owner was great, she answer all our questions and did her best to accommodate our request. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Belated thanks for your lovely review Andreea – what an idyllic-sounding bank holiday in the country! We're glad you were blessed with good weather and were able to enjoy the garden.... kids love playing cricket, badminton and football, and on rainy days there are lots of indoor boardgames and books to entertain them. (We do advise parents of toddlers to feel free to move things beyond inquisitive fingers if necessary!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing