We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small changes would make such a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardtara Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small changes would make such a difference”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

2 night stay. Room on small side.. Furnishings cheap in bedroom with smell of cooking from kitchen below on both morning and evening of stay.. On plus side dinner was faultless from start to finish. Breakfast menu not extensive with no home baking or croissants which I would expect in a country house hotel!
Staff friendly..we enjoyed our stay. Would not go again unless I could be assured of better bedroom.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crowsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    39
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
168
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Booked the hotel at short notice, the drive up to the hotel is very pleasant with lots of rabbits in the grounds. We were greeted and the door and the check in was smooth and personal. The rooms are like a walk back in time reminiscent of a period drama. Our room had a canopy over the beed and fireplace, it was huge. The bathroom was well equipped. We booked the 5 course dinner package. The menu is not very extensive, about 4 or five different choices for starters and main course. The wine list was extensive. The restaurant is in an old billiards room with hunt scene on the walls. Service was excellent and we retired to the bar for coffee. Breakfast was ulster fry with a choice of cereal and fruit. A very relaxing stay and a great place to get away from it all in the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walferdange
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Ardtara is a nice place and the staff were friendly but I did not find that this place was of a standard that merits a bluebook status when one considers the high standards set by other such hotels throughout Ireland. The location is nice but nothing special. There is a housing estate a short walk outside the front of the hotel, whose grounds were small and you would have to drive if you wanted to stretch your legs in a pleasant setting so it isn't a place where you can simply leave the car for the weekend and enjoy the surroundings.
The house is nice. It maintains a vintage feel and has all the usual comforts blended in nicely but I couldn't help but feel that there was very little privacy and it couldn't be described as cosy. The dining room was very poor. The windows had no view giving the room a somewhat stuffy feel. It might be nice as a winter setting but I was very disappointed with this part of the hotel. The food was good, but nothing special.
The room was very dark and had a slightly ominous feel but it was very spacious. Again the view was to the back of the hotel, like the dining room, giving it that dark feeling.
This place may well appeal to others but having taken a risk on going somewhere new we thought it was a safe bet as it is listed in the bluebook which we have always found to have outstanding hotels listed. I was very disappointed and would not return, however I would like to say that the staff were very good. It just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyTheFish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Love Ardtara for a beautiful dining experience. Service, ambience and food all great. It's always a pleasure to eat. Have already booked again for this month. If you are in the area try it. Rooms look great but regrettably have never stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mise17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at Ardtara. We had a garden view room which was bright and comfortable. Dinner was among some of the best food we have ate. Enjoyed a good nights sleep and had a lovely breakfast. Overall our experience was good and we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank chrissieme13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We had mixed feelings after our stay at The Ardtara.  These mixed feelings were for a number of reasons. First, we arrived at the house and after ringing the doorbell 3-4 times and still no answer, we had to let ourselves in a back entrance. We then waited 5-10 minutes before a member of staff came to check us in. In her defence, there was a wedding on and they were busy, but I would suggest getting some extra cover or some sort of bell at the reception area as this happened a few times over the weekend and we even found ourselves letting other guests in over the weekend. We were shown to our lovely, spacious, well kitted out room which couldn't really be faulted. The only criticism we have was that the gas fire was out of action, this was a pity but we understand these things happen. We had read great reviews about the restaurant and were really excited to eat there. We were left feeling dissatisfied about the service and felt that the dinner menu was overpriced. Our starter and mains were good, unfortunately our sorbet was served before our starter but we think that was just a small school boy error from a junior server. The pannacotta was poor and the coffee wasn't great; tasted like Nescafé... However, my cheeseboard was really nice. What left a sour taste in our mouths was the poor service from the senior server; didn't bring a steak when asked and placed one dessert outside of the cutlery setting!? This sounds petty but we felt that other tables in the restaurant received preferential treatment throughout our meal. Our servers made little and sometimes no effort with us. The meal and a bottle of wine cost £100, a bit steep for what we received. The guest house was a bit frantic at times; children running through the halls and guests hanging around the foyer and playing the piano at midnight. Included in our deal was a breakfast- this was OK, nothing special and wasn't consistent each morning with our second morning being much better. The atmosphere in the breakfast room was dull- at little bit of music would significantly lift the ambience. this is a bit of am old person comment (and I'm 28!) but I think some lights from the car park to the house would be great- the pathway is dark and someone could easily fall. The house is beautiful, very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We just felt there was something lacking, the food isn't as great as we had hoped and at times there is a lack of staff around the reception area. 

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mareesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have just spent 2 relaxing nights at Ardtara Country House. The rooms were not only very spacious they had a lovely old world feel to them with beautiful furniture, traditional bathroom with a 4 legged bath and a cosy fire place which was heaven.

We had dinner in the main restaurant on one of the nights and I must say from start to finish it was one of the nicest meals we've had in a very long time. The food was excellent in fact. My only negative was that the room was probably a little too brightly lit which is only a minor point. The staff were attentive and friendly.

The Country House has a nice little drawing room where you can sit by the fire, read and have a drink.

Although the grounds ofthe property don't have walking tracks you can take a stroll down the street and you realise you're nestled in absolutely stunning countryside.

I do think it would have added to the cosy atmosphere if they'd had some nice classical music on in the background throughout the main areas just to add to the luxury feel but apart from that we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeHassanein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperlands
22.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,739 reviews
11.5 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,921 reviews
8.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
13.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
790 reviews
23.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtara Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtara Country House

Property: Ardtara Country House
Address: 8 Gorteade Road, Upperlands BT46 5SA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Upperlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upperlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardtara Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Most Romantic Country House Of The Year” (AA Award). Ardtara is an elegantly restored 19th-century manor house, situated between Belfast and the Giant’s Causeway Coast. Once home to the Clark family, world-famous linen makers, Ardtara is now widely regarded as one of the finest country house hotels in Northern Ireland. The nine bedrooms are spacious with high ceilings, modern en-suite bathrooms, deluxe king-size beds, charming antiques and original grand (working) fireplaces. All set in the privacy and tranquility of eight wooded acres. Ardtara has also been selected as a “Fodor’s Choice” hotel, has Four Stars from the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and is a member of the Ireland’s prestigious Blue Book hotel guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ardtara Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtara Country House Hotel Upperlands
Ardtara Hotel Derry
Ardtara Country House Upperlands, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing