We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of Oxwich Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the static caravans attached to the hotel for two nights as my husband was playing golf at pennard. They are described as luxurious caravans but I can assure you they are not. They are quite a few years old and a little tatty, but saying that they were clean and you had everything you would expect to be in a caravan. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and found nothing wrong with the breakfast....the sausages we had were the best and definitely not cheap! The hotel is undergoing some improvements and when these are completed the hotel will be stunning. As for the location, you can not beat it....it's AMAZING . We will definitely go back and maybe try a room in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank olwenwilliams99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Many thanks indeed for your review of your recent stay with us, and I am delighted to read that our staff were friendly and that you enjoyed the breakfast's each morning in the hotel itself.

We have an ongoing maintenance program throughout the hotel, cottage rooms, and static caravans, and we are certainly hoping to upgrade the static caravans by the end of 2015.

I am so glad you managed to managed to enjoy the local surroundings of Gower, as we really are lucky to be in such a spectacular location.

We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    278
    147
    78
    61
See reviews for
275
459
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Seems like this place can't quite decide what it wants to be. It obviously survives on weddings and the beach does provide a nice backdrop. Whilst it sells itself on glamour etc, it also clearly caters for the budget customer as it has a poorly screened clutch of old caravans presumably acting as budget or spill over accommodation. The room was tastefully decorated and the bathroom nicely appointed, though the TV was small and the furniture a little low rent for the room price. The service was just so-so, and breakfast was poor. The dining area seemed a bit tired and dirty in places. It's not worth what it charges and I think needs to decide what it is - a high end classy hotel in which case it needs an overhaul to justify the prices - or a more modest hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review of your stay here with us at Oxwich.

We are very sorry to hear that you had a unsatisfactory stay with us,and having read your comments, I have taken them on board, and would be happy to discuss the matters further if you should wish to. If so, please do not hesitate to contact either myself Jon Bishop or Operations Manager Sam Morris.

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Dog friendly...fabulous location practically on the beach, and in the foothills of some beautiful coastal walks...Good food, friendly staff....our only criticism is that some of the cottages are tiny...(no dogs stay in the hotel) so must stay in the cottages or caravans on the site. The Ivy cottage which has been refurbished is lovely. No wi-fi in tho.
I don't really understand the revival in roll top baths tho...OK they look great, but theres nowhere to put the soap! or the shampoo etc.
All in all we had a great stay there though!

Room Tip: If you aren't staying in the main hotel go for a ground floor room in one of the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynisL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review of your stay with us here at the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed the food, location and our friendly staff.

Thank you for your comments regarding some of the dog friendly rooms - we have a on-going maintenance program throughout the hotel and cottage rooms, and your remarks have been noted, so thank-you.

We do understand that not having WiFi in the cottage rooms is an inconvenience, however our guests are always welcome to use the lounge area at any time of the day or evening.

Many thanks again,

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The aspect and views from this hotel and in particular our hotel bedroom window were spectacular. Thats in keeping with the location of this hotel on the bay.We only stayed one night for a reunion gathering.
Its clearly an old hotel thats been added on to over time. We gather its benefitted from Wedding revenue and its got a very attractive function room. The check in was quirky. We did have a boutique(y) type room but it was the smallest of them all. A great sea view however.
All very comfortable but a little tired in parts.
The staff were incapable of delivering any wine choice from a wine list efficiently. This stems I would guess from no training. None of the girls hired knew the difference between a red or a white let alone a particualr variety.
The saving grace was the welsh charm however and a smile!
Our meal was bland ,unimpressive and of boil in the bag standard. Chips with rice? urgh!
Breakfasts were adequate. Having stayed in a Travellodge recently I have to say that the latter provided better breakfasts than the Oxwich Bay. We wouldnt rush back to this particular location. A classic British hotel thats independent and lacks sophisication through a lack of capital investment.

Room Tip: Try to get a boutique room thats named. Avoid the Cottage. Steep stairs to the rooms makes it a tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedorDead58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review of your stay here with us at Oxwich.

We are very sorry to hear that you had a unsatisfactory stay with us, however, I can assure you that we have an ongoing training program within the hotel for all staff whether it is on reception, food or on the bar.

Having read your comments, I have taken them on board, and would be happy to discuss the matters further if you should wish to. If so, please do not hesitate to contact either myself Jon Bishop or Operations Manager Sam Morris.

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was on a short walking holiday with friends and the Oxwich was a natural overnight stopping point. We stayed in the static caravans that the hotel uses as overflow accommodation as its a very popular venue for weddings and the main building is often full in the spring. The caravans were well used and a bit tatty but the bedding etc was clean and fresh and as a bed for the night is was adequate for us. The real gem was the dinner we had; an excellent meal with great attentive service and a good although limited wine list. As ours was a 50th birthday event, the high standard of the food and wine were much appreciated. Unfortunately the breakfast dod not live up to the same high standard and was very like a greasy spoon; the breakfast buffet was toast and cereal only and the cooked option had not has the attention of that the previous evening's dinner. The bacon was soggy, the sausage and beans were the cheapest available and why use cheap packaged butter and jam I don't know.
That said, I would go back for the evening meal and the setting and just put up with the accommodation and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the caravans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening meal with us for the special 50th birthday - we are glad we could make it a memorable occasion.

Regarding breakfast, I have taken on board your comments, and I can only apologize that it did not live up to your supper the night before.

If you would like to discuss any of the above matters with us further, then please do not hesitate to contact us and either speak to myself or Operations Manager Sam Morris.

Kind regards, and thank you again,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I attended a family wedding at the Oxwich bay hotel in late april.The venue is ok, the food was very good. However a pint of lager cost £4.30,a vodka and coke was £4.90 and a glass of coke approx £2.30-what a rip off.I will never go there again.

Room Tip: No tips as i did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prescelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review, and I am terribly sorry to hear that you thought the alcoholic drinks were overpriced.

Here at Oxwich, we have a responsible drinking policy, as we are not just a bar but a hotel with residents.

We thank you very much indeed for your comments which have definitely been noted, however if you would like to discuss the above further then please call and ask for either myself Jon Bishop or Sam Morris.

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We attended a wedding at the Oxwich Bay Hotel last month and the room in which it was held was so atmospheric, and unique. The staff were helpful and friendly, with everything beautifully organised. As a wedding venue it was amazing. It is a hotel right on the edge of what has been acknowledged as one of the best beaches in the UK. As such it wasn't surprising that the prices were a little more than you would pay at an inland, viewless hotel or inn. Someone has to pay for this awe inspiring location - a hotel in substantial grounds on a superb beach!
The food that we had was off the menu and was well prepared, well presented, hot and tasty. The beers included the usual as well as real ales from a local brewery.

Room Tip: The Oxwich room is the best - the one that most honeymooners use, with superb views over the interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2wit2Huw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review of a wedding you attended here, at the hotel. The Chestnut room is very popular, due to its unique Black Poplar tree being the main center piece for the wedding - it certainly is a talking point.

We are delighted that you found our staff so helpful, and that our food and beer contributed to a memorable day for everyone involved.

Please do come back and visit us again soon,

Kind regards and thank you again,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
10.2 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxwich Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Property: Oxwich Bay Hotel
Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxwich Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oxwich Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Oxwich Bay Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing