We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, great property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey F
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great property”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in the converted barn, very comfortable and and lots of space. The views are stunning and there's lots of outside areas for children to play, run around and explore. My sister and I even managed to run up the hill...well more of a mountain one evening - beautiful open countryside and great views. The downstairs bedroom and wet room worked well for my elderly parent and with no steps into the property and parking immediately outside it was perfect. There's so much to see and do in the area, we had a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
So good to hear that the property worked well for all the family. It really does have the feeling of space and the views are fabulous. Impressed that you managed to run to the hill, that is a good effort and worth it just for the views.
There is lots to see and do, from the Waterfall Walks, to the coast and the Brecon Beacons National Park has so much to offer.
Hope to welcome you back again soon
Regards
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage and location, fresh flowers, wine and biscuits on arrival, the owner was very helpful and friendly. The property was very clean and comfortable and plenty of parking space, large gardens and fields to walk our dog. Very peaceful and relaxing and just a short distance from the shops, we will definitely come back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you for the fabulous comments. The cottage really has a feeling of space and a chance to escape. Dogs are happy as there is room to explore and yet a short trip for the coast and maybe you tried the Waterfall walks, they are amazing and always a great photo opportunity. Especially where you can walk behind the falls.
Hope to welcome you back again
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay.”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage is in a wonderful location and looks beautiful on the pictures but thats where the good stops.

Electricity is coin operated so no coins - no heat - no light you get the picture. In all my travels around the globe I have never seen this kind of system used. For the price per night it felt like a scam.

The couch was clearly second hand and smelled, better word is wafted, of very significant body odor. Not baby fresh skin, but dirty grungy old man smell. Worse that a pair of week old gym socks left in the boot of a sun baked car.

The beds are catastrophically soft. It felt like you were going to sing to the depths of the Mariana Trench and keep going.

As you know Wales is very picturesque, but coming to the cottage in the evenings was a massive disappointment.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you for the feedback. We take all comments seriously and since your stay in April 2016 the property has been renovated and all of the issues you have mentioned have been resolved.
Regret that you encountered any problems and hope you would consider returning to Wales again soon. .
Regards
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lenorekyl...
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Family Accommodation”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A really comfortable house with everything we needed, a very warm welcome when we arrived wine, flowers and welsh cakes, what more can you ask? Very central for visiting attractions in South Wales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thank you for the lovely comments. The Swansea Valley is a hidden gem as it offers easy access to the Brecon Beacons, waterfall country and the Gower coastline.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage and we all like the home made Welsh cakes, as part of the welcome pack
Hope to welcome you back again soon
Suzanne - Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontardaw...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a lovely stay in Ysgbor Tawe. The cottage has been converted really nicely, is clean, has everything you need and the location is lovely. Once we'd booked the owner was easily contactable and lovely to deal with.
The patio at the back of the cottage was perfect for breakfast with a view and the kids loved running off down the field to explore.
We visited with our 3 young children and the layout of the cottage wasn't perfect for small kids - particularly if you might need to get up to see to them in the middle of the night - as there are staircases separating all the bedrooms so you can't be in a room directly next to them. Travel cot and stairgates were easily available in the cottage though so safety wasn't an issue. All the bedrooms are double beds and don't split to twin beds - ok for kids for a couple of nights but for a longer stay we would definitely book the next door cottage instead which I believe has a bunkbed room.
We have family in the area and these cottages will definitely be where we stay when we visit in future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thank you for booking with Best of Wales to stay at Ysgubor Tawe and your lovely comments. We will take all your comments on board, we are happy that you had a great time at this cottage with your family and that it has made you want to re-visit. We hope to speak to you soon. Ffion, Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing