We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
“Comfort in the jungle”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This place has it all - jungle and beach. The cabins are rustic yet luxurious. They offer the experience of staying in the middle of the jungle with comfort, safety and coziness. The service is exceptional, and the restaurant is top notch. Manzanillo is just a short beach stroll away where there is another great restaurant, Maxi's, on the beach. The resort offers many activities including the "Crazy Monkey" zip line tour, a series of eleven zip lines between platforms perched high up in the trees. From our room we were able to not only hear the distinctive roaring of the howler monkeys, but to also. see in the trees. There is not a better place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    43
    11
    20
    32
See reviews for
35
101
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

It's a long ride from San Jose, but that's all part of the experience of getting away from everything for however much time you have at this special ecolodge.
The kind, thoughtful staff. The romantic rooms. The beauty everywhere we looked.
I have seen many beaches, but none so lovely as the beach in front of Almonds and Corals.
Each morning, we were up with the monkeys, down to the sand to watch the sunrise, then ready for a hearty breakfast at the outdoor dining room. When it was time for lunch, we walked the 2 kilometers down the beach to the dusty town of Manzanillo for the best seafood on the coast. Back in time for the sunset and dinner. A perfect day. I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdipaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Almonds and Corals was a delight! Set in a rainforest, 2 minute stroll to the Caribean Sea,
friendly staff, all sorts of creatures and insects abound, I've never had an experience like it.
The restaurant menu is adequate, JC is a fabulous source of info about the animals and area, and a wonderful server as well (all the staff were great).
The only suggestions we had for the owner Marco, was a website that shows off the place a little better (and a list of amenities in room), and more places to hang clothes
and put belongings (a shelf or two would be nice). Not a place for those scared of bugs, or looking for a party every night. We had the place to ourselves for the first 3 days, which we loved. And the curtained toilet might make some people uncomfortable. It was like luxury camping... and that jacuzzi at the end of the day after a zipline or nature walk, heaven!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Almonds and Coral. The bungalows in the trees and the entire place gives anyone the most beautiful stay in the jungle. The howler monkeys greet you to each stunning day. And so your day begins and ends filled with animals and birds. The bungalows are lovely, hospitality galore and the service was truly wonderful Costa Rican style. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneGarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I was at this lodge three years ago and again this week. Two friends and I celebrated our 40th birthdays here. The staff member Alan Romero Solano's attention to every detail was most helpful in advance and provided us the necessary comfort that everything was taking care of, including all of our travel details to and from the lodge. Brenda at the reception was also most helful and outwardly warm. Dioniosio was an expert nature guide whos knowledge and patience really enhanced our understanding of the environment. We felt very comfortable with all of the staff including the guards and staff who drove us to the airport. We felt very safe. The food at the lodge was delicious and fresh.

The best part about the lodge is that it is in the rain forest and on the carribean coast. We heard howler monkeys regularly .

I'm already planning my third trip to this lodge with family members.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2010

I got to stay at Almonds for a couple nights and absolutely loved it!! There is nothing like being able to litterally go to sleep and wake up in the rainforest to all the sounds and smells of the wild. I loved the way the rooms are lifted off the ground to ensure that they dont take ground space away from the wildlife and that the walls allow the sounds to travel right through your room. Waking up to the sounds of the Howler monkeys in the morning cant be explained. I felt like the entire staff loved making your stay everything it could be and they were all so friendly. Being able to walk down to the beautiful beach is amazing and a site to see for yourself! you wont regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emu2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Almonds and Corals was the perfect winter getaway for us. It was truly set in nature and yet we had all the amenities of other resorts. It only took one night to get used to the wildlife serenading us. The room was comfortable. The food was great. The owners were extremely accessible and knowledgeable about the area. The beach was beautiful and private, yet only a short walk to Manzanillo, the local town. We had a couple of rainy days, so if you go in January pack some good books! I felt like Almonds and Corals gave us the feel of adventure and relaxation wrapped into one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arborview007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
674 reviews
16.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Property: Almonds and Corals Hotel
Address: Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing