We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We really loved our stay! It's peaceful and the landscape is stunning. The cottage was perfect, we were provided with everything we needed and the location is excellent. We stayed as a family with a young child and our son really enjoyed the surroundings: forest, sheep,... He was over the moon!
We visited Cardiff, Swansea & the Mumbles, caves, waterfalls,... There is so much to see & to do! It's the perfect place to choose!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We loved our stay in the Haffod y Wennol cottage. The surroundings are very quiet and peaceful, and the cottage itself is just perfect. It has everything you could possibly wish for during your holidays. For us it was the perfect starting point for our discovery of Wales. We visited Swansea, Cardiff, several waterfalls and castles. So much to see, so much to do! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreyaNopens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Have stayed at 2 of Rachel and David's cottages now a number of times and at all times of the year, short breaks and a week here and there. The setting is idyllic, very peaceful, the cottages are like a home from home but better. You are left alone (unless you need help!) The information folders in the cottages are very useful, beds are excellent, Wi-Fi is included and the TV's have been upgraded. It is a perfect location for visiting most of South Wales or just to sit and enjoy a glass of wine by your cottage. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulumell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our week at Plas Farm was a delight. We enjoyed the cozy cottage and found the well equipped kitchen very convenient, the beds, cozy and comfy, and the living room a perfect spot to relax, read, and listen to the patter of rain on the window. This is a great location for long walks and drives to wonderful natural and historic sites. The Bowens provided detailed information to pursue many avenues of interest which made for a terrific getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineEssexON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have been coming to Plas Farm every year now since 2007 and on a few occasions twice a year staying in the Ty Cerbyd cottage. The cottage is extremely comfortable, fully equipped and is like a home from home with everything you need. It is so peaceful and relaxing and the location of the farm is perfect as it seems you are miles away from everything yet only 5 minutes, by car, away from the lovely town of Pontardawe. We bring our dogs who just love going for walks in the woodland and exploring the surrounding countryside. The cottage has a lovely courtyard next to the stream running through the farm and it is a real treat watching the the wide varirty of wild birds which come and feed on a homemade platform hanging over the river. You can also get Buzzards and Red Kites flying over the woodland and farm which is really special. We highly recommend the cottages at Plas Farm The owners, Rachel and David are really really lovely people who make you feel welcome and are extremely helpful especially when you get a bat in your bedroom as we did once !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walescottages, Owner at Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thanks Helen for your kind comments! Yes - I remember the bat - I stubbed my toe trying to get it to fly out of the window!! Just in case any other readers are wondering - don't worry! It's only happened once in 16 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice short break in early April. Quiet location but within easy reach of local provision stores.
Spent a few days with the family and grandchildren on this sheep farm. Pleasant walks in the
area, as well as other interesting venues to visit..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Went with husb, and 2 children aged 10 and 6 and stayed in Y Stabl, mid April. It was great for outdoor play, little stream at the back of the cottage, walks, plenty of sheep and lambs (they were quiet at night, so easy to sleep). The accommodation was great: modern, fully equipped kitchen, for meals with ourselves and my parents (who stayed next door); cosy wood burner in the living room; four-poster bed in master bedroom; and a powerful, hot, shower. It was also fine for access to Swansea and the LC2 swimming, Waterfront Museum etc. and the Breacon Beacons, complete with Showcaves. Thanks to Rachel for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 003TJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontardawe
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
6.3 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
9.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
318 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
792 reviews
12.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages

Address: Plas Farm | Cilybebyll, Pontardawe SA8 3JQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontardawe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pontardawe
Price Range: £80 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages consist of four award-winning farm cottages situated on opposite sides of a courtyard on the historic Plas Cilybebyll Estate, which has a recorded history back to the 14th century. Picturesque, peaceful and cosy, the stone cottages are in a great location for exploring the South Wales cities of Swansea and Cardiff, the Gower Peninsula’s spectacular beaches and Brecon Beacons National Park. Private woodland walks with views. Tourist Board Accredited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages Pontardawe, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing