We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b&b ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Such a lovely location no traffic noise just peace and quiet.Jayne meet us as we arrived such a lovely greeting tea and a piece of the best sponge cake ever.There is nothing too much trouble for Jayne and Chris,our room was spotless and clean and had all we needed.The breakfasts were perfectly cooked with fresh produce.We have just spent the week with them,Such good hosts and we are already planning when we will return to Hermitage court farm again,we have just arrived home today but miss it already. Vera & John(Colchester) xx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

A great place to stay on the Island. Surprisingly rural and peaceful, the farm has been completely refurbished and the rooms are finished to a high standard with modern fittings and the latest technology. The views are beautiful and panoramic across rolling countryside and on a clear day to the channel and beyond. Hospitality is second to none and the a la carte breakfast was a grand feast. The owners are friendly and approachable and have a huge mine of information about all things 'Wight' if you want it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AJ_SF_WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hermitage Court Farm, a remotely situated house with glorious views and walks from the doorstep. Jayne made us extremely welcome and our room was superbly comfortable and spotlessly clean - she added little finishing touches which made all the difference to the visit. The breakfasts were wonderful. The purpose of our visit was to attend a wedding nearby and Jayne helped us by arranging ferries and taxis and recommending local eateries, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Next time we will visit just to walk and relax and will of course book our accommodation at Hermitage Court Farm. Many thanks to Jayne and Chris for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a fantastic break at Heritage Court Farm. Our room was very comfortable with all that you need and Jayne and Chris were so welcoming, friendly and helpful with simple things like booking dinner reservations and checking ferry times. The breakfasts were superb and they were extremely accommodating of my whacky dietary requirements.
Will definitely be back. Was the perfect place to escape the stress of daily life and instantly unwind.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank L_and_F_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

There isn't much that I can add to the reviews Jayne and Chris have received. A pampered house guest sums up their approach, nothing is too much trouble, the breakfast is lovely, comfy beds, spotlessly clean rooms , fresh flowers and a slice of cake on arrival. Mini fridge in the room, full Sky package, wireless fast broadband, and at night perfect silence apart from the wind in the grass.

There is loads of wildlife, the hare makes a regular appearance during breakfast, birds of prey, footpaths in all directions yet it is within easy reach of all the main attractions on the island.

The new room and huge sundeck, available at all times, is a bonus but as much as anything its the family and the location that make this the best B&B - or indeed hotel we have ever stayed in.

Evening meals can be cooked if you wish, or a short drive to the White Hart will provide excellent fayre in a village inn setting.

If you are looking for a warm welcome, 5 star home comforts and the perfect rural setting with fantastic views and a central location, yet with complete tranquility in the heart of the countryside, you won't find a better place. Add to that excellent hosts and you have everything for a superb and restful holiday.

We have just returned from our 5th visit and plan our holidays round their availability as nowhere else can compete.

Room Tip: There are three rooms - all are excellent but the new one is superb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We are a couple in our 50’s and have long enjoyed the benefits of B&B accommodation. We generally find a few things that do not suit us but at Hermitage Court Farm we found everything to our liking. Our initial enquiry was answered promptly and warmly and Jayne provided lots of helpful information to help us plan our trip. When we arrived, following excellent instructions, we were greeted with a warm welcome and immediately felt as if we were visiting friends. From that moment until our final farewell we enjoyed very comfortable, friendly, informative and entertaining hospitality with Jayne and Chris. We both love walking so the peaceful secluded setting of Hermitage Court Farm was perfect as there are at least 3 walks directly from the front door so no driving or parking. There are many other walking routes in the area on which Jayne and Chris will happily advise you about and lend maps. Another bit of good advice was about shops. Jayne suggested we go to Chale Green stores for lunch on the Saturday we arrived and it was a delightful surprise, we had an excellent lunch and bought our sandwiches (and wine) there for the rest of the week. After walking for most of the day we like to relax in the evening and having delicious evening meals available on site was indeed a bonus, I think we almost sampled the entire menu during our stay! They also have a huge choice for breakfast, served in the breakfast room or in your own room and possibly, in the summer, on the new first floor roof decking! All in all this is definitely one of our favourites and we will be back. Jayne and Chris are lovely people and that’s what makes the difference.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely "Stenbury Room" but had a sneak preview of the new "Niton Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Everything about Hermitage Court is excellent!

Firstly the location is wonderfully remote and peaceful with glorious views - even as far as Chichester Cathedral. It's a distance up a roughish track, but the directions and signposting are very clear and it;s well worth the effort.

Then the welcome. Jayne met us before we'd reached the front door and within minutes we were enjoying freshly brewed coffee and tea with indulgent slices of homemade cake. Throughout our stay we were made to feel really comfortable and welcome. Our hosts offered excellent advice on visits, recommended a good pub for our evening meal (White Horse at Whitwell) and directed us on a wonderful local walk over St Catherine's Down that I would recommend to anyone.

The breakfast was delicious with a good choice and excellent quality sausages and bacon. Our room was spacious, well-appointed (Sky TV, tea, coffee, biscuits, chocolate) and spotlessly clean with a great view.

We had found it difficult to find anywhere to book online for a single night at the weekend - many B&Bs seem to have a minimum 2 nights rule - but Jayne and Chris were very happy to accommodate us for just one night. We had a busy couple of days on the island, but we certainly hope to return and have longer to relax in the wonderfully tranquil setting.

We would recommend the Hermitage Court to anyone wanting a peaceful, pampered break in a glorious setting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
326 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
5 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
404 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range: £83 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing