We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B Stay and Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Have always stayed in hotels or normally rented villas / houses as I prefer my own space and privacy this was my first B&B stay in 39 years and loved it.

The location and views were stunning, the Niton Suite was immaculate and well sized, the couple were great, very friendly indeed but left you to your own space if that's what you wanted.

Breakfast was cooked to order and very well cooked to be honest.

Have stayed at the top hotels in the Isle of Wight and to be honest think I'll be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilWelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Can't remember how many times we've stayed here, but there is nowhere else to stay on the island as far as we are concerned!..Jayne greeted us with a huge smile and a hug, and showed us to our rooms(there were 4 of us) 2 in the St Catherine's suite , beautiful room, huge bathroom and separate WC, Sky TV lots of cupboard space, comfy beds...fresh flowers, amazing biscuits, milk and water in the fridge and tea and coffee facilities....also immaculately clean. 2 upstairs in the Niton Suite, huge room with all the facilities already stated, a separate lounge room and huge bathroom and the whitest fluffiest towels ever!!! Jayne made us coffee and huge slices of gorgeous sponge cake ...a wonderful boost as we had been up since 4 am! Jayne and Chris treat you like true friends are very kind and accommodating and very generous with many thoughtful touches, such as a gift for Les as it was his birthday, water and biscuits replaced daily and even chocolates!!! Les bought his bike which Jayne stored in their barn and he enjoyed many a spectacular ride over the downs! We will be back again in May, can't wait.....the best place to stay on the Island run by the best hosts!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have sensational views over the Downs, I would also recommend Hermitage Court Farm to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank generallee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

It's always so lovely to have guests revisiting especially on special occasions. Chris and I are so glad Les finally got to enjoy his birthday on the Island. Next visit is in May when we hope you will both enjoy some good cycling trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We visited the Isle of Wight to see Osborne House. My wife and I picked Hermitage Court Farm because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
Jane welcomed us when we arrived and immediately made as feel at home. She made us tea and presented us with a delicious jam cream sponge cake.
The room we stayed in (The Niton Suite) had a separate sitting room and both rooms were spotless.
Chris (Jane's husband) gave us directions to Osborne House and arranged a dinner reservation at a local restaurant.
Nothing was too much trouble an we felt more like friends staying for the weekend rather than paying guests.
The breakfast was perfect (we are both vegetarians) and served in the dining room that has the most spectacular views over the green rolling hill of the Isle of Wight.
We will defiantly return when we visit the Isle of Wight next year and will tell our friends.

Room Tip: The Niton Suite has a private lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashandmeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Being greeted with a big smile and warm welcome made you realise that this weekend had already got off to a great start and was going to get better and better.

Located on the beautiful St Catherines Down with views across the island to the sea, you really could not ask for a more perfect location. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. There is a large modern TV and Sky if that is what you are after, tea, coffee a fridge, and yes the biscuits are lovely, (see previous posts)....however don't fill up on tea, coffee and biscuits as you will not have room for the incredible breakfast. We didn't feel like eating for virtually the whole day as we had pigged out in the morning, and we had been walking all day..

What really makes this BnB however is the great service. Jayne and Chris make you feel really welcome and really do all they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable, so much so that you feel really quite sad to leave.

Tip, walk to the top of St Catherines Down to the pepperpot. You are almost there so its not too far and the views...on a good day... would be/are incredible.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileybri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay both with us at Hermitage Court Farm and on the Island. The walk to the Pepper Pot is spectacular and we hope that on your next vist the weather will be a little kinder! For your weekend short break we are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities we provide here at Hermitage Court Farmhouse and look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed for two nights at Hermitage Court Farm in January. The welcome was warm and very easy, the accommodation was clean, well presented and outstanding in all ways. The breakfast was cooked to order, filling and of the highest quality. A special mention should be made of the Hosts who were friendly and incredibly knowledgeable about all aspects of the island. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Some wildlife on the access road (Badgers etc) so drive slowly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiltshirefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We chose Hermitage court for its close proximity to the Hermitage hotel where we were to attend a wedding. Jayne's greeted us and our friends on arrival . The house is in the most perfect location set high on a hillside with great views of island. On a crossroad of the island's footpaths, a perfect location for walkers , complete peace and tranquility . Chris & Jayne's pleasant hospitality could not have been bettered, wonderfully clean ,great food. PERFECT WEEKEND.

Swimming pool and fitness centre reviews are not applicable here.

Room Tip: TheFirst floor rooms that we had afford a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If we could have a second home then this would be it! Chris and Jayne are such wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble,
The rooms a spacious and absolutely immaculate - and has the BEST biscuits and choice of regular and herbal teas.
We cannot recommend Hermitage Court highly enough and will not stay anywhere else when we visit the Isle of Wight - we have been totally spoilt and wish that we could come everyday for breakfast - unfortunately we live just too far away!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
5.6 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
333 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
374 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
404 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range: £79 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing