We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with character and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stodmarsh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated a few miles from Canterbury City centre in the small village of Stodmarsh is The Red Lion. Stodmarsh is one of the very few villages in Britain with a working farm nestled among the 28 houses which are in the village and the internationally famous nature reserve is just round the corner. Our country eating and drinking house offers a traditional and seasonal menu, a good selection of wines and real ales straight from the barrel. We have open fires in the winter and floral gardens in the summer.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pub with character and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had an excellent Sunday Lunch with pigeon breast and wild musroom tart and a friitto misto that included scallops accompanied by a slightl disaponting tartare suace but still above average for a pub. Whilst the food is a little hit or miss , it is the character of the pub that always manages to charm with its shabby chic & character (but give it a miss if you have a problem with cobwebs and not fizzy beer). Even when the landlord is "resting" his team manage to make everyone feel welcome, even the dog!
2 courses for 2 with a couple of glasses of Pinot Grigio and a pint of Adnams £53.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marmitedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    39
    14
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You have to go to realise what a great pub this is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a hard one to find but worth it when you get there. The pub and the garden absolutely ooze character as does the landlord. I had fresh local asparagus followed by Dexter rib eye steak. There was a large portion of tender sweet asparagus with lashings of butter on it, the steak was well matured, cooked to perfection and full of flavour. Service was fast (but not rushed) and the staff friendly. Be warned, do not try and work out the landlord, just accept him as part of the overall experience and enjoy! We went on a Saturday night and it was packed and we had to wait a long time for a table, so you might like to book, however it gave us time to enjoy his good beer!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nualabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Let down by the LandLord 's service and overcharging.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I have lived in Canterbury for 15 years and very much enjoy the independant Freehouses that offer good service and food. When we happended across this pub one sunny afternoon with my mum and two children I felt sure that we had found a gem. Instead we left feeling (at best) bemused by the Landlord's rude service (some might excuse it as eccentricity) and ripped off. After I had ordered the food and drinks I went to join the rest of the family outside in the garden. I gave the children 10 pounds to purchase 2 packets of crisps while we awaited the food - the children returned 3 pounds short in change. I spoke to the Landlord about this immediately - it was abundantly clear that he knew the children were 3 pounds short in change. Regarding the food, both mine and my mothers starters (8 pounds each) were very nice but small for the price. The children struggled to find anything on the menu for them - they chose the sandwiches - which at £7 pounds each were not great value for money. In summary, lovely location, mediocre food, let down by the rude landlord who was prepared to have a try at ripping off two polite young children.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I and my wife had business in the local area and needed lunch. I remembered the Red Lion from a visit to the Stodmarsh Bird Sanctuary with my father (some 25 years ago) and we went to find out. We were quite delighted with our welcome, the drinks provided and the quality of the food was very good indeed. There are no "Gastropub" airs and graces on offer - just a matching quality, friendly and welcoming environment and all in all, a very pleasant experience. We will be back next time we are near.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretions way beyond it's ability toi deliver”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Perfuntory table service, patronising & rude owner and, most importantly, the food was mediochre and that's being kind. The lettuce was undressed and soggy wet, the mains were lukewarm and served with inappropriate and over cooked vedgetables.
This place has the pretentions of being a boutique style gastro pub but it's lost it big time - it's actually rubbish. And they have the gall to give you the impression that they are doing you a favour by serving you.
The decor is fun though it looks as if it could do with a damn good clean.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Internationalnosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Mersham, Ashford
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing