We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual”
Review of The Cartford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cartford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Individual”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A nice surprise after a long drive. The bedroom was well appointed and very individual. Unusually I ate in the hotel, the food is worth staying at the hotel for on its own. Will I stay there again oh yes the whole experience was really nice :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithsboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    48
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
156
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed as we were attending a wedding at a venue elsewhere in the area. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, it is set in a lovely setting on the river, staff were very helpful arranging taxis for us for our venture to the wedding. The pub itself it very quaint, I think the Christmas decor really brought out the design it has a lovely warm feel to it.
The bedroom we stayed in was absolutely lovely, it was so comfortable has all facilities you need ie tea coffee biscuits hair dryer tv, toiletries in bathroom etc. the style of the room was gorgeous we didn't want to leave to go back to our own bedroom ( which can be a rare thing to say when staying in hotel rooms!) .
We had breakfast but no other meals here, but we saw other customers having food and they seemed to be enjoying it! Breakfast was great, good selection of continental and cooked choices.
We would recommend this to anyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Cartford Inn is tucked away in a beautiful part of the north west, having stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year, I cannot wait to go back again.

We loved everything about it, the food was fabulous, (next time we are planning the Seafood platter having seen it, 48 hours notice required, but it looks worth it!) the staff were friendly, polite and good fun too, the relaxed bar area was great, we especially loved the secret room!!

The bedroom was a good size, I especially liked the Ren toiletries, our friends had the Penthouse room, (which is spectacular), but we were not disappointed with our room in the slightest, all rooms look to be really beautifully decorated.

Only 4/5 for sleep quality as we prefer memory foam mattresses!! Just a personal choice!

Room Tip: If the Penthouse is available in summer go for it, it has its own little balcony, but all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnorKenworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went for one night as a treat, we ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food as always was really Tasty and some unique dishes to choose from. We don't live far away from The Cartford but it's a great place to just get away for a night.
The room was lovely, very spacious and nice comfy bed. The breakfast in the morning was awesome and finished off our stay perfectly! We will be back again next year and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I found the staff to be most professional, welcoming and efficient. No request was too much and a very impressive B&B. As a very experienced traveler (70,000 KM air miles in 2013) I would rate this better than many a hotel I have frequented.
Would I recommend this to others, yes.
Would I stay again, yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPRBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Really lovely rooms, a good dinner and a great breakfast.
The staff here are improbably polite, bright and friendly. Somebody has taught them well, explained their expectations and then allowed them to dress in their own relaxed styles and get on with it. Is a rare find indeed these days.
There's original art all over the place, and a gallery on the way.
A word of warning though. Its 50p or so to cross the toll bridge outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a really good find, both as a hotel and as a restaurant. We stayed for one night and had an excellent meal (Venison Wellington, and a Beef and Ale suet Pudding, which were both really good), and the atmosphere was very lively too. There was live music in the bar, but that was at a good level in the restaurant, as you could hear it without it dominating the conversation. The service was very friendly and everyone was warm and relaxed. The room was really unique, with wallpaper that is the work of artist Piero Fornasetti ( see photo) and a window that not only overlooked the river but also had a skylight, so we could lay in bed and see the stars at night! Breakfast was up to the high standards set by the night before, and we had one Full English and one scrambled eggs with (heaps!) of very good smoked salmon. Overall it was a very impressive place and there was nothing to fault. We would definitely like stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Eccleston
3.2 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
540 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
6.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,035 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Preston North Hotel
4.6 mi away
Breck Poulton-le-Fylde
Breck Poulton-le-Fylde
#1 of 5 in Poulton Le Fylde
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartford Inn

Property: The Cartford Inn
Address: Cartford Lane, Little Eccleston PR3 0YP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Little Eccleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Eccleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cartford Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope that, like us, you will be captivated by our idyllic setting and be seduced by the charm and ambience of what we believe is a unique venue.We look forward to greeting you!Patrick & Julie Beaume ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cartford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartford Hotel Little Eccleston
The Cartford Inn Little Eccleston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing