We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

As previous reviewers have mentioned, Jayne and Chris are the perfect hosts. They indeed do go the extra mile to make your stay that bit more memorable. The expected famous Victoria sponge and tea did not disappoint upon arrival and once we had been shown to the Niton Suite we knew this would be a fantastic stay. The room itself is immaculate, large, well decorated, has sky tv, a great bathroom with a powerful shower, a sitting room, and above all views out of the windows to die for. Bottled water and fresh milk are supplied in your personal fridge with all the tea and coffee you could ever need. Breakfast is just superb with a large variety to choose from and enough for any appetite. The location is exactly what we wanted, surrounded by just fields and the only noise you hear are sheep and birds. The mention of badgers to be seen was one of the reasons the Hermitage appealed to us (as well as all the glowing reviews), but knowing how elusive badgers are we were not fully expecting to see them, just hoping. We were fortunate that on 2 evenings one badger crossed the gravel road when driving back from our days out. I was even more fortunate than most. Later in the evening I quietly walked up the road to the badger crossing point and was 6 feet away from 2 munching away in the corn field. A quick shoe shuffle on the gravel and one flew past me and my camera grabbed some grainy late night shots. The next morning I even got a shot of a Red Squirrel. The added wildlife is a bonus on top of an amazing B&B in an even more amazing location run by 2 of the nicest, thoughtful and friendly hosts. You do indeed get what you pay for! My wife has already told me we are never staying anywhere else on the IOW.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinniWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review. With the great wildlife sightings around Hermitage Court Farm and visits around the Island we are so glad you both enjoyed your special anniversary break with us. Amazing picture of tea and cake - cant imagine how you took it!
Hope we see you on the Island again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
292
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It's always worth doing your home work, particularly when choosing a B & B and the Hermitage surpassed it's recent reviews. We will definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending Jayne & Chris's B & B to anyone who would like to visit the Island - both for business and pleasure! The location itself is outstanding and the scenic trek to it - much more exciting than being in the town. We intended to 'chill out' and we did!

Jayne & Chirs have got it right - they were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Catherine's Suite on the ground floor and actually, because it was very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It may be off the beaten track but the effort to get there is well worth it .If its peace and quiet you want this is the place.Very comfortable spacious rooms,excellent breakfasts and wonderful views plus Jayne and Chris who go the extra mile or two to make your stay memorable all adds up to somewhere very special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Chosing a b&b off the internet always carries a risk but this one was well worth it. At the end of a rough narrow track, there was the Hermitage Court Farm in a great location with splendid views.
Jayne and Chris Holmes made us feel most welcome (armed with tea and cake) and our room (the Niton suite) was all we could have wished for. The breakfast(s) was excellent especially Jaynes fruit salad and the bacon which was done exactly to my liking. In summary a great location, excellent room, good food and ideal hosts. Will go again.

Room Tip: The Niton suit has a great view with a nice lounge add-only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJW219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just stumbled upon this little gem as we were attending a wedding at the hotel nearby. Would never have found it otherwise tucked away in the downs. The room was lovely. Very spacious and clean. Jayne and Chris were perfect hosts and served up a wonderful breakfast. You would have to travel a very long way to find views to match. If you want a peaceful idyllic getaway this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you hate traffic noise, and other such 21st century annoyances, you will love this B&B, set well off the tarmac, amidst the rolling downland of the southern part of the Isle of Wight. As others have said, Jayne and Chris are perfect hosts, friendly, relaxed and helpful.

Room Tip: The weather was very hot during our stay, but our ground floor suite remained cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you want a quiet peaceful getaway with panoramic views of beautiful countryside landscape Hermitage ticks all the boxes. Jayne and Chris are wonderful hosts who take time to ensure your stay goes well, with helpful tips on local walks, places of interest and good places to eat. The breakfast is hearty, and yes the victoria sponge cake we were given on arrival helped us feel right at home. Quarr abbey is a lovely place to visit, the grounds are lovely and definitely worth a visit with a lovely farm shop, outside tea garden area and old ruins.

Rooms are modern, spacious and very clean.I would most definitely recommend

Room Tip: the Niton suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarlovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Enchanted Manor
Enchanted Manor
#1 of 1 in Niton
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing