We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Cottage
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just spent a lovely nights stay atbRIver COttage. The room overlooked the beautiful garden and river. The room was spotless and beds and pillows really comfortable. Breakfast was great too,. Elizabeth made us very welcome. Would stay again. We visited Ingleton Falls and dined in the pub around the corner, The Punch Bowl, which was great too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNOYED08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Super family run B and B. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The room was lovely and we were all made very welcome including our dog .
We had private access to the river which was great for swimming. Our 5 year old daughter loved it and the dog.
The breakfast was gorgeous and the rooms were very pretty and very clean.
We would definitely stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a short break away based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The location in the small village is beautiful and the hospitality was excellent. The room was clean and the breakfast was lovely. In the evening we ventured out to eat in Kirkby Lonsdale at Avanti and the food was excellent as was the service. All in all a lovely place to stay to explore the dales and the lakes and you couldn't meet a nicer couple who made you feel at home without being intrusive. We would recommend this b&b and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary on 4th July. A very warm welcome from Elizabeth. Room had a gorgeous view of the river running by the side of the garden. Full english breakfast perfectly cooked by Frank. Cereals also available. Pub just a walk away open for tea through the week plus dinner at weekend and also a village shop up the road. Perfect getaway for peaceful times we great scenery. Will stay again in future and reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a remarkable B & B, where nothing is too much trouble for the guests. Frank and Elizabeth do a great job of making you welcome, the rooms are a good size, and spotlessly clean, and everything you need is provided. Because of its location, bang in between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, it makes a great base for visiting lots of places. This year was the second time we've stayed there, and it certainly won't be the last. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This B&B was abit hard to find but when we did we were absolutely thrilled. The location is very pretty and tranquil. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was stunning with beautiful views of the river and breakfast was fantastic. A short stroll to the pub for dinner, hosts are welcoming and helpful, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We had a river view room and our family had a church view room, both beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrobrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights in this beautiful property and found it to be a most enjoyable experience! Top quality everything, I really cannot find fault with the house, service and food! Beautiful rooms, totally clean, practical and lovely bathroom, there was nothing missing. We didn´t want for anything! Our host was a lovely gentleman who made us feel very welcome. I cannot recommend this place enough. Absolutely 100%!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
2  Thank gazrackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton-in-Lonsdale
3.8 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,138 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
208 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
133 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: 2 Brookland, Burton-in-Lonsdale LA6 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burton-in-Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burton-in-Lonsdale
Price Range: £68 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Cottage is a Four-Star, Award Of Excellence acclaimed bed & breakfast, offering visitors first-class accomodaion. Located on the banks of the River Greta, in the historic village Of Burton in Lonsdale, River Cottage's beautiful location provides a wealth of easily reached local attractions including the Yorkshire three-peaks, Ingleton waterfalls, and the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale. Nestled between the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District National Park, River Cottage is the ideal location for your getaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing