We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bentham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel for what was meant to be a lovely break for our anniversary after driving over 200 miles. We checked in to our room we was appalled at the quality of this dingy tiny box room that had no name on the door only fire door where as all other rooms were named. There was no where to put cloths, towel and hand rail were broken and our feet touched the wall when we laid in bed. We immediately went to reception to express our upset and disappointment as this and requested to be moved to another room as this was not what was advertised when we booked. They was unwilling to do anything and was rude to us. We stayed up all night trying to find more suitable accommodation as we had travelled miles but everywhere was full. In the morning we went for breakfast and that was inedible, again the staff we not interested. This was the worst experience we have ever had and we was treated so appallingly by the manager who was not apologetic and clearly he was not interested in resolving any of the issues. We checked out after 1 night due to this and was assured by the manager we could request a refund as we hadn't stayed the whole weekend. When we requested this he refused and it and denied everything he had advised us during our night from hell. This totally ruined our anniversary and to this day they still hold our money despite us not staying and the experience we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 070507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    38
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
11
91
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I where looking forward to a little break . We had read the bad reviews so where a little wary. The room was fine and clean enough. The meal we had in the evening was beautifully cooked and tasted lovely. It was a real shame that there was not a good selection of real ales. most pumps off. The pub was in the process of changing owners so I suppose they where running things down. All in all we had an OK stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Pleasant enough place and staff were very welcoming. Nice cosy room with soft towels (don't always get them!). Bit of a shame about the peeling paint in the shower that could easily have been addressed. Card machine not working so were only taking cash, but it was in the middle of changing owners so I think it was in a bit of at transition. Breakfast was from 9 which is a bit late if you have an early start but I was given some milk and cereal for the morning which suited me fine. Good selection of food on the menu but you need to be aware the restaurant is only open from 6 to 7.45 pm. Thought it was expensive for the facilities and a little disconcerting to have to let myself out in the morning via the fire escape as the pub didn't open til 9. Just something you would want to be aware of especially if you are on your own. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break... there really is nothing else to say that isn't covered by the very detailed and accurate review left by another reviewer that has been replied to very rudely by the owner of this establishment. Needless to say I would not recommend this place to anyone and we will definitely not be returning!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillipa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren J, Owner at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Except your point of mould in the shower and dust on the skirting board, the chamber maid has been informed, as for us wanting you to stay again I think not you are a typical coop meal deal guest who books to stay for two nights then does not speak to anyone, or spend a penny in the bar on food or drink eventually your kind will kill off the discount offers on the internet for people who appreciate the deal and actually enjoy themselves. For those a coop meal deal is a sandwich, crisp and drink for £3.50, the guest then go to thier room to eat it like a hermit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great value; clean, comfortable,characterful room with excellent modern bathroom. Excellent traditional breakfast; some fruit would have been nice to make it perfect. Evening dinner in restaurant very good value with quality ingredients. A refreshing mid week break. Great base to explore the area and great for walkers. Thanks to Darren, Amanda and son.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed last week for two nights at The Coach House. After reading previous posts (after booking, but before travelling!) I was a little concerned but I really didn't have to be! We had travelled up a few days previously and done a little travelling around Windermere and then came across, arriving at around 5pm. We found the car park around the back and went in and got shown to our room. We were told about the rear access so could easily bring our bags in rather than carrying them around. Our room was lovely - open beams, huge bed, lovely bathroom, and ever so clean. Once we had got ourselves sorted we decided to eat in the pub itself - Grill Night - the steak was beautifully cooked and superb value (and a free glass of wine with it!) Breakfast doesn't start until 9am, but we were down at around 0850 and our order taken for the cooked part and cereals were laid out along with juice, tea and coffee, and we didn't have much of a wait at all. We heard no noise at all when we arrived back at 2200 that evening (Friday evening) and we had to leave early the next day so just had juice and cereal but the owner came out and gave us some toast too which was totally unexpected as we were so early, but very much appreciated!! I would absolutely recommend staying here, it is in a lovely location, with easy access to lots of places. As I mentioned, we had travelled from Windermere and it was an easy journey, and also travelled to Skipton and Keighley while we were there. All of the staff and owners were all ever so friendly and helpful, excellent value for money and a lovely location. Will definitely be back!! Lindsey and Gareth

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Arrived just before 2 p.m. But could get no reply to locked front or telephoning no. In window. Someone eventually appeared at about 2.15 pm and helped us out and to check in. Turns out it was Connor the chef, who seemed to do a lot More than cheffing. On being shown into our room to find the bed hadn't been made up or carpets vacuumed but this was sorted by 5.00 pm. You only get what you pay for ! The food, especially the breakfasts were out of this world, Conor has a real talent. We had one meal on a Thursday as it was steak night, rib eye and a sirloin, (£10 each inc. glass of house wine) cooked perfectly by Connor, again. By the way in the restaurant Gent's toilet there was no toilet seat, a lid but no seat. How can someone overlook that running a pub. Never again, great value but never again

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ViniReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentham
4.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#3 of 5 in Clapham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Property: The Coach House Inn
Address: 16 Main Street, Bentham LA2 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bentham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bentham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Coaching Inn, real log fires, real ale, great food. We serve high quality food at lunch and evenings, using the best local seasonal produce. Boutique en-suite rooms at affordable prices. Located on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, ideal for visitors who wish to explore the Dales, Lake District, or discover the Forest of Bowland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Inn Bentham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing