We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondrous R & R at River Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Cottage
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wondrous R & R at River Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My other half and I have just returned today from a 5 night long awaited summer break at River Cottage Burton In Lonsdale, and I have to say that being reluctant to leave this morning is a massive understatement. We chose River Cottage because our teenage son decided that he didn't want to come with us, so rather than do something to cater for a teen, we opted for a quiet, out of the way spot, and we could not have made a better choice.
We arrived and were greeted by the lovely Frank and Liz, and immediately offered coffee or tea. We were shown to our room,Church View, which was spotlessly clean, and had a lovely homely cottage feel about it. The spacious King Size bed was a home from home luxury, and incredibly comfortable. We loved our en-suite bathroom too, which was gleaming white, and included a bath, shower, and even a bidet! Very handy for cooling off hot tired feet after a day out!
Liz has thought of everything, and all the things that I take away with me were available. Cotton pads, cotton buds, shampoo, shower gel, flannel, soap, and hairdrier.
The impressive property has a conservatory that looks out into the garden, and on to the River and bridge. In the nice weather it was a pleasure just to be able to sit and enjoy the sunshine and peaceful sound of the water in the beautiful garden.
We explored Windermere, Bowness, Settle, Malham, Skipton, Kirkby Lonsdale, and the nearby village of Ingleton. We can strongly recommend the Fish & Chips from Ingleton Chippy! We also ate at the local pub the Punchbowl twice, and received a warm friendly welcome, and plentiful delicious pub grub served piping hot. We didnt eat during the day, as Franks breakfasts are a force to be reckoned with, and more than set us up for the day. YUMMY!!!!
We had a wonderful break, and would like to thank the gorgeous Liz and Frank for their hospitality. This fab laid back couple open up their home to guests, and make everyone feel so at home and welcome. Nothing is too much trouble, and they are a joy to chat to. With hospitality like this, and Liz's mischievous sense of humour, no one could fail to have a fantastic time here. We will certainly be back. Cant wait!!!!! Love Carol & John x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just spent a lovely nights stay atbRIver COttage. The room overlooked the beautiful garden and river. The room was spotless and beds and pillows really comfortable. Breakfast was great too,. Elizabeth made us very welcome. Would stay again. We visited Ingleton Falls and dined in the pub around the corner, The Punch Bowl, which was great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNOYED08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Super family run B and B. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The room was lovely and we were all made very welcome including our dog .
We had private access to the river which was great for swimming. Our 5 year old daughter loved it and the dog.
The breakfast was gorgeous and the rooms were very pretty and very clean.
We would definitely stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a short break away based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The location in the small village is beautiful and the hospitality was excellent. The room was clean and the breakfast was lovely. In the evening we ventured out to eat in Kirkby Lonsdale at Avanti and the food was excellent as was the service. All in all a lovely place to stay to explore the dales and the lakes and you couldn't meet a nicer couple who made you feel at home without being intrusive. We would recommend this b&b and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary on 4th July. A very warm welcome from Elizabeth. Room had a gorgeous view of the river running by the side of the garden. Full english breakfast perfectly cooked by Frank. Cereals also available. Pub just a walk away open for tea through the week plus dinner at weekend and also a village shop up the road. Perfect getaway for peaceful times we great scenery. Will stay again in future and reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a remarkable B & B, where nothing is too much trouble for the guests. Frank and Elizabeth do a great job of making you welcome, the rooms are a good size, and spotlessly clean, and everything you need is provided. Because of its location, bang in between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, it makes a great base for visiting lots of places. This year was the second time we've stayed there, and it certainly won't be the last. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This B&B was abit hard to find but when we did we were absolutely thrilled. The location is very pretty and tranquil. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was stunning with beautiful views of the river and breakfast was fantastic. A short stroll to the pub for dinner, hosts are welcoming and helpful, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We had a river view room and our family had a church view room, both beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrobrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton-in-Lonsdale
3.8 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
6.6 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Property: River Cottage
Address: 2 Brookland, Burton-in-Lonsdale LA6 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burton-in-Lonsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burton-in-Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Cottage is a Four-Star, Award Of Excellence acclaimed bed & breakfast, offering visitors first-class accomodaion. Located on the banks of the River Greta, in the historic village Of Burton in Lonsdale, River Cottage's beautiful location provides a wealth of easily reached local attractions including the Yorkshire three-peaks, Ingleton waterfalls, and the historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale. Nestled between the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District National Park, River Cottage is the ideal location for your getaway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing