We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay.....”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Chris and Jayne made our stay really relaxing. We arrived and were greeted with tea and delicious home made cake. Our room, the Niton suite was perfect. En-suite bathroom had an excellent powerful shower, best one so far! Sky tv, fridge,milk and tea. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice too. Managed to see two of the local badgers as well. If you want to unwind and de- stress then I wholeheartedly recommend Hermitage Court Farm..... You will not be disappointed.....many thanks chris and jay e for a lively stay......Stuart and Tricia.....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogle57London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
290
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Our second visit to HCF. Nothing has changed- Jayne and Chris , the perfect hosts , provide an unrivalled service. Spotless surroundings, great breakfasts, comfortable room.
This time we had extras! We arrived on the IoW on Monday 11th March, in a snowstorm! We managed to get halfway up the Hermitage Trail before the ice on the road brought us to a halt. Wheelspin, no further progress. Pulled into the side, contacted Jayne, who arranged for a friend to pick us up in his 4x4. Transferred our gear and carried on, where it became obvious our little Fiat could'nt have gone any further as the wind blown snow on the track was too deep. Arrived at HCF to the usual welcome of tea and Victoria sponge ( I dream of that Victoria sponge!)
Next morning, after Chris , Jayne and their sons had cleared a route out (over an adjacent field, as two abandoned 4x4's were blocking the last 300 yds of the approach track) Chris took us down to recover our car. But- another car from a near by hotel was stuck on the track! An hour or so later, after a local farmer had towed them out , we reached our car. From then on, Chris decided that we should park the car at the bottom of the track, and he would come down and pick us up. A sensible decision, and much appreciated by us.
On our last evening (Wednesday) we were able to get up the track as far as the nearby Hermitage Court Hotel, Chris was away dealing with another problem, so Ian, the hotel manager invited the Memsahib and self in for coffee while we waited. Much appreciated!
So, thank you,Chris and Jayne, for all your efforts, and Ian, for your consideration

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 977krm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

What a fantastic weekend! We stayed for two nights at Hermitage Court Farm and we were blown away.
From the moment we arrived Jayne and Chris made us feel welcome. Tea and cake was the first indication that we were in for something special.
Scrumtious jam cream sponge in the dinning room overlooking, what must be the most spectacular view we have seen. We were made to feel like old friends.
Our room was the Niton suite. Well what can I say. Spotless and large. We even had a private lounge area.
There was fresh milk in the fridge and a big flat screen TV with free! Sky movies and free wifi.
The farmhouse is on St Catherines ridge. We stepped out of the front door, walked round the house up onto the ridge and up to the old lighthouse.
You can see from one end of the Isle of Wight to the other. Breathtaking!
Jayne booked us a table at the local pub. Great meal. Huge portions though. I couldn't eat all my fish but I still had room for pudding.
There is always room for pudding. Jayne cooked a massive breakfast for us both mornings and Chris served it. What a great team they make.
We had not visited this part of the world before and we will be back for a summer break in July. I can't wait.
Pete and Di

Room Tip: Great Space in Niton Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hermitage Court Farm is possibly the best B and B we have ever stayed in! We were given the most lovely, warm welcome when we arrived, closely followed by a wonderful sponge cake and tea!
The house is gorgeous, beautifully appointed and immaculate throughout.The views are incredible and had it been warm enough weather we'd have spent all our time just drinking them in!
Our room was lovely, very comfortable bed and an awesome shower in the en-suite.
Jayne and Chris are the nicest hosts that we have met and we are now planning a return visit for out wedding anniversary, when we intend to stay longer and really enjoy this marvellous Isle of Wight gem!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - the Niton suite is the biggest with separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

What a gem. Jayne and Chris were the perfect hosts. Warm welcome with tea and the most delicious sponge cake on arrival. Rooms were spotless and beds extremely comfortable. Fantastic views especially from the dining room, we could have sat there all day just looking at it. Ideal spot if you like walking, just step out of the front door and you're on the Downs. The breakfast was very generous and beautifully cooked, it set us up for the day. Shame we couldn't stay longer but we will definitely return. Thoroughly deserving of all the other recommendations. Thank you both.
Karen and Jerry, Nailsea

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Have always stayed in hotels or normally rented villas / houses as I prefer my own space and privacy this was my first B&B stay in 39 years and loved it.

The location and views were stunning, the Niton Suite was immaculate and well sized, the couple were great, very friendly indeed but left you to your own space if that's what you wanted.

Breakfast was cooked to order and very well cooked to be honest.

Have stayed at the top hotels in the Isle of Wight and to be honest think I'll be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilWelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Can't remember how many times we've stayed here, but there is nowhere else to stay on the island as far as we are concerned!..Jayne greeted us with a huge smile and a hug, and showed us to our rooms(there were 4 of us) 2 in the St Catherine's suite , beautiful room, huge bathroom and separate WC, Sky TV lots of cupboard space, comfy beds...fresh flowers, amazing biscuits, milk and water in the fridge and tea and coffee facilities....also immaculately clean. 2 upstairs in the Niton Suite, huge room with all the facilities already stated, a separate lounge room and huge bathroom and the whitest fluffiest towels ever!!! Jayne made us coffee and huge slices of gorgeous sponge cake ...a wonderful boost as we had been up since 4 am! Jayne and Chris treat you like true friends are very kind and accommodating and very generous with many thoughtful touches, such as a gift for Les as it was his birthday, water and biscuits replaced daily and even chocolates!!! Les bought his bike which Jayne stored in their barn and he enjoyed many a spectacular ride over the downs! We will be back again in May, can't wait.....the best place to stay on the Island run by the best hosts!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have sensational views over the Downs, I would also recommend Hermitage Court Farm to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generallee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
It's always so lovely to have guests revisiting especially on special occasions. Chris and I are so glad Les finally got to enjoy his birthday on the Island. Next visit is in May when we hope you will both enjoy some good cycling trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
847 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
295 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
328 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Enchanted Manor
Enchanted Manor
#1 of 1 in Niton
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing