We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Cartford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cartford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lapworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was my first visit to the Cartford Inn for over 40 years (when it was the Cartford Arms and just a drinkers’ pub). We booked at short notice for Saturday lunch for three and had a table in the nice dining room, which looks out over the River Wyre and distant fells.

The menu is extensive and includes some interesting and unusual items. Some dishes have an Asian influence, and black pudding features prominently in a number of dishes, including my wife’s starter of scallops and black pudding gnocchi! Wines are reasonably priced, especially the better ones. Choice of draft beers is excellent, including Moorhouses’ Pride of Pendle.

Service was friendly and competent, although the dishes were a little slow to arrive – main courses just over an hour from entering the premises. My starter of calamari was exceptional – beautifully tender with a nice crispy salted crust.

Mains overall were good – oxtail and beef suet pudding, a monkfish special and slow-cooked belly pork (three enormous slices an inch thick of the latter with delicious crackling – enough to serve at least two people!). The one exception was the portion of chunky chips my wife ordered. We spotted these being delivered to another table, looking crisp, golden and delicious in a separate container. Hers arrived overcooked, looking brown and tired, and floating in the sauce accompanying the monkfish. Quite unpleasant.

We didn’t manage desserts but had excellent Illy coffee, which was served “on the house” when we mentioned the poor chips. Our (mild) complaint was greeted with real concern and an obvious desire to improve.

The bill including drinks and tip was a reasonable £80-odd.

Overall, this could have been a top-notch 4 star meal, but just one or two details needed attention, so it gets just a 3 from us this time. Hopefully we will be able to return and upgrade our score in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    50
    20
    10
    10
See reviews for
52
156
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I went for a night at the Cartford Inn to celebrate my 84th birthday. As I am somewhat disabled we asked for an appropriate room and on arrival were taken to a delightful ground floor room overlooking the River Wyre. The large bathroom was set out as a "wet room" with many useful grab rails around the shower, WC and washbasins, The bedroom was equally well appointed with large comfortable beds, a sofa and a French armoire - not surprising as the landlord is French. Double glazing plus large wooden shutters on the inside of the window meant that there was no noise heard from the path outside.
The bar was busy but the helpful young men running the bar soon brought our drinks to a quiet table tucked away from the bar. We had booked a table for 715 and one of the bar staff came to say it was ready and escort through the old building around several corners to the dinig room where we had a table with a fine view across the river and the Lancashire plane to the foothills of the Pennines.
WARNING - previous lunches at the Inn meant we knew portions were substantial to say the least so we carefully ordered a "Nibble" of calamari before our mains. Mine was excellent roast pork belly with four vegetables. It was good to see the vegetables had not been over-cooked - a common fault in restaurants. Despite our cautious Nibble rather than a Starter I was unable to eat all my meal - the fourth substantial slice of roast pork belly, delicious though it was - was also just too much and sadly had to be left uneaten. A great shame that an excellent meal could not be given full justice but with all the vegetables and potatoes.it was very substantial dish. My hearty and active young grandsons would o doubt have regarded it as just right for them.
After a good nights sleep we woke and made a cup of tea in our room before going along for breakfast. This was just as substantial meal in it own way as dinner the night before with lots of choice. I had muesli and my favourite smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with lots of wholemeal toast to finish. A substantially better breakfast than we had last year for my birthday at the substantially more expensive L'Enclume at Cartmel. I know where I shall be going next year. God willing.

Room Tip: If you are disabled the ground floor rooms are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Found this lovely Pub by accident What a gem!
Rooms wonderful, Food excellent,staff do a great job on a very busy Sat. Night.
We hope to return next time we need to break our journey travelling South from Scotland.

Room Tip: Book early as very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Called to arrange a booking for 9 people including children half term week for tea, when advised what time the booking was for and children attending was advised they don't like children after 8 in there establishment.
Not very good customer service to turn away a table of 9 and all local residents . After a discussion and several of us not wanting to go where we are not welcome we cancelled the table and eat else where local, and they couldn't be more welcoming and we got comment from other diners and staff how well behaved they were

Cartford very very disappointed and won't even be coming in now for a drink .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Good job we booked a table 2 weeks before hand as it was packed which is a good sign. There was a live band by the bar which provided a good atmosphere. We all enjoyed our food although the drinks were a bit pricey. Overall it was a very good night and we will definitely go again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was a great choice for our golden wedding celebration. We shared our special evening with a small group of family and friends. The staff were very attentive and efficient and we all enjoyed our meals which were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. This is a very stylish inn which has been tastefully decorated - we especially like the real fire. There was live music on the Friday evening and the talented musicians added to the already wonderful atmosphere. We were fortunate to stay overnight in the Penthouse suite which is a very special room. We loved the French style furniture and the unusual wall coverings. The bathroom area is very luxurious and we were even able to use the balcony area although it was a little cold for our morning cup of tea! There are great views from this river facing room.

We live locally and will continue our regular visits for lunch but on this occasion, staying overnight with some friends was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Julie and Patrick have done an amazing job to make this inn such an attractive place to visit. We hope they don't change a thing as, for us, it is just perfect as it is.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a place! Friendly staff, good beer, excellent food and first class accommodation. Just the place to relax and have a stroll alongside the River Wyre or just sit and look at the Bleasdale Fells. Very highly recommended and within easy reach of Blackpool, the Fylde coast, Garstang and Lancaster

Room Tip: Any overlooking the river and the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Eccleston
3.2 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
551 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
8.9 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
18.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,061 reviews
6.7 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartford Inn

Property: The Cartford Inn
Address: Cartford Lane, Little Eccleston PR3 0YP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Little Eccleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Eccleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cartford Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope that, like us, you will be captivated by our idyllic setting and be seduced by the charm and ambience of what we believe is a unique venue.We look forward to greeting you!Patrick & Julie Beaume ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartford Hotel Little Eccleston
The Cartford Inn Little Eccleston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing