We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you're looking for the jewel in the crown, Hermitage Court Farm is that jewel. Chris and Jayne were perfect hosts: friendly, caring and very informative. Our room ticked all our boxes: spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious, with lots of added extras to make it extremely special. The views of the countryside were stunning with plenty of walks leading from the front door; the only noises to be heard were those of the local wildlife. We particularly appreciated the fabulous guests' decking area where we could relax with a coffee or evening glass of wine. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for a day of sightseeing. We love the Isle of Wight and will definitely be returning to Hermitage Court Farm in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Sheltering behind St Catherines Down this lovely B&B is worth venturing down the winding country tracks to get there. The welcome (including Jayne's Victoria Sponge) is special, and both Jayne and Chris were ideal hosts and helped us get the best from our short stay on the island.
Breakfast will set you up for the day, cooked freshly from quality ingredients, and Jayne's recommendations for eating out were accurate and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay again if we returned to the I.OW.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1949DaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is very difficult to find anything good that is new to say about Hermitage Court Farm as everything good has been said several times over on all the previous reviews.
Hermitage Court Farm is approached by a very rough lane approximately a mile long. On our arrival Jayne was very welcoming and showed us to the Niton Suite. This has a large bedroom with a walk in wardrobe and a separate sitting room with a mini fridge stocked with water and fresh milk. A generous supply of tea & coffee is provided and fresh cookies placed in the room every day. It also has a spacious bathroom with a corner shower and everything was spotlessly clean. Although we watch TV very little when on holiday a personal preference for us would have been to have the TV in the sitting area where particularly in inclement weather it could be watched without sitting on the bed which was the only place it could be viewed from but others may prefer this. At the back is a large balcony that runs the length of the house and out front a patio sitting area. What is striking when sitting on the balcony is the total lack of any sound whatsoever, not even birds singing which is surprising given the number of trees at the back of the property. I did not sample the full breakfast but judging by what I did have I have no doubt that it would be excellent.
Jayne has a good knowledge of the places to eat in the surrounding area to drive to but in peak season even during the week it can be difficult to get a table but Jayne is always willing to make you a reservation. Apparently there is a walking track from the farm over the hill to Niton and the local pub but we geriatrics did not try this. We had a very pleasant stay and Jayne was a very friendly hostess without being intrusive.
There are two suggestions I would like to make but these were no real detriment to our stay. During the summer the maybe the heated towel rail could be put on for a couple of hours at some time during the day just to take the dampness off the towels. An occasional lamp be placed behind or at the side of the settee as it is quite dim to for reading when seated in the evening with the main light on there. We would like to thank Jayne for a lovely stay and great hospitality.
Hermitage Court Farm would easily achieve a high rating from the English Tourist Board or the AA if applied for but with all the reviews on Trip Advisor the ratings would hardly be necessary.

Tip for Satnav users
If your satnav attempts to take you down Gotten Lane in Chale to get to Hermitage Court do not go there. This peters out into a cart track to try and take you over the hill where there is no road to the farm but you have no option to go to the end before you can turn round. If it attempts to do this ignore it and carry on through Chale Green to Appleford Lane (not Upper Appleford Lane

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We've just returned home the Hermitage Court Farm B&B and wanted to say what a delightful stay we had. The fresh cream sponge cake and tea on arrival was very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. The room was spotlessly clean and I instantly relaxed. The view from the property and the surrounding area was amazing. It really is a place to go and recharge your batteries. Jayne and Chris are lovely people and really look after you. A massive "Thank you!" We will be back...

Room Tip: I looked at all rooms and they are spotless. They do have a room on the ground floor if stairs are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned home with our friends after a three night stay at the Hermitage Court Farm.Jayne and Chris gave us a warm welcome with the now famous Victoria Sponge cake and tea.Both of our rooms were spacious and spotless with magnificent views.Jayne cooked a lovely breakfast from a extensive menu and Chris was able to show his skills as a waiter and knowledge of the I.O.W
After a day out it was so relaxing to sit outside looking at the magnificent view before showering and going out for an evening meal.
After many visits to the I.O.W. we have found the ONE and hope to visit again

Room Tip: All Three Rooms are Outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

As previous reviewers have mentioned, Jayne and Chris are the perfect hosts. They indeed do go the extra mile to make your stay that bit more memorable. The expected famous Victoria sponge and tea did not disappoint upon arrival and once we had been shown to the Niton Suite we knew this would be a fantastic stay. The room itself is immaculate, large, well decorated, has sky tv, a great bathroom with a powerful shower, a sitting room, and above all views out of the windows to die for. Bottled water and fresh milk are supplied in your personal fridge with all the tea and coffee you could ever need. Breakfast is just superb with a large variety to choose from and enough for any appetite. The location is exactly what we wanted, surrounded by just fields and the only noise you hear are sheep and birds. The mention of badgers to be seen was one of the reasons the Hermitage appealed to us (as well as all the glowing reviews), but knowing how elusive badgers are we were not fully expecting to see them, just hoping. We were fortunate that on 2 evenings one badger crossed the gravel road when driving back from our days out. I was even more fortunate than most. Later in the evening I quietly walked up the road to the badger crossing point and was 6 feet away from 2 munching away in the corn field. A quick shoe shuffle on the gravel and one flew past me and my camera grabbed some grainy late night shots. The next morning I even got a shot of a Red Squirrel. The added wildlife is a bonus on top of an amazing B&B in an even more amazing location run by 2 of the nicest, thoughtful and friendly hosts. You do indeed get what you pay for! My wife has already told me we are never staying anywhere else on the IOW.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinniWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review. With the great wildlife sightings around Hermitage Court Farm and visits around the Island we are so glad you both enjoyed your special anniversary break with us. Amazing picture of tea and cake - cant imagine how you took it!
Hope we see you on the Island again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It's always worth doing your home work, particularly when choosing a B & B and the Hermitage surpassed it's recent reviews. We will definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending Jayne & Chris's B & B to anyone who would like to visit the Island - both for business and pleasure! The location itself is outstanding and the scenic trek to it - much more exciting than being in the town. We intended to 'chill out' and we did!

Jayne & Chirs have got it right - they were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Catherine's Suite on the ground floor and actually, because it was very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinchesterJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
369 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
343 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range: £84 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing