We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Hacienda Guayabal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinchina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Guayabal
Ranked #1 of 4 Chinchina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Hacienda Guaybal and had the most fabulous experience.

We were looking for a personable experience staying on a Colombian coffee farm. From the moment we arrived and also at first contact via email the staff were friendly and attentive and made us feel very welcome.

We had a splendid lunch and booked to do the coffee tour in the afternoon. Our young guide Jhonathan was absolutely fabulous and considering we were a group of Australian and French he did very well at explaining the process of the 'magic from the grain to the cup'. We learn't a lot and he was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide who made every effort to ensure we understood the process. Thanks Jhonathan.

We had an amazing dinner, a fabulous sleep in our comfortable room with wonderful views and awoke to a big breakfast. The owners are also very hepful when it comes to arranging to arrive and helping you with travel to your next destination. Arriving from Manizales and travelling to Salento was stress free due to the helpful advice from staff at Hacienda Guaybal.

We hope to visit again! xo

Room Tip: Corner room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sus0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Guayabal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights at hacienda Guayabal, and had an absolutely amazing time. It was even better than what we hoped for.

- The best coffe I have ever tasted (and I drink a lot of coffe...)
- very tasty and plenty food
- the coffe tour was very interesting and we learned a lot
- family owned farm
- they produce the coffe in a highly natural and sustainable process
- it was an excellent place to stay and relax- we felt like being at "home"- the family was so nice to us, and we felt so welcome and taken care of.
- excellent service

We would highly recommend staying at hacienda Guayabal (or just coffe tour and lunch if you don't have time to stay overnight).

Big thanks to Jorge, his sister, mother, and the rest for giving us some amazing countryside coffe days at your hacienda! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanodilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I spend 4 weeks traveling around Colombia this summer (2014) and were planning to spend just two nights here. But once we got there we could not leave! Not only was the Hacienda amazingly beautiful, the staff friendly and accommodating, the food amazing, and the coffee incredible, but the family was warm, sincere and welcoming. When I arrived my camera had stopped working. I inquired about buying one in a nearby town and Jorge helped me find one online in my price range. His mother went and picked it up for me that same day! 5 days later we had to force ourselves to leave! If you are planning a trip to Colombia, definitely schedule in time to visit the Hacienda. Even if you are not a fan of Coffee, the serene country offers ample time for relaxing, bird watching or just laying by the pool. We traveled all along the Caribbean coast, to Bogota, Manizales and Medellin, and this place was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnaRoseCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are driving a motor home across south america headed north. Entered Colombia's coffee zone and stopped for a tour on the hacienda plantation. The place is the garden of eden, green and peaceful. After a very interesting tour of the grounds, learning about the coffee growing and processing, we stayed for lunch coffee and and lovely swimming pool. The hosts were so great and helpful, offering information and great coffee, we decided to stay the night! What a treat! Loved every moment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ilan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The people were absolutely amazing, the food delicious, the coffee tour was exciting and educational. Jorge and its family made us feel home. We have even met Jorge again some days later in the Caribbean coast. Perfect spot to relax and inhale coffee spirit. Also good for a day trip to Santa Rosa hot springs.

Thanks again very much to Jorge and the family for all the hospitality.

Martin & Daniela

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I were in Manezales visiting an aunt when we decided to take a trip to the hacienda. The website provided perfect instructions on how to get there and it is just about 20-30 minutes away. We were greeting with kindness and hospitality from the moment we opened the taxi door!! The accommodations were very clean and pleasant. The staff waited on our every need and even anticipated what we would want before even thought about it. We were treated as though we were in a 5 star hotel but with the friendliness of family.. We have a much greater respect for Colombian coffee now after the wonderful tour that taught us all about the coffee growing, harvesting and preparing process. The food at their restaurant was wonderful as well! For breakfast we were greeted with fresh fruit, yogurt and oats, eggs made to order and arepas. The coffee was delicious of course(worth the trip by itself)!! Lunch and dinner were both a nice treat away from the Colombian standards of no vegetables and many starches. Instead we had a robust and tasty salad, followed by meat cooked to order and a nice little desert. Bird watchers will be in heaven here. We saw so many new things and beautiful sites. Whole package is wonderful, prices are reasonable too! Thank you Hacienda Guayabal staff we hope our travels bring us back to visit you some day!! Julio & Jessie

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JulioyJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the guided tour a lot, learned so much about how to grow, roast, gribd and brew coffee.

The lunch we had was delicious and all throughout our stay we were surrounded by oh so friendly people.

We only wish we had realized that we could have stayed thw night in the beautiful and peacefull surroundings.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thorbenkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinchina
3.8 mi away
Hotel Finca del Cafe
Hotel Finca del Cafe
#1 of 8 in Santa Rosa de Cabal
69 reviews
22.5 mi away
Bosques Del Saman - Alcala
22.1 mi away
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal - Hotel
Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal - H...
#2 of 8 in Santa Rosa de Cabal
307 reviews
12.5 mi away
La Colina Hotel Spa
La Colina Hotel Spa
#3 of 30 in Pereira
188 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hacienda Venecia Coffee Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guayabal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guayabal

Address: | Km 3 From Chichina to Pereira, Chinchina 010, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Caldas Department > Chinchina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chinchina
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have coffee plantation, and tours every days. This place is just kick back and be pampered, by all means come here. You will be glad you did. The upper floor has a large wide full length balcony/walkway that has chairs & small tables for sitting, relaxing, playing cards, etc. Overall very comfortable and very quiet. There are a myriad of tropical birds about as well, which always is a plus in my mind. The pool is also a refreshing way to finish off a day...or maybe even start one. The views are beautiful, as you can see 360 degrees of rolling hills in the foreground as well as mountains in the background. Many different shades of green, punctuated with varying colors from the many types of flowering tropical plants that also call this place home. Is the paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guayabal Colombia/Chinchina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing