We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”
Review of The Cartford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cartford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I am giving the Cartford a reluctant very good, because I do believe they are above average but a 40 minute wait for sandwiches cannot be justified. We loved the location, the place was lovely inside and out and staff were friendly.
We went for my Grandmas birthday a little hesitantly, since previous visits had seen a very long wait for food, even though it is delicious when it arrives. Unfortunately they did not disappoint and we had the expected long wait. Why? It was a Wednesday lunch time, they were not packed. No excuse really.
Having said all that, the food was very nice and we would return when we have a lot of time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    48
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
156
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A last minute booking, I wanted to spend a little more and stay somewhere special. The cartford did not disapoint, very funky interior, pleasant outdoor area with good views in a quiet village with easy access to Blackpool, Preston and the M6. Great food and wine I cant fault this Pub/Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loydy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having dined at the Cartford Inn several times and always had wonderful meals in this chic restaurant, we decided to stay over as part of our wedding anniversary celebration. Our room was beautifully furnished and overlooking the river as all the rooms do. At dinner we chose quite a few of the specials - my spider crab starter was awesome - as were all the courses, including a delicious Venison Rossini which my daughter's fiance had and we all chose the chocolate fondant dessert! Unsurprisingly it was extremely busy but the service was friendly, attentive and unhurried. After our dinner we sat on the very pleasant terrace overlooking the river in the sunshine - it was sublime! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Cartford as a delightful inn both to dine and to stay.

Room Tip: All the individually designed rooms overlook the River Wyre so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited here the other day with my husband and everything was perfect which honestly, it seems in this day and age, is quite unusual! I had squid to start and my husband kofta both of which were delicious. For main the duck and steak pudding, again lovely and to finish salted caramel cheesecake and love strawberry. All this with a very nice house red! The service friendly, welcoming and prompt.
My only criticism is the very strange decor for a country inn??!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jauntiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived Saturday afternoon in glorious sunshine. Stroll by the river and then a seat in the beer garden with a cool drink was bliss. Checked into our room which was immaculate with attention to detail. Dinner that evening was excellent, the restaurant was very busy but the service was very good - extremely attentive staff. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was delightful - beautiful views from the river lounge. We would definitely return - this time for two nights!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niadhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great setting by the river about 30 min drive from lytham st annes and well worth the trip.
A good selection of beers and an interesting menu. I had an excellent fish pie but there was plenty of dishes to choose from.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aussie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have travelled a modest amount through North America and Europe, and The Cartford Inn is our favourite hotel. It is beautifully situated on the banks of the River Wye, with a beautiful view of the green fields, farms and grazing cows, fresh air, gorgeous rooms, comfy beds, and a fantastic restaurant with lovely staff. While it can be a very peaceful locale, in the evening and at weekends the place comes alive with sophisticated locals going to the pub and restaurant. The Cartford Inn is a unique inn and the owners, Julie and Patrick, are delightful and make sure every need is taken care of. Our home away from home - only wish it were closer!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Eccleston
3.2 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Villa Express Kirkham
18.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
15.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartford Inn

Property: The Cartford Inn
Address: Cartford Lane, Little Eccleston PR3 0YP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Little Eccleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Eccleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cartford Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope that, like us, you will be captivated by our idyllic setting and be seduced by the charm and ambience of what we believe is a unique venue.We look forward to greeting you!Patrick & Julie Beaume ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cartford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartford Hotel Little Eccleston
The Cartford Inn Little Eccleston, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing