We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and perfect peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and perfect peace”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Jayne and Chris have created a perfect hideaway for peace and quiet. The drive up the road to the farmhouse is not for the fainthearted and I would not like to attempt it in bad weather but it was well worth it for the stunning views from the house. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the large screen TV was a big plus point for my teenage son! Breakfast was freshly cooked and absolutely delicious. I had a long chat with Jayne and Chris afterwards and they made me feel very much at home. I will definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate55murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we hope you find your little hideaway here on the Isle of Wight soon.
Chris and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
283
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Myself and my wife Jan have not been to the IOW for over 20 years and wanted to return, and in doing so wanted to stay somewhere NICE and came across Hermitage Court Farm. How wrong was I. It was not nice it was absolutely stunning, brilliant, fabulous a real "Gem" of a find. When we started to go up the lane to HCF I started to wonder where on earth I was going but when we came into the open hills and saw HCF in the distance, both our mouths dropped in seeing the stunning views that was ahead and around us. The location in itself won us over, and it just got better. When I parked the car we were greeted with the most warmest and friendliest of greetings by Jayne. She took us to our room, which was the Niton Suite, and after we had settled in the greeting was extended to cake and coffee in the breakfast room. What about the cake? After the first bite I was drooling just like Homer Simpson. It was absolutely scrumptious. Our room was absolutely lovely, very clean, very bright, very comfortable, good amenities with stunning views to the front, side and back of our room (being nosey I did have a look at the room next to ours when the guests checked out and that room too was lovely. Hope you don't mind Jayne) Next the breakfast. It was to die for. It was nicely cooked and it is without doubt that the ingredients used are butcher and farm quality. I did ask Jayne where she got her sausages from and they come from a butcher in Bembridge, they are yummy and very meaty. It was at breakfast on our first morning that we met Chris and he too was like Jayne, lovely, friendly and someone that you take an instant liking to. It is without doubt that Jayne and Chris strive to make their guests feel welcome and to make sure that your stay is a good one. In fact I would say that their hosting skills to their guests are one of an exceptionally high standard and that nothing is too much for them in making their guests feel welcome. I will definitely be going back and I must apologize to all the other accommodation premises on the IOW, I have found my "Gem" and will be sticking to it. To Jayne and Chris, thank you for a lovely stay, thank you for your lovely hospitality and look forward to returning to HCF soon.

Room Tip: They are all nice. I would be happy to stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We returned to this Shangri-la and our expectations were once again met. Yet again on our arrival Jayne produced a piece of cream sponge cake that puts my efforts to shame, in fact I have told my husband that I shall no longer provide such cakes and he can take me to the Isle of Wight to get his 'fix' as often as he likes.
Our room was as beautiful as we remembered, and the bed just as comfortable. Even the weather was in our favour, and the views from our windows just as delightful as they were previously. The towels so thick and fluffy, even the bath robes are comfy.
Breakfast is 'to die for' and the service comes with genuine smiles from both Chris and Jayne. We resisted the temptation to 'eat in' our evening meal for the sake of my waistline, but the other 2 couples who ate in were very enthusiastic about their evening meal.
This is a B&B of very high standards ,very quiet and way off the beaten track but SO worth the journey.

Room Tip: have only twice stayed in the Niton Suite but peeped into the other rooms and they look just as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigletpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Having walked extensively on the island and sampled many places to stay this B&B extends the warmest welcome and is run by genuinely nice people. This is the second time I have visited during a walking trip with a good friend and we chose to return because the food (dinner and breakfast) is excellent, the beds are comfy and the rooms are equipped with every amenity, all delivered with a smile at a fair price. It's a little off the beaten track but well worth a visit. Go there!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have just returned from another fantastic stay with Jayne and Chris and can't wait to return. All the glowing reports about Hermitage Court Farm are so well deserved and staying here is something everyone should experience. There is a down side though, when you go and stay at any other bed and breakfast they'll never be as good!!

You really cannot fault this perfect little haven. Our favourite room is the Niton Suite and the double aspect views are amazing, unfortunately this room was not available this time but hopefully will be when we return, can't wait.

Now we've returned home we really miss the lovely meals that Jayne cooks so expertly and we certainly miss the wonderful sense of humour of Chris when he delivers them. Thank you to both Jayne and Chris for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

There is a kind of magical quality to the hosts, Jayne and Chris, the standard of the bed and breakfast and the setting with those magnificent views. You have to experience a stay here to fully appreciate what a gem this B&B really is.

It was our second visit this year and frankly we cannot wait to return again. We were not so lucky with the weather this time but Jayne was willing to prepare several evening meals for us and these were of equal quality to the excellent breakfasts. Nothing ever seems too much trouble, from the warm welcome with that cream sponge (worth going just for that!), the attention to detail and the willingness to ensure that our stay was very comfortable amid a friendly atmosphere.

We only returned home yesterday and this morning we missed the truly lovely fruit salad and the creamy porridge for breakfast. It really doesn't matter what you have, the food is always of the same very high standard.

The weather did not encourage the wildlife to make much of an appearance but we did manage to see several buzzards, red-legged partridges, kestrels and a great-spotted woodpecker. Look out for the badgers and red squirrels - we saw both in the immediate vacinity.

We are already planning our next visit and a very special thanks to both Jayne and Chris for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The new Niton room has a balcony with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This was our fourth time at the beautiful Hermitage Court Farm so it says something about the place! We just love the peace and the quiet a rarity in this day and age and just to look out of the bedroom window and see all the wildlife that appears on the lawn, on this visit we saw baby partridges strutting their stuff across the lawn, barn owl perched on his post, house martins and swifts just to name a few. Of course a special mention must be made to the hosts Jane and Chris who do a first class job and make sure you are comfortable in your surroundings. Yes we will be back, it is so hard to stay away! If you are looking for an oasis this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
322 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
348 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing