We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
364
17
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
17
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin bayother guestsbocas del torocacao farmbreakfast and dinnerday tripget awaysunrise roompaddle boardssecret spotboat ridezapatilla islandbocas areafishgranolaour honeymoonsnorkeling spots
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We spent a week at Dolphin Bay Hideaway and we had, by far, the best Dolphin Bay local experience. We stayed on The Bay Room, one of their biggest rooms. The room was very clean and comfortable. I (Pilar) do not like bugs but they love me. I can certainly say there were no bugs in the room. The food cooked by their local staff was phenomenal. Brian and Amy took us out to one of their favorite snorkeling spots and had a blast. We went out to eat at "No Name Bar and Grill", a local family-run restaurant, we will highly recommend it. Amy ordered for us the chef's sample plate and it was outstanding!. If ever in that part of the world check this place out its all worth it. Saludos, Jeff & Pilar

Room Tip: We like the Bay Room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Treetopflyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you Jeff and Pilar for this great review. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and we are so happy the Hideaway is the best...by far... experience for you both!! Really helpful information on the bugs for others - they are around the property but we make a lot of efforts to minimize any impact on guests. Of course the kitchen team is extra happy you enjoyed the fantastic food and yes, the nearby "No Name Bar and Grill" is coming up to speed and providing awesome lunch options for guests on Fridays and Saturdays. We do hope you come back to visit us again. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Our family were on Holiday for a month in Panama and Costa Rica. We stayed at Dolphin Bay for 3 days between the 14th and 17th August. My wife and I have two daughters aged 7 and 5.

Here's what Amelie the eldest had to say -

I really liked snorkelling with you, Brian. You showed me sea urchins, starfish, a sea cucumber that looked like a giant poo and felt really soft and smooth, an enormous sea snail as big as a human's head. Also, it was awesome that you could push around a jellyfish with your finger. I also loved it when we went from island to island snorkelling with Natalie. I also loved your swimming pool because it was right next to the ocean and it had a beautiful view of the bay. You were really generous in letting us choose our rooms. Thank you for a lovely time from Amelie.

Here's what Ava had to say -

I really liked it when we went down by the boat dock at night with my Dad and he showed me and my Sister the Bioluminescence. When we went kayaking I was in the kayak with my Dad but I did most of the kayaking by myself. This is the second time I've been kayaking and the first time doing it in the sea. We saw a man who lived in the mangroves and he was making a dugout canoe from a tree. We saw the hummingbirds on the veranda and I liked looking at them with your binoculars. I saw mountains in the distance because of the binoculars. You showed me starfish with prickles sticking out. Thank you for a lovely time at your place from Ava. The end.

My wife and I are keen travellers and we've experienced many a wonderful location. Dolphin Bay is one of our favourites. This was the first time the children have been fully involved in the outdoor activities we enjoy, and they loved it.

The bay itself is sheltered by mangroves so the sea is calm making the mixture of kids and kayaks safe. We saw members of the Dolphin pod two or three times a day. In addition to the wildlife, we met some interesting characters in the bay, maybe attracted by the fact it's a little off the beaten track.

On one snorkel trip in the bay, Brian snorkelled with the children and I went off on my own. Around the far side of an islet, I came upon a colony of perhaps sixty or seventy frigate birds roosting in the mangroves. One by one they grew nervous of my presence and took to the sky. I just lay there for ten minutes floating peacefully on my back watching them circle just above me.

Ava swam poorly and wouldn't swim out of her depth when we left England. At Dolphin Bay she'd snorkelled with a life jacket. By the time we got to the end of our holiday in the Pearl Islands our whole family could go out snorkelling together, no life jackets, the children snorkelling like they were playing in the park. Thanks Brian for your contribution to opening their eyes and growing their confidence.

Amy's food was some of the most delicious we had in the month we were away. The children became very fond of Brian in the short time we were there.

Thanks, Brian and Amy for being such good hosts.

Marvelous.

Keith and Fabienne

Room Tip: The room Top floor with Veranda
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Keith_Fabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you Keith, Fabienne, Amelie and Ava for this creative and very descriptive 360 degree family review. We miss all of you. So much great detail for any other family interested in visiting us. We love that the girls gained confidence and were so involved in the outdoor adventures, which is why so many families are choosing to go off the beaten path for authentic experiences. You are awesome parents to show them another part of the world and very different living conditions. To be considered one of your all time favorite locations means a lot to all of us here at the Hideaway. Everybody works hard to ensure exactly that type of reaction to the food, the accommodation, the environment and the activities. It was truly a pleasure to meet you all and we do hope you think of us for a return if family adventures bring you to this small corner of the world. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Dolphinbay very much! Our children spent a lot of time playing in the water and we felt like at home, Amy and Brian are perfect hosts and very accomodating with our little ones! I would recommend this place for families and couples looking for a fun and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacao_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

As likely the foremost experts on Bocas lodging, we highly value your feedback. The fact you chose and recommended Dolphin Bay Hideaway and posted this kind review is very much appreciated by the entire team here. You were great guests and given your hospitality knowledge and experience throughout the Bocas archipelago, we especially welcomed your input, advice and encouragement. You have a great family and we look forward to many return visits as you continue to grow your business in Panama and Bocas del Toro. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We've spent fantastic 3 nights at this small resort. Family owned and run by Brian and Amy, 2 wonderful hosts. Nice decorated rooms, great food, warm hospitality, family atmosphere. You even don't have to lock the doors of your room.What a great location, at the end of dolphin bay, and the name is so true, everyday we saw the great dolphins. In the morning, when we saw the Dolphins, the owner Brian immediately took us with his boat to spot the Dolphins from very close. This felt so nice. Our kids were also very excited. We joined a great snorkling tour, used the canoes and stand up paddle boats, and went to have lunch at the simple but great taco restaurant which we had to reach over the water. Amy and her staff prepares great meals and we really felt at home. We felt sad to leave. If one day we go back to Bocas, then for sure we sleep at Dolphin Bay Hideway again.
They do a great jo, and we can highly recommend them. So peaceful, just the water, the Dolphins and great people ! We slept in the Sunrise room, at the deck close to the sea, and this is gave wonderful views when waking up. Thanks Brian and Amy

Room Tip: all rooms are great, depends what you wish. We prefered the Sunrise
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

It was so enjoyable to have your family here. In just a few short days, you made all of us feel like your family! We truly value how fun, kind and generous you were with the entire team at the Hideaway. Dolphin watching is indeed a spectacular activity here and you all were fortunate to see abundant activity every single day! Absolutely, the food is a highlight here, so thanks for pointing out how good it is - the kitchen team works very hard, so your complimentary words are very welcome. We look forward to the day when you all come back and spend another awesome vacation at Dolphin Bay Hideaway. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this resort. We stayed in several great places in Panama but this was our favorite. Brian and Amy are so accommodating. This resort is private and off the beaten path. It is away from the noise and party scene of Bocas Town. The resort itself is relaxing with hammocks, a small soaking pool, kayaks, stand up paddle boards and a canoe. If you are interested in other excursions, many are available at a reasonable price. We went to Zapatilla beach and went snorkeling on the way there. We also kayaked over to a small restaurant for lunch 1 day. Another day we went on a short kayak tour through the mangroves to see a sloth. The food was cooked on sight by Amy and her kitchen staff. The food was amazing! Some of our meals included jack fish ( a local fish), red snapper, grilled chicken, mashed potatoes, salad and sometimes a taste of some traditional Panamanian food. We all enjoyed the meals. It's a great values since breakfast and supper is included. When we went snorkeling, they packed a light lunch for a small cost. Also sent a cooler of beverages. Beer, wine and drinks were reasonably priced. The service was fantastic. Who doesn't like to be served a sangria while lounging in the hammock. All the rooms are nice. There are only 5 rooms ( I think), so there are only a small number of guests at any time. I think the rooms away from the main dining room are a little nicer but I would be happy in any of them. Thanks Brian and Amy for your hospitality!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we are so glad to hear we were your favorite place in all of Panama! For guests like you both, searching for tranquility in a natural environment off the beaten path, we are pleased to deliver on your expectations. The kitchen team especially enjoys your feedback on their efforts - amazing and a great value. It is not easy away from Bocas to run a fantastic kitchen, but the team works at it every day. It was fun to host you both from the awesome State of Iowa and we do hope you will consider another visit to the Hideaway. It was very rewarding to meet you both and thanks for coming. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews