We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napoklu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Cottage Home Stay
Ranked #2 of 6 Napoklu B&B and Inns
poona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Had a great stay at this place. Had a lot of the local pandi curry which was really good and trekked around. Very good hosts who really made us feel at home and there is a lot of open space for kids to play too

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noelzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

This place is ideal if one is looking to trek the Thadiyandamol peak. Quite remotely located admist nature. 2 of the cottages overlook a paddy field. Its certainly good value for money, but I was quite disappointed with the food. I was really expecting some good Coorgi cuisine, but it turned out be below average and oily.
The rooms, bedding and cutlery were fairly clean - which was quite a relief.
The hosts are nice people. But the helping staff does not pay much attention to being polite.
Overall, as someone else commented, it is not a resort. There are no amenities. Hence, may not be a good place to take kids along. The pricing is per person which includes veg meals and breakfast.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on right now in the premises...so you can choose the cottage away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satishnair77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Went their recently and stayed overnight. Place is value for money. Location of homestay is amazing, just nearby mountains. Food was also good. However, quality of rooms/bathrooms were average. Hospitality was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratnesh_Nagori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

First - this is a homestay and not a resort hence no tv, no fridge, no ac, no menu based food, no day long tours etc. If you are looking at luxury avoid. This is for families that do not like the regular and go offbeat. The cottages are next to a agri field and you look down on sloping hillside as well have towering hill next to you. Rains brings a gushing fountain nearby.

Rooms are clean, hot water etc is there. Food is amazing, you need to request, i tried idli with honey a first for me. Deadly meat dishes and some amazing coffee while veiwing the fields at morning.

You can go to the palace nearby, this is in ruins as is most of the state of things with our govt involved but you can guess at how this could have been still. There is a waterfall nearby and buddhist temple, also you can climb the hill,if that is your thing. One of the family members who own the farm may accompany you on request, for us they have done may times.

Best time to go is rains and after, there is also the day when coffee is pollinated, a mind blowing experience when entire countryside is filled with bees. i just crash in the veranda reading and go for long walks with the family whereever we feel like.

Been there many times and the family who owns this is the best part of the deal, very warm and hospitable................again not for the persons who like to shout and get things done, smile works wonders.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the fields and not ones immediately in front of the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_S_B40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

the drive to this location is very good.... the place is very calm.. and close to nature.... nothing to be disturbed from.... the hospitality was not upto the expectations.... food was ok. not so great... i would not visit this place again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dheeraj1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Got to know about this place from my friend Raghu. He had spent his Diwali in King's Cottage and was really impressed with this place. We decided to spend our weekend here.
We reserved the room well in advance and started off after lunch on Friday. Owner of this place was kind to guide us properly. The cottages are independent and well maintained. The location of this place is the USP. It is green all over. One can hear the waterfall easily at night.

There was an arrangement for us to enjoy the sunrise. Nalknad Palace, Chelavara Falls, Igguthappa temple are walkable from this place. If you enjoy trekking, Thadiyandamol peak is just 6 kms from here.

Food is really good and is covered in the cost. It is 900/head with breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Highly recommended if you want to have a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

King's cottage is a small setup run as a Homestay by a traditional Coorgy family. This was my first trip to Coorg and was at th right time.. The rainy season.....

The place has got 3-4 cottages built facing the fields and small hills behind them... There is coffeee plantation all around.... During rains the place becomes beautiful and its just heavenly feeling .. sitting in the verandah.. watching the rain and siping ur warm cup of fresh coffee...

The food is simple and south India.. The family cooks and eats the same thing as that of guests.... Though its basic. it is still very very tasty.....

Cottages are simple and yet has all the basics one need. Clean room, comfortable cots and quilts, Clean and big bathroom, running hot water... But dont expect luxury of a high end resort at this cost..

While we were there it was some festival time (local) and the hosts invited us to their side of the cottage .. It was a special dinner that night followed with fireworks.

The place is real cheap and f ur travelling on budget and want to see the real essence f coorg.. Kings cottage is the place for you.....

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingbittu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoklu
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 21 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.8 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blue Mountains Estate Stay
3.4 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Resort Coorg
Magnolia Resort Coorg
#2 of 2 in Virajpet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Cottage Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Cottage Home Stay

Property: Kings Cottage Home Stay
Address: Palace Estate Kakkabe Post, Napoklu 571212, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Napoklu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Napoklu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing