We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal on the bay!”
Review of Oxwich Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good meal on the bay!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the hotel for a dinner treat as we were camping up at Greenways at the top of the hill. The staff were really nice and pleasant to us even though we were in wellie boots and coats because of the rain!
We had food from the light bites/traditional menu. It was pretty good, choosing the fish and chips was a good call. The burger looked good, the rabbit was a little boney but think that comes with the meal really.
Would recommend to people who visited the area and would go again :).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant here at Oxwich.

It is great to read that you were welcomed into our restaurant, with you welly's, and coats and I am so glad that the staff were attentive and helpful at all times.

The fish & chips is a good call, especially near the seaside, as we try and source our food as locally as possible.

I hope you will come back and visit us very soon,

Kind regards

Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    268
    139
    76
    59
See reviews for
263
443
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I'm sorry to say, but this was the low point of our recent holiday. If alternative accommodation had been available on arrival we would have taken literally anything else. This kind of accommodation gives British hotels a bad name and the hotel should be ashamed of itself for offering it as an option.
Having e-mailed the hotel about 6 months ago to secure a family room over the last week of summer holiday and being told that there were no rooms available, we were offered accommodation in one of the static caravans at the hotel. The price of the caravan was £80 per night including breakfast in the hotel. Having looked at the hotel on-line and seen the hotel advertising itself as a high quality establishment, we were assured.
On arrival at the accommodation we discovered a 10 year old static caravan that had not received much TLC over the years. Although the accommodation was clean, faults included : Ripped lino flooring in the living area, a double bed mattress that overhung the bed base by 4 inches each side - resulting in quite difficult sleeping without falling out, blocked shower tray, broken fixtures and fittings.
Additionally, although a lovely venue for weddings, the wedding discos run to 1am pretty regularly including one night of our stay, that together with a barking dog from the neighbouring caravan whose owners had left to enjoy the 'techno rave' nearby put the icing on our holiday cake.
In fairness to the holiday management, they did not argue with our complaints, but this place markets itself with reassuring statements such as 'The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special'.
As a family with 2 working parents, holiday times are precious and a quiet relaxing place to stay was promised and not delivered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of your holiday in one of our static caravans.

I can only apologise that you and your family were left so disappointed with your stay, and I do appreciate your comments, and photos, regarding the caravan itself – I will be examining the caravan in more detail over the next couple of days.

Since reading this I have spoken to my team on reception, and they assure me that they clearly sell our 10 static caravans as “basic, dated, but clean holiday homes” which include breakfast in the main hotel each morning. I am sorry if this is not what you were initially sold, and I have re-iterated this to them.

However, I am glad to read that the caravan was at least clean.

In the meantime, we are in the process of updating Beach Walk Parc.

If you would like to discuss anything further, then please do not hesitate to contact me on 01792 390329

Kind regards
Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night this week. It was a last minute decision and luckily they could fit all four of us, 2x adults 2 x children and Bert the spaniel.

We stayed in the Old School House which was a minimal haven. Huge double bed and bunks for the little people in their own room. Facilities excellent all through.

We eat at the hotel. Food fresh, local, plentiful and delicious. Service quick and helpful. The restaurant was stunning, candle lit and welcoming.

The hotel is on the bay... Stunning walks abound. Bert was welcomed warmly.

A superb experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review of your 1 night stay with us here at Oxwich.

From your comments I believe you were staying in Room 43 of The Old School House, which has a large lounge area and also a patio doors onto a small garden area which is perfect for our furry friends!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food, new chestnut lounge, and that the staff were helpful and attentive throughout your short stay.

I do hope you and your family, and of course Bert will come back again soon,

Kind regards

Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Four of us decided to visit The Gower Peninsula on 26/08/14 . We aimed for Worms Head , Rhossili. We stopped off at Oxwich on the way . It was lunchtime by now so we called in at The Oxwich Hotel . We were welcomed by smiling staff and as we could see the place was very full but this didn't put them off as they soon set up another table for us until a table was available in the restaurant. We didn't have to wait long and were allowed to order our meals. We were very well attended by smiling staff. The meals were excellent in very pleasant surroundings . Well done Oxwich Hotel and Thank You the very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ieuan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your lunch with us this week.

I am delighted to read that you were greeted by smiling staff, and that they were attentive throughout the whole of your time with us.

It is also pleasing to hear that your lunch was excellent - I will pass this onto our chefs.

I do hope you will come back and visit us again soon,

Kind regards

Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

visited for a friends wedding party and first impressions were of a lovely little hotel on a beautiful beach. ideal setting for a beach wedding. we were a little taken aback by the bar prices as £6.60 for a pint and a half is ludicrous for not very well kept doom bar and an average carling!! on top of this the barman tried to short-change me by a tenner,as when i queried my lack of change it mysteriously appeared from a place under the counter 2 feet from the till!! as it was a wedding party i didn't pursue with management but stopped using bar! however,the rooms were lovely and everyone enjoyed it is just annoying when drinks are overpriced for a captive audience and they try and rip you off. i hope the barman in question gets his just deserts.

Room Tip: check your change
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davehawyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped off for coffee and welsh cakes. Wedding was about to take place. Sat outside restaurant as not having lunch. Very good experience. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted. Understand has had a refurb and looks stunning......

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Very many thanks for your recent review, it is very kind.

I am glad you managed to enjoy the scenery whilst having a cream tea with us, we are very lucky to have such spectacular views just on our doorstop.

I do hope you will drop in again soon,

Kind regards

Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for my cousins wedding on friday of august bank holiday, The Hotel is in a Perfect position, you couldnt be closer to a beach i dont think!, The Hotel is very clean, the staff were very very helpful and nice, the day we had at the wedding was brilliant from start to finish, we were very lucky with the weather also, sunny all day! Which just made this venue even better because of its ace location right on oxwich beach.
The car parking is right outside and access to rooms etc is great.
Lovely Bar area, great outside seating, and the views are immense.
The Breakfast was great to, basically the staff will cater for whatever you ask for, im abit of a fussy eater so to have my bacon sandwich just as i like it was great, thankyou staff!
Just to finish off by saying i will definately without fail be returning again very soon, i only live nr Tenby so about an hour or so away on a good day.
Next time i will be bringing my kayak with me to use on the beach, and will book in for alot longer and go exploring the area, again the hotel is ideally positioned for this.

Thankyou oxwich bay hotel, very impressed, see you soon.
Dean.B.

p.s i would recommend hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The sea and beach facing rooms are Amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your recent review of your stay here at Oxwich, and the detail of your review.

It is so pleasing the read that our staff could not have been more helpful, and this was the same with the staff up in the Marquee reception - I will pass this onto them all.

I am also delighted to hear that the wedding was a great success, and that the sun shone for you - we are very lucky to have such spectacular views, and they are even better on a fine, Welsh, summers day.

Regarding your breakfast, which is included for all guests, - we always do try and cater as best we can for all dietary requirements, and I am glad we made your Bacon sandwich just as you requested!

I do hope you will all come back and visit us again soon - we have a lot of Autumn/Winter Offers on our website (www.oxwichbayhotel.co.uk).

Kind regards, and thank you again,

Sam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxwich Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Property: Oxwich Bay Hotel
Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Oxwich Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Oxwich Bay Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing