We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent b&b”
Review of Challan Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silverdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Challan Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Charlotte and Mike made our stay very enjoyable. From the coffee, freshly made scones, homemade jam and cream on arrival to the delicious breakfast before departure. Nothing was too much trouble and little extra touches make the accommodation exceptional. The view across Haweswater is superb. The comfortable lounge was well stocked with books and games, even binoculars for studying the many visitors to the bird feeders. Gorgeous accommodation in a beautiful area, we'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmc122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

stunning scenery beautiful garden and view of surrounding countryside.
was greeted by Charlotte who brought me tea and scones on the patio. Dinner was delicious as was the breakfast. very comfortable clean and quiet. Would recommend this place to anyone. Only a short walk(about a mile ) to RSPB reserve too

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Chose this B+B due to it's countryside location and wasn't disappointed with the views. Handy for the wedding venue of Leighton Hall also.
Very welcoming hosts who couldn't have been more helpful. Felt very relaxed.
Very clean and room very comfortable.
Breakfast fresh and delicious. Never ending supply of tea and toast if you wanted it. Left to relax with other guests.
Lots of interesting books and nic-nac's to keep you occupied and gave the B+B character.
Would definitely return and reccommend!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had the double ensuite room with a shower and would choose this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very pleasant stay, thanks to Charlotte and Mike. Tea and warm scones in the garden on arrival, with a stunning view over Hawes Water is to be savoured. Great recommendation for The Albion, Arnside for our evening meal, which Mike very kindly contacted and made a reservation for us. Very comfortable bed for sweet dreams, a large bathroom and a more than ample selection for breakfast, sharing a large dining table with other guests with some interesting conversation. I particularly liked some of the surrealist paintings around the house. Most of all though, this is a truly beautiful spot and we will most definitely return. Lots of thoughtful little touches to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Mike and Charlotte are the most welcoming hosts and go to considerable lengths to make a stay, be it for one night or several (recommended), a truly memorable experience. The Hall and its beautifully maintained grounds overlook the original Hawes Water and from part of the nationally renowned Gaitbarrow NNR. The rooms are a delight, the beds too comfortable if you need a very early start, and the breakfasts to enjoy and linger over. Charlotte, a graduate of the Prue Leith Cookery School, prepares the full range of cooked breakfasts while Mike ensures the the toast rack remains full and the coffee and tea pots never run dry.
Mike and Charlotte are an attentive and sophisticated couple and their lovely home reflects this. After my first visit I knew that I had to return. Each succeeding visit has been a delight and an opportunity to catch up with old friends as well as to enjoy this beautiful corner of the South Lakes and the extraordinary wildlife.

Home from home - better than!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After a great, if tiring day spent cycling with friends, we arrived at Challan Hall to a wonderfully warm welcome. We were shown to our rooms - very clean and comfortable - before being served tea and homemade shortbread and banana loaf on the patio in the evening sunshine. The views over a nature reserve are splendid.

Charlotte recommended pubs in Arnside for an evening meal - if you're lucky with the weather, eating outside The Albion on the promenade, over-looking the river estuary and Morecambe Bay will be very difficult to beat!

We had four bikes and secure storage was not a problem.

Breakfast was also served on the patio - the food selection and presentation were excellent. Portions were generous and there was a never ending supply of toast and a bottomless pot of tea! Michael was very attentive without being at all over bearing

As mentioned above, the rooms were very comfortable - not modern or boutique, but in keeping with the style of the house. Because we were in a group of four, we didn't mind sharing a bathroom, but this might not be ideal for everyone.

In summary, a excellent B&B with very considerate and welcoming hosts. No hesitation in highly recommending Challan Hall. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Very welcoming and friendly.We arrived with a large boat and trailer somewhat the worse for wear.
Hugely helpful sorting out the very necessary tyre change. We even discovered we both had pictures by the same artist!
Most interesting part of Lancashire and,
but for our unwieldy appendage, we would have loved to stay longer and explore.
Thoroughly recommend Challan Hall .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertmartin1128310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Challan Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challan Hall

Address: Silverdale LA5 0UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Silverdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Challan Hall Silverdale, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing