We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely hosts! Such a lovely setting, very relaxing and enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Jayne and Chris are such a lovely couple, very accommodating and a delight to talk to. Jayne, your Victoria Sponge is to die for! Thank you for a lovely stay. Room was very comfortable, spacious and well presented. Stayed twice now and had a fantastic stay both times.

Room Tip: All lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is just one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Jane and Chris made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Niton suite which had a separate lounge, and beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Excellent breakfast. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have been to the IOW about six times now, but never stayed anywhere as nice and welcoming as the Hermitage court farm. Jayne and Chris are the perfect B and B owners and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The room was fabulous with a wonderful view over the hills, something money can't buy,.
The location was perfect for visiting Niton and Ventnor and great if you like walking and cycling.

Jayne and Chris told us of some great places to visit on our bikes and we had a wonderful time.

Breakfast was lovely each day and little touches made our stayed very special.

We we can't express what a great time we had and how we didn't want to return home!!

We will be back and hoping it will be only a few months till we return.

Thank you to Jayne and Chris for making our stay special, you go above and beyond any other B and B and I hope people appreciate all the hard work you do.

Xxx

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurita116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Jayne and Chris were very welcoming and accommodating. The B&B itself is large, comfortable, spotless and located in a beautiful location. We felt at home the moment we walked in, and it certainly made our stay in IoW one to remember.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen6690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our second visit and was every bit as good as the first. The same warm, friendly greeting from our host Jayne. Delicious light as a feather sponge cake and tea on arrival. We missed seeing Chris on this visit but Jayne more than compensated for his absence. This time around we decided to have an evening meal on two of the nights of our stay. Both were delicious and meant we did not have to worry about drinking and driving making for a lovely relaxed evening. As before our room was spotlessly clean and the bed so comfortable. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough and anyone planning a visit to the Isle of Wight will not find a better place to stay. If you enjoy walking this is a perfect place to stay with easy access to St Catherine's Downs literally from the back door.

Room Tip: All three rooms are to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Hermitage Court Farm on the Isle of Wight.
Once again it was like a little piece of heaven on earth! It is in a stunning part of the island. The beautiful house is always warm, welcoming and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are awesome and really set you up for the day, and our evening meals were absolutely delicious. The one thing, though, that makes Hermitage Court Farm, stand head and shoulders above all others is the lovely owners, Jayne and Chris. Sadly, we missed seeing Chris this time, but Jayne more than made up for his absence. She is such a wonderful, friendly hostess and an excellent cook; we really feel that we have made a friend. We are already planning to go back and can't wait to be there again.

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Did a short trip with two nights stay, nice and quiet no traffic just wildlife and sheep in the fields could'nt be better, Very friendly and helpful Host. Great Breakfast!
The road leading to it is an experience if you don't drive a 4x4...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alocalresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
4.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
364 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
391 reviews
5 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
St Maur
St Maur
#5 of 18 in Ventnor
228 reviews
11.6 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Totland Bay
214 reviews
5.5 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range: £84 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing