We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for Adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place for Adventure!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I really felt like I was Tarzan's Jane being in this lodge. If you truly want that forest adventure, this is the place to stay! Monkeys for your alarm clock, and my room felt like I was up in a tree, but with all the hotel amenities! That jacuzzi felt perfect after a full day! Staff was fantastic and the food superb! They have the full package! I yelled out "AAAAHHHHHH" (Tarzan yell) on a zipline excursion surrounding the hotel! Great way to end my adventure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaQLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    43
    11
    20
    32
See reviews for
35
101
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Breathtaking, unexpected beautiful and romantic place to stay. After a long 5 hour drive we were welcomed by extremely nice staff. Our bungalow was soooooo pretty and perfect for us. Hence we were celebrating our honeymoon (Back in 2008)
I totally forgot the names of the people we got along with but they made our stay so much fun and magical. Even though we didn't have television or air conditioning it was a perfect experience. We enjoyed our stay even better that way. The spa was great too. I would love to go back and reminisce and enjoy the food, activities and the people. One day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayoroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Besides being woken up by howler monkeys, this place is very nice. The rooms are spacious and there is a hot tub in every room. There is wifi, for those who can't live without it. The dinning hall is beautiful and the drinks are delicious. Everyone is super nice there and the nearest town, Puerto Viejo, is only 10-15 min away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizmc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I was referred to AyC by a friend, and I am so glad I took her advise to go. It was such a unique experience staying in the jungle! The sounds that filled the night and the morning were awe inspiring.

When the jungle crept into my room uninvited in the form of ants (ick!), the staff took care of it right away. I think my new best friend is Angel in the restaurant. He told me about the "sloths' house" on the path, and when I reported back that I didn't find any, he dropped everything and walked down there with me to find some. And yup, they were there!

As much as I enjoyed the staff, I really appreciated the personal attention of the owner, Marco. He was so knowledgable, I loved talking with him about Tico culture and things to do in the area. He went the extra mile to make arrangements for a tour for my husband and me.

For a unique experience, I would heartily recommend almonds and corals!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We were surprised when we saw our accommodations, built on stilts, neatly tucked into the jungle. Each cottage was nicely outfitted with comfortable bedding and drapes. The walls are screen, so it can be noisy at night, but the noises are pleasant jungle sounds, so it's fine. Howler Monkeys are common overhead. Birding is wonderful here. There are lots of rules regarding use of water, so we were surprised to find a spa in each room. It didn't seem to fit into water conservation, so we never tried to use it. It takes a while for hot water to reach the room, but it does eventually. The dining room was large and the food quite good. Angel and Jesse made our bar and dining experiences enjoyable. There is a beach, but swimming is not allowed due to rip currents. Because of the location, on the Caribbean lowlands, it is quite hot and humid here.

Room Tip: I believe the cottages are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everglades National Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had lunch here and ziplined. The ziplining was pricey $100 for two of us, but the guides were safe and did a great job of pointing out animals and insects all over the place. The patio area (common area) is so beautiful and this was the quietest place we ever visited when on the Viejo strip. I can see why others might be frustrated with the rooms, as they are actually platform tents. So make sure your spouse and kids are okay with that.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was quite disappointed with the staff at this camping facility. It truly is a cool spot,adjacent to a beautiful stretch of beach. It is not, however,a hotel. It is a nice platform tent community. The tents are clean and the bed was fine. Two meals are included,but truly they are not edible. I have graceless to Central America for years, and no one should subject themselves to the blatant unsanitary conditions of this kitchen. Insects swarmed in much of the food. No misting,the maple syrup moved with termites swarming...even after being alerted, the staff did nothing. If this was advertised as a cheap place. I'd say there is plenty of good food surrounding the area. For the price, however, it is a very poor choice. Puerto Vision has much more to offer then this tent hotel...and by the way, that beach is totally accessible from the road...no need to stay there to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCLinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,465 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
16.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
171 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Property: Almonds and Corals Hotel
Address: Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing