We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtara Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We returned to this wonderful place to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, having discovered Ardtara 18 months ago. You are just made to feel so special by Valerie and her superb staff. The rooms are Victorian in style and each has its own fireplace which just adds to the overall charm. On top of this the food is also excellent . What more could you ask for for a totally relaxing couple of days,
Trip Advisor member Bangor Northern Ireland

  • Liked — The personal attention
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    39
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
44
164
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2007

Stayed at Ardtara with friends and family. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff does everything possible to make sure you get the most out of your stay. The food is to die for with an exceptional wine list. My favorite memory is hanging out in the lounge after dinner have a lively chat with new British friends and then being dragged out to local pubs to tie one on

. Go there and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Fahhhh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtownabbey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2007

Stayed one night for our wedding anniversary, rooms were lovely and spacious, staff were were brillant and the food was fantastic

  • Liked — spacious and romantic
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank thegannett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2006

We spent one night here for a wedding anniversary and loved it. Superb Modern cuisine. Friendly staff and gorgeous rooms. A perfect getaway...

  • Liked — huge antique filled bedrooms
  • Disliked — no digital tv!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pico74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2005

I have stayed here on and off for the last 8 years and still use it as a "yardstick" for all other hotels that I stay in (I stay in different hotels at least 3 nights a week)
Nothing under the 150gbp comes close for hospitality and quaintness.
The restaraunt is amazing, they have had different chefs over the years but the quality always has been superb.
It is a very peacful retreat after a hard day on the road (yes I am a salesman).

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2004

Ardtara Country House is an oasis nestled between Belfast and Derry. The food is outstanding and the accommodation is luxurious. We felt pampered! Prices are very reasonable for such a high standard. As well as the elegant 19th century furnishings, we were amazed to find wireless internet service and excellent cappuccinos. Ardtara certainly provides the best of both worlds!

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperlands
22.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
11.5 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
8.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
18.7 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtara Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtara Country House

Property: Ardtara Country House
Address: 8 Gorteade Road, Upperlands BT46 5SA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Upperlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardtara Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Most Romantic Country House Of The Year” (AA Award). Ardtara is an elegantly restored 19th-century manor house, situated between Belfast and the Giant’s Causeway Coast. Once home to the Clark family, world-famous linen makers, Ardtara is now widely regarded as one of the finest country house hotels in Northern Ireland. The nine bedrooms are spacious with high ceilings, modern en-suite bathrooms, deluxe king-size beds, charming antiques and original grand (working) fireplaces. All set in the privacy and tranquility of eight wooded acres. Ardtara has also been selected as a “Fodor’s Choice” hotel, has Four Stars from the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and is a member of the Ireland’s prestigious Blue Book hotel guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ardtara Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtara Country House Hotel Upperlands
Ardtara Hotel Derry
Ardtara Country House Upperlands, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing