We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional old Inn in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bentham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was a weekend break at the 18th Century Coach House, via a 'Dealmonster' offer of 2 nights B&B and afternoon tea. We thought a real bargain.
All the staff were lovely and very obliging, and our room (Whernside)was very clean and comfortable, with a high vaulted beamed ceiling, and nicely furnished. The Inn's interior is rather dark, but it is old and quirky and we thought rather charming. Especially in the evening when the fires are lit and lamps are on.
We had an excellent evening meal, beautifully cooked and presented,.comprising a starter of grilled goatscheese and cherry tomatoes, with a warm salad, croutons and olives with a pesto dressing. My main was a delicious braised venison suet pudding in a rich red wine gravy, with garlic and rosemary roast potatoes, and a mixture of seasonal vegetables, and a treacle sponge for desert. My partner had a similar 3 courses and the bill came in at about £45 - £50 which we thought was reasonable for this quality of meal.
The Inn is on the main street, in the centre of the village, and there are shops, (including specialist shops and galleries,) pretty cafes, and another pub. There's also a bank and 24hr cash machine right next door. But of course the coach house is a perfect base for exploring further afield. Ingleton Falls were good but a bit overpriced we thought at £6.00 each, so we'd recommend going a little further to Skipton or to Hawes, a delightful little place in the middle of the Yorkshire Dales surrounded by the most beautiful countryside.
After a good night's sleep we enjoyed very hearty and generous breakfasts with all the trimmings including fried bread and black pudding! Excellent. We really couldn't fault it.
The only gripe, and it's very minor, was the lack of toiletries in the bathroom. We had to go out and buy our own soap, so maybe they could provide some in the future.
But that tiny quibble aside, we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay and would happily return another time to the Coach House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel for what was meant to be a lovely break for our anniversary after driving over 200 miles. We checked in to our room we was appalled at the quality of this dingy tiny box room that had no name on the door only fire door where as all other rooms were named. There was no where to put cloths, towel and hand rail were broken and our feet touched the wall when we laid in bed. We immediately went to reception to express our upset and disappointment as this and requested to be moved to another room as this was not what was advertised when we booked. They was unwilling to do anything and was rude to us. We stayed up all night trying to find more suitable accommodation as we had travelled miles but everywhere was full. In the morning we went for breakfast and that was inedible, again the staff we not interested. This was the worst experience we have ever had and we was treated so appallingly by the manager who was not apologetic and clearly he was not interested in resolving any of the issues. We checked out after 1 night due to this and was assured by the manager we could request a refund as we hadn't stayed the whole weekend. When we requested this he refused and it and denied everything he had advised us during our night from hell. This totally ruined our anniversary and to this day they still hold our money despite us not staying and the experience we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 070507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I where looking forward to a little break . We had read the bad reviews so where a little wary. The room was fine and clean enough. The meal we had in the evening was beautifully cooked and tasted lovely. It was a real shame that there was not a good selection of real ales. most pumps off. The pub was in the process of changing owners so I suppose they where running things down. All in all we had an OK stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Pleasant enough place and staff were very welcoming. Nice cosy room with soft towels (don't always get them!). Bit of a shame about the peeling paint in the shower that could easily have been addressed. Card machine not working so were only taking cash, but it was in the middle of changing owners so I think it was in a bit of at transition. Breakfast was from 9 which is a bit late if you have an early start but I was given some milk and cereal for the morning which suited me fine. Good selection of food on the menu but you need to be aware the restaurant is only open from 6 to 7.45 pm. Thought it was expensive for the facilities and a little disconcerting to have to let myself out in the morning via the fire escape as the pub didn't open til 9. Just something you would want to be aware of especially if you are on your own. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break... there really is nothing else to say that isn't covered by the very detailed and accurate review left by another reviewer that has been replied to very rudely by the owner of this establishment. Needless to say I would not recommend this place to anyone and we will definitely not be returning!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillipa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren J, Owner at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Except your point of mould in the shower and dust on the skirting board, the chamber maid has been informed, as for us wanting you to stay again I think not you are a typical coop meal deal guest who books to stay for two nights then does not speak to anyone, or spend a penny in the bar on food or drink eventually your kind will kill off the discount offers on the internet for people who appreciate the deal and actually enjoy themselves. For those a coop meal deal is a sandwich, crisp and drink for £3.50, the guest then go to thier room to eat it like a hermit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great value; clean, comfortable,characterful room with excellent modern bathroom. Excellent traditional breakfast; some fruit would have been nice to make it perfect. Evening dinner in restaurant very good value with quality ingredients. A refreshing mid week break. Great base to explore the area and great for walkers. Thanks to Darren, Amanda and son.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed last week for two nights at The Coach House. After reading previous posts (after booking, but before travelling!) I was a little concerned but I really didn't have to be! We had travelled up a few days previously and done a little travelling around Windermere and then came across, arriving at around 5pm. We found the car park around the back and went in and got shown to our room. We were told about the rear access so could easily bring our bags in rather than carrying them around. Our room was lovely - open beams, huge bed, lovely bathroom, and ever so clean. Once we had got ourselves sorted we decided to eat in the pub itself - Grill Night - the steak was beautifully cooked and superb value (and a free glass of wine with it!) Breakfast doesn't start until 9am, but we were down at around 0850 and our order taken for the cooked part and cereals were laid out along with juice, tea and coffee, and we didn't have much of a wait at all. We heard no noise at all when we arrived back at 2200 that evening (Friday evening) and we had to leave early the next day so just had juice and cereal but the owner came out and gave us some toast too which was totally unexpected as we were so early, but very much appreciated!! I would absolutely recommend staying here, it is in a lovely location, with easy access to lots of places. As I mentioned, we had travelled from Windermere and it was an easy journey, and also travelled to Skipton and Keighley while we were there. All of the staff and owners were all ever so friendly and helpful, excellent value for money and a lovely location. Will definitely be back!! Lindsey and Gareth

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentham
2.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
4.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bentham
82 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Masons Freehouse
Masons Freehouse
#14 of 22 in Ingleton
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 16 Main Street, Bentham LA2 7HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bentham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bentham
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Coaching Inn, real log fires, real ale, great food. We serve high quality food at lunch and evenings, using the best local seasonal produce. Boutique en-suite rooms at affordable prices. Located on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, ideal for visitors who wish to explore the Dales, Lake District, or discover the Forest of Bowland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Inn Bentham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing