We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place for a special meal as a couple or a family”
Review of Thurnham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurnham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An excellent place for a special meal as a couple or a family”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to celebrate our anniversary and had a fantastic meal. The staff were charming and the food excellent - what more can I say?
We will definitely be back as it was such a fantastic place for a special occassion

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We will make sure that our restaurant team is aware of your compliments, thank you!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    165
    45
    25
    18
See reviews for
196
282
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed one night at Thurnham Hall as we were invited to a colleagues wedding evening reception. Unusual to see such a late room ready time of 4pm these days. Bar was expensive, but thats what you expect from a captured audience.
We had appt 47, which was more than adequate. Bed, armchairs, TV, big bathroom with corner bath and a full size kitchen. We found the steps to the room a little slippery, but my goodness we had seen some rain that day! Great surroundings. This is the place you could bring a couple of books and relax for a short break, bring some supplies and never have to leave the complex!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guymarkandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you had a great stay with us.
We are glad your apartment was to your liking and you enjoyed the location of the resort.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was the first time as Diamond members we have used a UK resort and it was awful we thought that maybe this was what you get in this country but no we have just arrived home from Cromer Country Club and it was amazing maybe the management and staff should go there for some training. The accomodation we were given at Thurnham Hall was fully equipped for a disabled person from electric beds and disabled wet room which we did not feel comfortable with, I think we should of been informed that we were being given an apartment fully equiped for the disabled. The kitchen must have been as least 20 years old I have the same one at home, the dishwasher was so antiquated that you had to break the dishwasher tablets up to fit in the machine, the dining chairs faux leather were so worn that patches of the faux leather were missing. The whole apartment was worn and tired. The bar and restaurant which is situated in the main hall was just as bad, on arrival we thought we would get some lunch I had to go looking for a member of staff to serve us, we ordered lunch which was good, all the coasters on the table were worn and some had been scribbled on, one of them had jam on so I placed this on the radiator 3 days later it was still there. We asked to book for our evening meal and was told they hadn't done the bookings yet for that evening err this was 3pm, we were eventually told they could squeeze us in at 7.45, when we went for dinner there were only two other parties in ? Overall the food was not bad but the staff who run the restaurant looked like university students who didn't have a clue, we were never approached or acknowledged by them when entering the bar area they would be standing chatting to each other, one of them who came to take our order asked if we had come to our conclusion ??? We booked out a day early and went to reception to pay our bill, we were told there was nothing to pay ?? We had eaten 3 times and had drinks, they had to go searching for the bills buy could only find two. Its such a shame as the grounds are lovely. It is the worst place we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we regret to read that you were disappointed with your stay.
The adapted apartments are used as part of the everyday inventory and are allocated as normal to our guests. We do apologise if this caused you any inconvenience during your stay with us.
We are currently going under a refurbishment program in order to ensure all of our apartments are up to the same standard, as we hope you can understand, takes time and expense to complete – all our resorts operate in this way. Due to the popularity of the resort it is not possible to only make refurbished accommodation available for occupation and, until such time that the refurbishment programme is complete, all apartments will continue to be occupied on a weekly basis by members and guests alike. However, all accommodation, whether refurbished or un-refurbished, should be serviced to our high standards and minor maintenance issues attended to as appropriate, and we would apologise for any oversights in this respect.
We would always urge our guests to report any problems with our reception team as soon as possible this way we can get issues addressed on site and ensure that you can continue having the great stay with us.
Our restaurant is franchised so we will be sure to pass your comments to our food and beverage operator who will address your comments with regards to the staff. We are very sorry to read of your disappointed with this.
We do hope you will come back and stay with us so we can gain your trust again, we do however wish you all the best with your future Vacations.
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked one night and stayed in the main building (the dalton suite). Two bedroom apartment equipped with everything you need from a self catering apartment. Very clean set on two levels with living area, dining area, kitchen and two bathrooms. Very clean, good beds, great mixture of old and modern furniture. It was so nice we booked a second night. We had to move because our apartment was booked for the second night so we moved to a newer apartment on the other side of the complex (apartment 21) this time a one bedroom but just as good! Quiet, set in the beautiful woodlands of the grounds. We didn't use the leisure centre but loved walking around the grounds feeding the ducks and playing on the children's park area. I would definitely recommend this place for a lovely weekend away

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljm81x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a great stay with us.
We are glad you were able to take in the countryside we have to offer and the ducks that always return to us at Thurnham.
We pride ourselves on excellent service so we are thrilled you received a great level of customer services.
We hope you will come and visit us again.
Rosario Seabra
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Arrived at Thurnam Hall on Saturday 17th May with my 16 year old daughter and her 3 friends. This was a Birthday treat and we were all going out into Lancaster to the theatre in the evening so decided to make a mini break out of the occasion.
Arrived in beautiful sunshine but room not ready until 4.00pm. As it states this in the booking conditions that was to be expected.
Having read all the reviews on Tripadvisor and other sites, I was expecting a modern, clean apartment. We were allocated Apartment 21. On entering, it became clear that the interior was in need of modernisation. Kitchen outdated and water pressure in sink very low. all windows very dirty with bird muck not cleaned off windows and lots of cobwebs. there were two bathrooms, one suitable for "persons with reduced mobility" and one ensuite. Both very outdated, not at all like the pictures on the website. Again the water pressure (toilet flush included) very poor. On showering, the hot / cold water very unpreditable. The interior of the apartment smelt very "musty", not at pleasant. The patio area was cover in "Duck poo" and looked tired and shabby which was a shame as weather was lovely and would have loved to have sat outside. It was also a public walk way area so no privacy with other quests walking along path/patio area frequently.

I had booked two nights as the check out time of ten oclock the following morning would have meant that we were unable to fully appreciate the facilities on offer. We left about 4pm on the Sunday afternoon so did not infact stay for two full nights.

On the plus side, the main hall was lovely and the girls all went for afternoon tea on Sunday, very resonably priced and well presented.

Reception - check in / check out, no problems, friendly and helpful

Leisure facilites - The girls enjoyed the pool.

Close proximaty to Lancaster Town Centre, some lovely local pubs / walks etc...

I was so dissapointed with the accommodation as i was thinking about returning with my partner for my 50th Birthday but am in two minds.

Please note that this is just my opinion / experience. It looks like lots of folk have experienced excellent accommodation so dont let this put you off, just avoid Apartment 21 if you can!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacb492014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the standard of your accommodation. Please be assured that this experience does not reflect the standards of service excellence we strive for and should you have reported this to the reception they would certainly try to address any issues to your satisfaction. We really hope that this did not mar your stay here and has not dissuaded you from coming back. We wish you all the best on your future travels!

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Came here for my Sons wedding. The food was lovely and all the staff were professional and caring. A large number of the party stayed overnight in several rooms. The apartments were very large, clean and well equipped you couldn't fault them the setting was also beautiful. Check in was quick and well explained by friendly courteous staff. However do be careful when booking, one member of our party booked for the wrong night, she immediately realized her mistake and called straight back. They refused to change or refund the booking, this was booked through Diamond Resorts the outcome was very disappointing considering the amount of business that we gave to this hotel. Other than that I would recommend Thurnham Hall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are delighted and honoured that your son chose our resort as the perfect setting for one of the most important days in his life and we are thrilled that we contributed to making this special occasion even more magical. Thank you for yur kind comments

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Terrible customer service! Accidentally booked a room for the wrong night, rang up within 6 minutes of making the booking to try and amend it however the customer services refuse to change or refund the booking as they claim they could have booked the room out to someone else..... Within 6 minutes?? Disgraceful!!! 0% customer care.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fathadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are so sorry to read that you experienced issues making your boking. Regretfully, we do not have a ‘grace period’ for non-refundable hotel reservations and therefore we always stress that should guests wish to go for this option, it is imperative that they ensure the details of their booking are correct. We are sorry if you are disappointed with regards to this and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Rosario Seabra
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
2.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,339 reviews
19.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
21.9 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Property: Thurnham Hall
Address: Thurnham Hall, Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurnham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing