We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Court Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goldhanger, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Jayne and Chris are the most welcoming of hosts at this lovely house set deep in the countryside on the edge of St Catherine's Down with beautiful views over the nearby hills. The accommodation is excellent. Our room was a very good size with its own lounge and spacious modern en suite and ample wardrobe space. Breakfast leads nothing to be desired and leaves little room for lunch ! We look forward to returning. Thank you so much Jayne and Chris.

Chris and Jill

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
260
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I booked a night here for my parents 25th Anniversary. They absolutely loved it!! The room was spacious and very clean, the house itself is in a wonderful location - AMAZING views! and the hosts were very very nice!! They thoroughly enjoyed it there and would recommend it to anyone if you want a fab time away in the country! It was superb!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have just spent 5 nights at Hermitage Court Farm and what a lovely place it is. The bedroom was a very good size and so was the bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe space and lots of room to relax in. Jayne and Chris are lovely hosts, extremely helpful with information on the Island, We arrived to a nice cup of tea and piece of victoria sponge before being shown to our room, the dining room and the raised veranda which was available to guests.
A very quiet area with amazing views over the valley. Plenty of wildlife to watch, we saw a young kestrel which we named kevin, plenty of rabbits, sheep and badgers, so be careful when driving to/from the house.
Breakfast was outstanding, the fresh fruit salad was the best we had ever seen, and the full english set us up well for the day.
If we go back to the IOW would not hesitate to stay here again and perhaps make more use of the many walks in the area if the weather allows.

Room Tip: We went for the room with bath rather than shower and had to for go the view but could not fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank della w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just returned home after spending 3 nights at HCF. We heartily endorse every positive and complimentary remark made in previous reviews. Nothing negative to report at all!

This is the Guesthouse by which all others should be judged - not many would approach the standards set here.

Thank you,Jayne and Chris for such an enjoyable stay

Keith & Christine M

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 977krm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at Hermitage Court Farm. Chris and Jayne were such a friendly welcoming couple. The room was VERY clean and comfortable with en-suite shower room and Sky TV. Lovely large, fluffy towels in the en-suite. Don't be put off by the one track road and the distance from the main road, it is all part of the experience. Sooo quiet at night, no road noise - in fact no noise at all. Breakfast was wonderful and Jayne also did evening meals (though we didn't realise this until the last night).
We will definately go again and will be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at Hermitage Court Farm . The views are stunning and the loaction is very relaxing and peaceful. Jayne and Chris are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was exceptional. We cannot find any fault with this B&B and we highly recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Definitely the best site on the Island tucked in behind the pepperpot on St Catherine's down.
The accomodation is par excellent with stunning views all around. The breakfasts are the best we have ever eaten. Fantastic choice and pipping hot!! Jayne provides home cooked evening meals on request and these are top notch.

Room Tip: All accomodation is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.9 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.6 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing