We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Attractive buildings in pleasant location. You have to like ducks! Who doesn't?! Lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi (+ Steam Room). Helpful,friendly staff and nice food. Plenty of space to wander around.

Room Tip: Phone Hotel and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

the setting is beautifull but a little isolated u defo need a car to get around as buses only run every 2 hrs,a mini bus or car would b usefull for non drivers at a small fee! the food in restuarant is fantastic but very expensive we only ate there once because of the price! staff were very cheerfull n helpfull especially the man who drove the staffs mini bus thanks for the lift into Lancaster.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandycoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in a recently refurbished one bedroom apartment. The standard of furniture and fittings are excellent and the place is HUGE. There were some issues as a result of the refurb. but these were quickly and efficiently dealt with. The staff were very good; with a ready smile and a willingness to help.
The choice and quality of drinks in the lounge were disappointing which was a bit of a let down in an otherwise high quality resort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We booked a last minute weekend away at Thurnham Hall and enjoyed every minute! The location, grounds and the staff were all first class. In particular, Claire on reception was very friendly and helpful.
Our room, a studio apartment, was large and very well appointed. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the original hall is stunning.
The leisure facilities are clean and the small gym is adequate for a weekend away.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have drinks and olives in the bar area which were very nice and not badly priced.
Wifi is available at a small charge
We did eat at The Stork at Condor Green which is only about a 5 min drive away and very nice.
Overall we can thoroughly recommend!
Jan & Nigel

Room Tip: Studios are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandNLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and were lucky enough to have a flat in the Hall itself. This one-bedroom unit was one of the best places we have ever stayed - it was very charming, with exposed stone walls in all of the rooms and even a priest's hole just next to the kitchen. The facilities were excellent and the owners have managed to combine all modcons with the mediaeval character of the place. The Hall itself has lovely public rooms, with exposed beams, stone walls, a walk-in fireplace, and stained glass windows - absolutely lovely. Good position near Lancaster but out in the country with lovely views. Friendly helpful staff. Can't speak highly enough about this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Hall before you go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were looking for a place to stay on the way up the Lakes from London and found this place at the last minute and it really surprised us. It's a beautiful building right in the countryside yet not too far to pull off the M6. The room was self-catered and therefore very big and spacious. Decent quality in the room but the main hall is the main event. Dinner was really excellent and not too expensive. A real treat and a real surprise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Beautiful, relaxing place, great location, only 10 minutes drive from Lancaster or 20 minutes on bus. Lovely staff who make you feel special. Lovely food and loved the history about this and all the area, wil definetely return. Oh nearly forgot they have a lovely big open fire in the main hall/bar!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lockwoods0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,370 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
780 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,070 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: £38 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing