We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very talented chef”
Review of Redwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redwell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arkholme
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very talented chef”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Only visited a couple of times, but the food each time for all three courses has been absolutely excellent. An interesting menu and meat cooked to perfection. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and informative about the menu - and they are very 'gluten-free' friendly! Requests for menu changes are willingly accommodated. The surroundings are restful and very pleasant and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
50
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quite simply one of the best meals I've had in a long time both me and my girlfriend agreed. Just go enjoy the leisurely pace and stunning views and enjoy some of the best food in the local area. I recommend the lemon meringue pie divine well worth the wait

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pneroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had lovely meal here. Used the Deal monster voucher for three of us. Lovely menu using locally produced meat etc. Best Sunday roast I have had, it seems rather expensive for a lunch but we all felt it was exceptional quality. The dining room is lovely with nice views over the surrounding country side. All very well presented served nice and hot, with a very tasty bottlle of wine. The service was lovely, nice and welcoming.Will definitely go back. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just come back from a meal from here and I don't often write reviews however I felt so impressed that I just had to tell everyone!! As soon as we arrived we were kindly greeted and they explained the eating options (they offered to open the dining area as the tables at the bar were all full or we could sit by the fire and wait until a table cleared) and then offered us a drink. We then ordered our food so when a table cleared it would be ready for us to eat straight away. There was a male and female host (possibly the owners?) both who were very chatty, polite and welcoming, asking about ourselves as if we were old friends! The food was served quickly and was delicious! We were asked occasionally that we were satisfied and we couldn't say anything but positive comments! We were offered a jug of water and sauces for our meal without us having to ask. When we finished our starter and were waiting for our main meal both hosts came over and chatted to us like good friends. Only thing that let them down was the variety of food on the menu wasn't large however this didn't bother us as the foods we liked were offered. We will definitely be going back and recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A nice looking restaurant in a good location with its own smokehouse. The service was utterly abysmal!! We had to wait 30 minutes to be seated in the restaurant, our starters took 45 minutes to arrive and we then waited another 45 minutes for our main courses. For Mothering Sunday, I would have expected the restaurant to be busier especially since they boast award winning food. Seriously though, its not special, I have had better and paid less for it. Portions were slim and technically the food is not of a high standard, although the meats were all well cooked. Sauces were poor and generally all food was under seasoned accompaniments were severely lacking, we were supplied with one small bowl of veg (peas and carrots! Seriously!!) and dishes like cheese had no butter, fruit, salad.... the finishing touches are missing here, the service is slow and we will not be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

went to the redwell for the first time nearly 2 years ago front of house staff were hapless then and after giving them 2 years to improve their game i am sorry to say it got a whole lot worsethis time, ordered drinks it took 12 minutes for 2 g & t's & 2 pints of beer there was no one else in and we were sat next to the bar, starters took 34 mins to arrive the waiter took half of the starter plates away and left the others untill our mains arrived nearly an hour later .all ok if it was something special but its not no wonder there was only3 tables in on a friday night

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsmypleaseure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I 'sampled' The Red Well Inn, some weeks ago, by having dinner there - it was highly-satisfactory. Fortified with this good experience, I suggested to a group of (8) friends to meet there for dinner - which we did, last evening (27/09/12). Suffice to say that none of us was disappointed - the food and service was again absolutely first-class.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arkholme
2.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,023 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
9.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwell Inn

Property: Redwell Inn
Address: Kirkby Lonsdale Rd, Arkholme, Carnforth LA6 1BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Arkholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arkholme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Redwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwell Hotel Arkholme
Redwell Inn Arkholme, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing