We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So very clean and hospitable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, Essex, Uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So very clean and hospitable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are 2 adults and an 11 yr old boy and were the only tent people on the site. The tent area is the furthest away from the amenities but it's a nice stroll, though quite far back again. This did mean we were in the quietest part of the site, which is big. The grounds are lovely, very well kept and clean. The toilet block is heated which was a joy on particularly chilly nights. The tent pitches are sort of 'pitch where you want' in the defined area but you can have an electric hook up so obviously would need to be near those if needed. We chose a site on the top of the small hill so we had a good view but boy was it rocky! It bent our heavy duty pegs.

It was a particularly quiet time of year due to the weather I'm guessing. It stopped throwing it down long enough for us to get the tent up and all through the night but being on the hill it drained well. Even the bottom of the hill wasn't soggy. The pool and cafe were popular and a bit too busy for me on night one but the 'boys' enjoyed the pool every day. I went once and it was very nice and not too crowded for the 7-9pm swim.

We ate at the restaurant after doing a long walk in the surrounding area and it was manna from heaven. Very nice food and not too pricey.

The shop is very handy and very well stocked. Heavy duty tent pegs, milk, bread or everything you might need to cook a family dinner.

The staff were very friendly and pleasant. I turned my ankle on our way to eat one evening and the staff brought me ice and a first aider!

The site felt safe enough for our son to go off by himself to any of the play areas or have a run. There were lots of children on bikes. Many, many people had dogs and were on the whole responsible about picking up after them. Although I can't vouch for the specific exercise areas as we didn't walk that way.

There are many public footpaths around the area and a 30 min drive gets you to Windermere where there is a great little motor museum and cafe and bus to catch the lake cruise. Had I remembered we would have taken the guided walk across Morecambe bay.

The staff were again very helpful when our car battery was dead and attempted a jump start.

I suspect this site gets very busy during peak times, so there would be lots of children to play with. But, we prefer quieter times / smaller sites. We may come back and use a static caravan later in the yr when we take our new dog away, but it isn't the cheapest place to stay in a tent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndPoochMakes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

we chose Silverdale's holiday park, because it is a dog friendly caravan park. The caravans dedicated to allowing dogs stay you wouldn't know dogs stay in these caravans.They are very clean & tidy. Also very peaceful. We either stay in the static caravan or the cottage. These two places would suit any one just wanting to get away from it all & chill.
Being in Silverdale it is so close to everywhere Winder mere Kendal Carnforth, Morcambe bay etc
We will be returning next year as we have for the last four years.
One day our plan is to buy our own get away home.

Room Tip: bring your own internet & hard drive for films etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

have stayed at holgates flagship park in silverdale several times now and keep coming back,although expensive you get what you pay for,beautiful and clean park , spacious pitches, toilets and shower blocks warm and immaculate, with private cubicles, the lesiure facilities spot on , swimming pool warm and again immaculate, there is a small games room for the kids a shop, gym, a bar which serves very good food, cannot fault the staff, all have been very friendly and remember you from previous visits, and are all very welcoming. this is a fairly quite site not commercialized like haven etc but still plenty plenty keep every entertained and relaxed,..only niggle is it is the most expensive site we have stayed at, same rate all year, but it is worth it..fantastic

Room Tip: New year's eve...brilliant stay, get booked early for party as it books up fast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ema1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely Easter break here with our touring caravan, we have 2 children (4 and 7) and a dog and found his a lovely quiet and clean site

The facilities are great, lovely warm pool with plenty of life guards on duty and splash sessions for kids. Loads of space for children to play and go on bike rides and great dog walks

Touring pitches very large so plenty of space for cars and awnings etc

Lovely play area for children

Will be coming back later in he year as we had such a great time

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Katesc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
4.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Silverdale Hotel
Silverdale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Silverdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
#1 of 4 in Arnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park

Property: Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park
Address: Middlebarrow Plain Cove Road | Cove Road, Silverdale LA5 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Silverdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holgates Silverdale is set just south of the Lake District in the beautiful Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty that is Silverdale and Arnside. A park for all your needs we accommodate tourers, campers, glampers and static owners. A large park which still manages to feel intimate we pride ourself on not only our location but our customer service. A large pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are perfect for relaxing in and our cafe and bar are open from 9am til late and we serve food until 9pm. We are open all year round for camping, touring and if you own a static you can come all year round too! It's the perfect park for all the family so book now to come see the magic that is Holgates Silverdale ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holgates Silverdale Holiday Park Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing