We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
72
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My husband, young child, and I stayed at Residence de la Cousiniere for three nights during our short stay in Guadeloupe. We found our cottage private, well-equipped, and a delightful mix of indoor/outdoor living. The proprietors were very accommodating, as we called to say we would be an hour later than we were expecting to be for our evening arrival and were told not to worry. When we did arrive, dinner was waiting, warm in the oven.

The dinner was large enough to feed us again the following night once we added rice. They even accommodated my daughter and I as vegetarians. The owners also provided a huge basket of fruit that had more than enough fruit in it for our entire stay. There were eggs, juice, and milk in the refrigerator, (and rum punch on the counter) and breakfast pastries were provided for the morning after our arrival. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of rum.

The cottage's living room and kitchen (which has everything you need to cook) are exposed to the outside behind a high fence, which affords you privacy. One can choose to close up the entire cottage, but we never did, as we enjoyed the indoor/outdoor living. The two bedrooms, water closet, and shower room were all indoors. There was a lovely hot tub as well.

The beautiful infinity pool is shared by all the guests, but we never found it crowded, and there is more than enough room for everyone. The set-up is ideal if you are traveling with young children, as the fence around the pool is secure, and the wading pool, ideal for little ones, is semi-separated from the main pool. Our daughter loved splashing there for hours on end!

The owner speaks very good English, although, since I am learning French she kindly communicated with me in French. She always responded to any enquiries very quickly.

It's a little over an hour from the airport, so coming in, we had to navigate the twisty roads in the dark, and and we had the 8 a.m. flight out on the day we left, so we had to leave very early (5 a.m.) for the airport.

In all, we would gladly return and we are happy to recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KLJ-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrigue valeri... R, Gérant at Residence de la Cousiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion, sorry for the response time.
Thank you again for coming to our structure.
We will receive you again with pleasure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Residence de la Cousiniere, one of the little gites on the jungle island of Basse Terre. The property was beautiful and well maintained, four private bungalows, a lounge, a little vegetable garden and the owners' home sit on the property. We stayed in the bungalow Terdeba which was perfect for two couples or a family who don't mind sharing a bathroom, which we certainly didn't. We also appreciated that the two bedrooms had individual air conditioning units. Our bungalow was well equipped with everything we might need from a laundry machine to charcoal starters to coffee. We also had a nice deck for sun bathing with a great grill which we used on more than one occasion and a hot tub which felt oh so good after our jungle hikes. One note to travelers, this gite is in the little town of Cousiniere, which is not really walkable to a beach, similar I think to many of the other gites on the island of Basse Terre. We had no trouble spending plenty of time on the many beaches of the island however as they were all easily accessible by a short drive in our car and are all public land on all of the islands of Guadeloupe.

When we arrived we were greeted by our hosts, Valerie and Rodrigue, who provided us with a delicious and complementary welcome dinner in our villa and breakfast the next morning, not to mention a big basket filled with all the delicious fruits of the island and some of their home made rum punch. We communicated with the hosts mainly via email during our stay and Valerie was always very quick to respond with answers to our questions or help with reservations. One night we asked where we might get some fish to grill and she and Rodrigue brought us an amazing spread of red snapper and fruit to grill for a small addition to our bill.

We were delighted with our stay and with our hosts at Residence de la Cousiniere and would recommend this lovely gite to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentlewoman-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrigue valeri... R, Gérant at Residence de la Cousiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your review that touch us a lot.
We are happy to read all your compliments and have contributed to the success of your holiday in Guadeloupe.
We were very happy to meet you and hope to see you soon.
Best regards
valérie et rodrigue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrigue valeri... R, Gérant at Residence de la Cousiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodrigue valeri... R, Gérant at Residence de la Cousiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews